The Other Poems

Overview

"There You Go"

At long last, I'm going in with everybody.

EVERYBODY: Everybody, shut up.
MONDAY: It’s happening again.
MONEY: It's ...

See more details below
Paperback (New Edition)
$14.55
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$15.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (9) from $6.65   
  • New (4) from $8.86   
  • Used (5) from $6.65   
Sending request ...

Overview

"There You Go"

At long last, I'm going in with everybody.

EVERYBODY: Everybody, shut up.
MONDAY: It’s happening again.
MONEY: It's me, isn't it?
A SYSTEM: Can I just say:

Run free in the wheat, commandant—
like a plow with a human face or

like a face plowing down the American plain.

These are “talky sonnets” in the vein of John Berryman’s and Ted Berrigan’s, written on the poet's lunch hour in the spirit of Frank O'Hara. Winner of the Fence Modern Poets series.

Paul Legault’s first book, The Madeline Poems, was published in 2010. Raised in Tennessee, Paul lives with his husband in Brooklyn, New York, where he works at the Academy of American Poets.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Bizarre, comic, unsettling all the way through, this book-length sequence of a second effort from Legault (The Madeleine Poems) makes up either a set of avant-garde sonnets, or a collection of 14-line playlets, whose many terse voices or characters come straight out of the theater of the absurd. Representative lines from “Hideaway Ranch,” for example, read “THE GREEN FOOT: Let’s get going./ THE CROWN: There are no foreigners./ THE FOREIGNER: There are no foreigners that exist.” Legault mixes in meta-discourse about the nature of speakers and writings, but also delights in shock: “The Things You Find Underwater” introduces speech-tags for Jacques Cousteau, “History,” “Biology,” “Floral Print Dress,” and finally “Manatee,” who gets the last word: “An octopus’s butt is also its mouth.” Legault’s deadpan wordplay often flirts with philosophical language (“Given a condition that is assumed to be true without further evaluation,/ things stay sound”). Legault’s sequence poses a challenge to readers who expect coherence or consistency, subject, voice or setting, returning instead—in a hyperactive, comic vein—to the experiments of the most aggressive language writers during the 1980s. Delightfully strange a few at a time, these works might tire readers who try to plow straight through—though some may find just that disorientation, that insistence on oddity after oddity, a hallmark of artistic advance. (Oct.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781934200506
  • Publisher: Fence Magazine, Incorporated
  • Publication date: 11/22/2011
  • Series: Fence Modern Poets Series
  • Edition description: New Edition
  • Pages: 72
  • Product dimensions: 5.80 (w) x 7.80 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Paul Legault was born in Ontario and raised in Tennessee. He holds an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Virginia and a B.F.A. in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California. His poems have been published or are forthcoming in The Awl, Denver Quarterly, Maggy, SUPERMACHINE, Washington Square, and other journals. His first book of poetry The Madeleine Poems was published by Omnidawn in 2010. Currently, he is translating the complete works of Guillaume Apollinaire as well as Renée Gagnon's Steve McQueen (mon amoureux) from the French. He has also finished an English-to-English translation of the complete works of Emily Dickinson, part of which has been published as a chapbook, The Emily Dickinson Reader, vol. 1 (Try and Make, 2009). With Sharmila Cohen, he edits the translation press Telephone Books. Paul lives with his husband, Orion Jenkins, in Brooklyn, NY where he works at the Academy of American Poets.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)