Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences [NOOK Book]

Overview

This collection includes the full text and drawings from Opposites and More Opposites, plus seven additional poems and drawings about differences. Readers of all ages will delight in this volume of witty wordplay and clever illustrations from two-time Pulitzer Prize recipient and National Book Award winner Richard Wilbur.   

A collection of light-hearted poems centering around words and their opposites....

See more details below
Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$8.00 List Price

Overview

This collection includes the full text and drawings from Opposites and More Opposites, plus seven additional poems and drawings about differences. Readers of all ages will delight in this volume of witty wordplay and clever illustrations from two-time Pulitzer Prize recipient and National Book Award winner Richard Wilbur.   

A collection of light-hearted poems centering around words and their opposites.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Children's Literature
Including the complete texts of the previously published Opposites (1973), and More Opposites (1991), plus seven new poems and drawings, this lighthearted volume focuses on humorous poems dealing with synonyms and antonyms, combined with silly, cartoon-like drawings. While not all of the poems are as short as--"What is the opposite of riot? It's lots of people keeping quiet," all are brief, and could inspire kids to create their own poems and riddles as well as to appreciate some of the more amusing aspects of the English language. 2000, Harcourt, Ages 8 up, $8.00. Reviewer: Gisela Jernigan—Children's Literature
From The Critics
This amusing little book is sure to entertain curious poets-to-be. Lots of ideas (all in rhyme) will open young minds and make children laugh. A great gift to help increase your child's enjoyment of language. 2000, Harcourt Brace & Company, $8.00. Ages 8 to 12. Reviewer: A. Braga SOURCE: Parent Council Volume 8
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780547543147
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publication date: 10/1/2006
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 96
  • Sales rank: 1,121,832
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • File size: 4 MB

Meet the Author

RICHARD WILBUR, one of America’s most beloved poets, has served as poet laureate of the United States. He has received the National Book Award, two Pulitzer Prizes, the National Arts Club medal of honor for literature, and a number of translation prizes, including two Bollingen Prizes and two awards from PEN.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Not where I train with my mentor, Not~Grassfire, the non-deputy!

    ~ Not-Softpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Not just for children

    I find this book charming and not just for children. I give it as a gift to all my friends who love language. It's very clever and well-written and continues in the tradition of Ogden Nash and James Thurber with the erudition and deceptive simplicity that are the hallmarks of Wilbur's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)