Original Album Series

Original Album Series

by George Benson
This particular Original Album Classics release contains five albums issued by George Benson through the Warner Bros. label: Breezin' (1976), Weekend in L.A. (1977), Give Me the Night (1980), Tenderly (1989), and Big Boss Band (1990). This is a rather arbitrary


This particular Original Album Classics release contains five albums issued by George Benson through the Warner Bros. label: Breezin' (1976), Weekend in L.A. (1977), Give Me the Night (1980), Tenderly (1989), and Big Boss Band (1990). This is a rather arbitrary assortment; Benson made several other significant albums during the span covered here, and the stylistic differences between the earliest and latest sets are stark. The package is compact. Each disc is inside a cardboard sleeve that replicates the front and back of the original release, and the outer sleeve is simple and functional. Typically sold at roughly the same cost as two or three full-price discs, it's a quick and thrifty way to snap up a sizeable portion of Benson's post-CTI catalog.

Product Details

Release Date:
Rhino Flashback


Disc 1

  1. Breezin'
  2. This Masquerade
  3. Six to Four
  4. Affirmation
  5. So This is Love?
  6. Lady

Disc 2

  1. Weekend in L.A.
  2. On Broadway
  3. Down Here on the Ground
  4. California P.M.
  5. The Greatest Love of All
  6. It's All in the Game
  7. Windsong
  8. Ode to Kudu
  9. Lady Blue
  10. We All Remember Wes
  11. We as Love

Disc 3

  1. Love X Love
  2. Off Broadway
  3. Moody's Mood
  4. Give Me the Night
  5. What's on Your Mind
  6. Dinorah, Dinorah
  7. Love Dance
  8. Star of the Story (X)
  9. Midnight Love Affair
  10. Turn Out the Lamplight

Disc 4

  1. You Don't Know What Love Is
  2. Stella By Starlight
  3. Stardust
  4. At the Mambo Inn
  5. Here, There and Everywhere
  6. This is All I Ask
  7. Tenderly
  8. I Could Write a Book

Disc 5

  1. Without a Song
  2. Ready Now That You Are
  3. How Do You Keep the Music Playing
  4. On Green Dolphin Street
  5. Baby Workout
  6. I Only Have Eyes for You
  7. Portrait of Jennie
  8. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
  9. Skylark
  10. Basie's Bag

Album Credits

Performance Credits

George Benson   Primary Artist
George Benson   Guitar,Vocals
Jorge Dalto   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Clavinet,Soloist
Ronnie Foster   Keyboards,Electric Piano,Soloist,Mini Moog
Phil Upchurch   Bass,Rhythm Guitar
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
Stanley Banks   Bass
Claus Ogerman   Conductor
Harvey Mason   Drums
Sid Sharp   Concert Master

Technical Credits

Lalo Schifrin   Composer
José Feliciano   Composer
Ivan Lins   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Leon Russell   Composer
Jackie Wilson   Composer
Bobby Womack   Composer
George Benson   Composer,Producer
Ronnie Foster   Composer
Eddie Jefferson   Composer
Gordon Jenkins   Composer
Quincy Jones   Producer
Michel Legrand   Composer
James Moody   Composer
Phil Upchurch   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Gale Garnett   Composer
Bronislaw Kaper   Composer
Kerry Chater   Composer
Fred E. Ahlert   Composer
Glen Ballard   Composer
Mario Bauzá   Composer
Alan Bergman   Composer
Marilyn Bergman   Composer
Claus Ogerman   Arranger
Linda Creed   Composer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Dubin   Composer
Robert Farnon   Arranger
Frank Foster   Arranger,Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Tommy LiPuma   Producer
Vitor Martins   Composer
Marty Paich   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Michael Masser   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Bob Ojeda   Arranger
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Steve Rinkoff   Engineer
Elliot Scheiner   Engineer
Schmitt   Producer,Engineer
Bill Schnee   Engineer
Carl Sigman   Composer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Bruce Swedien   Engineer
Rod Temperton   Composer
Jeff Toone   Engineer
Roy Turk   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Peter Darmi   Engineer
Norman Seeff   Cover Photo
Ed Thrasher   Art Direction
Mary Ann Dibs   Art Direction
John Cabalka   Art Direction
Ken Fritz   Direction
Robin Lynch   grooming
Richard Seireeni   Art Direction
Dave Russell   Engineer
Alonzo Tucker   Composer
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Dennis Turner   Direction
Tom Bert   Cover Photo
Edward Eliscu   Composer
Grace Sampson   Composer
Charles Dawes   Composer
Walter Gross   Composer
Connie Pappas   Direction
Young   Original Liner Notes
William Rose   Composer
Nick De Caro   String Arrangements
Paul William   Composer
Jack Lawrence   Composer
David Wollinski   Composer
Neil Larson   Composer
Peter Brill   Photo Illustration
Gordon Budge   Composer
Fred Lincoln Guirty   Composer,Lyricist
Bobby Woodien   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >