The Other Side of Dark

The Other Side of Dark

4.5 100
by Joan Lowery Nixon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

EDGAR AWARD WINNER
 
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Other Side of Dark from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Stacy wakes up in a hospital room, in a body she doesn’t recognize. Her mother is

Overview

EDGAR AWARD WINNER
 
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Other Side of Dark from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Stacy wakes up in a hospital room, in a body she doesn’t recognize. Her mother is dead—murdered—and Stacy is recovering from a gunshot wound. She is the sole eyewitness to the crime, but she has only a shadowy memory of the killer’s face. Will Stacy be able to regain a clear memory of that fateful day before the killer reaches her?
        The Other Side of Dark is one of Joan Lowery Nixon’s most intriguing, suspenseful, and dramatic mysteries.
 
“The compelling premise…and Nixon’s mastery of suspense are gripping.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Tense and dramatic…[The Other Side of Dark has a] quick pace, and the determined protagonist should attract and hold readers.” –School Library Journal

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Stacy, 17, awakens from the coma she's been in for four years, following a gunshot wound, and finds her world is drastically altered. The shooting incident that injured her also killed her mother. Her older sister is married and pregnant. Hairstyles, clothing and friends have changed. Stacy, if her memory returns, can put the man who shot her and murdered her mother behind bars. Soon every face she sees looks both familiar and strange, and the attention of a boy named Jeff is welcomed and feared. Because of press reports, the murderer knows that Stacy can find him. She's afraid she's being watched. And when her memory and the truth about the killer come back to her, Stacy faces the darker side of herself. The compelling premise of Stacy's lost years and Nixon's mastery of suspense are gripping. But readers want to know more about Stacy's adjustment; there is no real period of mourning for her mother, and the ending leaves unresolved issues. (12-up)
School Library Journal
Gr 7-10 Awakening from a four-year coma, Stacy learns that the intruder who shot her also killed her mother, and that she was the only witness. Stacy has to come to terms with her new identity: physically a 17 year old, yet mentally still a 13 year old, she has missed four years of growing up and of popular culture. At the same time, she realizes that she has to identify the killer before he can silence her. Stacy is a vivid character whose need to be brought up to date provides some comic moments, such as her confusion at new hair styles and her unfamiliarity with pasta salad. While this mystery is generally tense and dramatic, the first-person narrative does remove the edge from some of the suspense. One other weakness is Stacy's love interest, a narcotics officer masquerading as a high-school senior. Nixon does not convince readers that this 23-year-old man would fall in love with someone who in so many ways thinks and acts like a 13 year old. Yet the clever premise, the quick pace, and the determined protagonist should attract and hold readers. David Gale, ``School Library Journal''

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385739818
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
01/11/2011
Pages:
192
Sales rank:
322,223
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.26(h) x 0.43(d)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Other Side of Dark 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
maddiekate More than 1 year ago
I really really like this book! Its keeps you reading! Loved it! Really intresting!
EnigmaAM More than 1 year ago
The ebook version is riddled with mistakes. It's like they scanned the text but didn't check it-- Jeff is often spelled JeflF. I'm is often written Fm. Random mistakes and marks make the book confusing to read.
Michelle Uchenik More than 1 year ago
it was too short and hard to follow. it had many spelling and grammar issues. was not worth the money.
Gem_gillis More than 1 year ago
this was a great book. stacy, age 17, suddenly comes out of a coma which she had been in for 4 years. she thinks she's 13 and has a lot to get used to. She was in a coma because she got shot. at the same time, her mother was murdered. stacy feels like she needs to identify the murderer and have him punished for what he did. it seems like the murderer's identity is always just out of reach for her. and the killer is not about to let her reveal his identity.
Brii_PrivateI_24 More than 1 year ago
First book i ever read by Ms. Nixon and i have been a fan of her novels ever since. Its because of Joan and her mysteries that i still love to and enjoy reading a good mystery book with a great plot and breath-taking turns and outcomes!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved It. Its unpredictable, one never knows what going to happen next. i totally recommend it to anyone, who likes mysterty aand suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The other side of dark is a great book to read because it has a twist to it and a little bit of a shock to the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thus is honestly the very best books i have ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the best mystery book I have read in a while. It was so unique
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Taylor Gladin More than 1 year ago
i have to say my teacher was the first oneto tell me about her books when i ran out of auhors to read so she told me to try the hunting i loved it it had every thing then i read this one i xould not put it down if your looking for a good author try joan lawery nixon i know you will her books as much as i did
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago