The Other
  • Alternative view 1 of The Other
  • Alternative view 2 of The Other

The Other

4.3 15
by Thomas Tryon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Holland and Niles Perry are identical thirteen-year-old twins. They are close, close enough, almost, to read each other’s thoughts, but they couldn’t be more different. Holland is bold and mischievous, a bad influence, while Niles is kind and eager to please, the sort of boy who makes parents proud. The Perrys live in the bucolic New England town their

Overview

Holland and Niles Perry are identical thirteen-year-old twins. They are close, close enough, almost, to read each other’s thoughts, but they couldn’t be more different. Holland is bold and mischievous, a bad influence, while Niles is kind and eager to please, the sort of boy who makes parents proud. The Perrys live in the bucolic New England town their family settled centuries ago, and as it happens, the extended clan has gathered at its ancestral farm this summer to mourn the death of the twins’ father in a most unfortunate accident. Mrs. Perry still hasn’t recovered from the shock of her husband’s gruesome end and stays sequestered in her room, leaving her sons to roam free. As the summer goes on, though, and Holland’s pranks become increasingly sinister, Niles finds he can no longer make excuses for his brother’s actions.

Thomas Tryon’s best-selling novel about a homegrown monster is an eerie examination of the darkness that dwells within everyone. It is a landmark of psychological horror that is a worthy descendent of the books of James Hogg, Robert Louis Stevenson, Shirley Jackson, and Patricia Highsmith.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“It is perhaps unfair and a little inaccurate to typecast The Other as a horror story. It is so ingenious and well-written that it transcends that—or any—label. The setting is the small Connecticut town of Pequot Landing, which under other circumstances, might be idyllic.  But the people who inhabit Tryon’s New England are just as haunted as O’Neill’s, and a lot more violent…His [Tryon’s] characterizations have depth and subtlety, the narrative is well-paced and suspenseful. Where he really excels is with mood and atmosphere. Rarely have such commonplace surroundings been made to seem quite so dark and menacing and chillingly evil.” – Chicago Tribune
 
“A lyrical, impressive horror story that is a cross between The Bad Seed and John Cheever’s The Wapshot Chronicles.” – Los Angeles Times
 
“This first novel from Thomas Tryon is a distinguished one, it may well leave you blenched with horror, but it is beautifully, even poetically, wrought, and within its boundaries there would seem an actual divination into the spirit of murderess insanity….In due time The Other will doubtless become one of the classics of horro tales, comparable to The Turn of the Screw.” – Dorothy B. Hughes Los Angeles Times
 
“Like most professional writers, I resent Tom Tryon’s The Other, since Tryon should get on with the job of being a good actor and not write good books as well. Enough is enough already. The Other is a highly readable chiller.” – Anthony Burgess
 
“If you're looking for a good scary book to enjoy this Halloween, here is a suggestion: The Other by Thomas Tryon. The 1971 horror classic is a tale of a seemingly bucolic farmhouse in a small Connecticut town in the 1930s. There are no vampires in the story, no ghosts, no swamp monsters or ghouls or zombies or witches. There are two little boys, twins Niles and Holland, the picture of innocence. Or so it seems. The story is told in the voice of one of the boys, now older and a resident of a sanitarium. Insanity, it seems, is a family inheritance, and insanity is at the core of the chilling story that slowly unfolds and culminates in some horrifying deaths.” – Advocate (Baton Rouge)
 
“Truly extraordinary! One of those books over which everybody will take leave their senses, all seven of them…” – Kirkus
 
“A smashing suspense-horror novel.” – Minneapolis Tribune
 
“A humdinger…A whirlpool of Oh-My-God horror. Please congratulate Mr. Tryon for me. What a marvelous job he’s done.” – Ira Levin, author of Rosemary’s Baby
 
“Tryon succeeds in creating a story that cast a subtly savage spell.” – Saturday Review
 
The Other is an all-out war on reality.” – Chicago Sun-Times
 
“The most memorable chiller-thriller to come along since Rosemary’s Baby….A tale of evil obsession with surprises and shockers.” – Hartford Courant
 
