The Organ Music of J. S. Bach / Edition 2

Paperback (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $42.46
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 34%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (16) from $42.46   
  • New (9) from $61.03   
  • Used (7) from $42.46   


Taking account of Bach scholarship of the past twenty-five years, the first two volumes of Peter Williams's classic study of Bach's organ works are fully revised. This work is a piece-by-piece commentary on this ever-popular repertoire, demonstrating the music's unique qualities and how we might hear and play it today. The book follows the order of the Bach catalog (BWV): beginning with the sonatas, followed by the "free works" and the chorales, and ending with the doubtful works, including the "newly discovered chorales" of 1985.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"This masterful revision of a book first published in 1980 confirms Peter Williams's towering status in the field. The book is a wonderful reference and guide for the performer and scholar alike." Times Literary Supplement, Martin J. Smith

"This work belongs in every organist's library. The analysis progresses in order of the BWV listings, and every work is thoroughly examined in light of the most recent and highest scholarship. The foundation of every organist's repertoire is Bach, and this work will shed some new light and perhaps provide new interpretive inspiration on many familiar works." - Music Educators Journal, "For Your Library"

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780521891158
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication date: 11/30/2003
  • Edition description: Second Edition
  • Edition number: 2
  • Pages: 638
  • Sales rank: 829,416
  • Product dimensions: 6.85 (w) x 9.72 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Peter Williams is an internationally renowned Bach scholar and performer. He was Professor of Performance Practice and the first Director of the Russell Collection of Harpsichords at the University of Edinburgh, Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor at Duke University N.C., and is currently John Bird Professor at the University of Wales, Cardiff. He has written numerous books on the organ, organ history and organ repertoire. The first edition of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach was published in 1980 (vols. I and II) and 1984 (vol. III).
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Fugue in G Minor, BWV 131a; Six Sonatas, BWV 525-530; Preludes and Fugues (Praeludia), BWV 531-552; Eight Short Preludes and Fugues, BWV 553-560; Miscellaneous Pieces, BWV 561-591; Concertos, BWV 592-596; Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599-644; Schübler Chorales, BWV 645-650; Chorales formerly called 'The Eighteen', BWV 651-668; Chorales from Clavierübung III, BWV 669-689; Chorales formerly called 'The Kirnsberger Collection', BWV 690-713; Miscellaneous Chorales, BWV 714-765; Chorale Variations (Partitas), BWV 766-771; Four Duets from Clavierübung III, BWV 802-805; Chorales now called 'The Neumeister Collection', BWV 1090-1120; Further works, in part uncertain of origin; Calendar; Glossary.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)