×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences
  • Alternative view 1 of Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences
  • Alternative view 2 of Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences
     

Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences

5.0 2
by Richard Wilbur
 

See All Formats & Editions


A poetry collection that will be loved by children of all ages

Overview


A poetry collection that will be loved by children of all ages

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Children's Literature
Including the complete texts of the previously published Opposites (1973), and More Opposites (1991), plus seven new poems and drawings, this lighthearted volume focuses on humorous poems dealing with synonyms and antonyms, combined with silly, cartoon-like drawings. While not all of the poems are as short as--"What is the opposite of riot? It's lots of people keeping quiet," all are brief, and could inspire kids to create their own poems and riddles as well as to appreciate some of the more amusing aspects of the English language. 2000, Harcourt, Ages 8 up, $8.00. Reviewer: Gisela Jernigan—Children's Literature
This amusing little book is sure to entertain curious poets-to-be. Lots of ideas (all in rhyme) will open young minds and make children laugh. A great gift to help increase your child's enjoyment of language. 2000, Harcourt Brace & Company, $8.00. Ages 8 to 12. Reviewer: A. Braga SOURCE: Parent Council Volume 8

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780152056124
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
10/01/2006
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
96
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.00(h) x (d)
Age Range:
4 - 7 Years

Meet the Author

RICHARD WILBUR, one of America’s most beloved poets, has served as poet laureate of the United States. He has received the National Book Award, two Pulitzer Prizes, the National Arts Club medal of honor for literature, and a number of translation prizes, including two Bollingen Prizes and two awards from PEN.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Opposites, More Opposites, and a Few Differences 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~ Not-Softpaw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I find this book charming and not just for children. I give it as a gift to all my friends who love language. It's very clever and well-written and continues in the tradition of Ogden Nash and James Thurber with the erudition and deceptive simplicity that are the hallmarks of Wilbur's work.