Operation Kronstadt: The Greatest True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces

Overview

In May 1919, mere months after the guns of World War I had fallen silent, the Russian Revolution was roaring and the Bolsheviks' Red Army had begun to take the upper hand against the U.S. and British-backed White Army. Paul Dukes-a 30-year-old concert pianist and master of disguise dubbed "the Man with a Hundred Faces," and the only English spy in Russia-was cut off in Petrograd after infiltrating the Bolshevik government and stealing top secret information.

With the government ...

See more details below
Paperback
$14.27
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$16.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (25) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $1.99   
  • Used (15) from $1.99   
Operation Kronstadt: The Greatest True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescueof Britain'sGreatestSpy, The Man with a Hundred Faces

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.99
BN.com price

Overview

In May 1919, mere months after the guns of World War I had fallen silent, the Russian Revolution was roaring and the Bolsheviks' Red Army had begun to take the upper hand against the U.S. and British-backed White Army. Paul Dukes-a 30-year-old concert pianist and master of disguise dubbed "the Man with a Hundred Faces," and the only English spy in Russia-was cut off in Petrograd after infiltrating the Bolshevik government and stealing top secret information.

With the government in London desperately in need of the documents in Dukes' possession and the Bolshevik secret police closing in, a seemingly suicidal plan was hatched to rescue Dukes. Written by a former MI6 officer in the tradition of Agent Zigzag, Operation, Kronstadt is a riveting page-turner.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781590203378
  • Publisher: Overlook Press, The
  • Publication date: 8/3/2010
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 1,393,591
  • Product dimensions: 5.30 (w) x 7.90 (h) x 1.10 (d)

Meet the Author

Harry Ferguson is a former MI6 officer and an undercover agent for the NIS (National Investigation Service). He has written two books about his experiences: Kilo 17 and Lima 3.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Author's note xi

Acknowledgements xiii

Illustrations xv

Prologue 1

1 The Man with the Punch-like Chin 8

2 The secret that 'C' couldn't tell 18

3 Froggy chooses Sinbad 26

4 Very special measures 45

5 Peter Sokolov 72

6 The Zorinsky Enigma 85

7 The Commandant of Terrioki 108

8 Melnikov's Marvellous Uncle 133

9 Too late the hero 153

10 Failure to communicate 180

11 Gefter 210

12 The Kronstadt Raid 224

13 Lucky Number Thirteen 257

14 Run for home 264

15 The boat they couldn't sink 276

Epilogue 282

Postscript: What happened afterwards 285

Appendix A The Kronstadt Raid (Personnel) 295

Appendix B Agar and Erskine Childers 298

Notes 300

Select Bibliography 348

Maps 351

Index 357

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)