“Thomas Tryon has unfolded a horror story of supreme proportions.” – Los Angeles Herald-Examiner
 
“A psychological thriller that you read a second time to see how the author did it.” – Cleveland Plain Dealer
 
“Thomas Tryon’s The Other will scare the hell right out of you….You’re almost afraid to turn the next page.” – Rocky Mountain News

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781590175989
Publisher:
New York Review Books
Publication date:
10/02/2012
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
103,038
File size:
362 KB

Meet the Author

Thomas Tryon (1926–1991) was born in Hartford, Connecticut into a family whose New England roots stretch back to the seventeenth century. After serving in the navy during World War II , he attended Yale, and upon graduation began an acting career that would take him from a made-for-television Disney western to Hollywood, where he was featured in several B movies as well as Otto Preminger’s The Cardinal. Preminger’s treatment of Tryon was so cruel as to become a Hollywood legend, and Tryon turned to writing. His first book, The Other (1971), was an immediate success, spending more than six months on the New York Times best-seller list and allowing him to quit acting for good; a film adaptation, with a screenplay by Tryon and directed by Robert Mulligan, appeared in 1972. Tryon wrote two more novels set in the fictional Pequot Landing of The Other, Harvest Home (1973) and Lady (1974), before turning to works like All That Glitters (1986), that explore the dark side of the golden age of Hollywood. At the time of his death Tryon was working on a historical trilogy set in early nineteenth-century Connecticut.

Dan Chaon’s most recent book is Stay Awake, a short-story collection. He is the author of the novels You Remind Me of Me and Await Your Reply, as well as of the story collections Fitting Ends and Among the Missing, which was a finalist for the 2001 National Book Award. His stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, The Pushcart Prize Anthologies, and The O. Henry Prize Stories. He teaches at Oberlin College, where he is the Pauline Delaney Professor of Creative Writing and Literature.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Other 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Other is less a horror novel and more a densely written, slowly building novel of obsession and exquisitely rendered psychological suspense. There are elements of horror, yes, but compared to other horror novels of the same period such as Rosemary's Baby, Carrie, and The Exorcist, it lacks their immediate, viceral punch. The Other is a quiet novel that starts out slowly, very slowly. You really do have to be patient, but the reader is well rewarded for his efforts. As the novel nears it climax, the story becomes dizzying, dark, and dreadful all at once. Even if you can see the twists coming (and many of you will, as other authors and film makers have borrowed liberally from the central conceit of this story), it is too scary to put down. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Thomas Tryon's acting career was a flop, and became a novelst, he wrote a complex horror novel called 'The Other.' It is about twin brothers, Niles, and Holland, who are very different fron eachother, despite outside features. Their grandmother, Ada, has taught Niles how to play a game. And what is the result of a string of deaths happening at their farm in the summer of 1935? Only reading this book will tell you. Also check out the 1972 movie, it is also very outstanding.
mrsbrimtown More than 1 year ago
I'd been meaning to read this for years. It's been mentioned by several authors in interviews and forwards. It lives up to all I've heard. Starts out nice and normal, sort of. But about 1/2 way through things become creepy and awful. Great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't reccomend this book highly enough. I more or less stumbled upon this book by accident and had my fingers crossed that it would be worthwhile...I was not let down. I have not taken the time to write a review more than twice over the last 5 years...but i had to say something about this book. Horror being my favorite genre, there are not many books out there where I haven't guessed the ending correctly, if not from the middle of the book...then from the opening chapters. I was plesantly shocked, confused, taken aback, heart-racing & palms sweaty almost dropped my nook throughout the reading of this book. I was several times overall "horrified" by the events that took place in the book. I mentioned "confusion" to be one of the side effecrs of reading this novel: by which I mean to say I made my guesses as to "who did it" and "what's going to happen" and was completely or partially wrong many, many times throughout this novel. If you're looking for a great book=read this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend this novel! If you enjoy a twisted dark story I suggest you buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheBookWizard More than 1 year ago
The Other is a classic 70s horror novel with scares and twists that keep the pages turning.  Tyron builds his story and his characters methodically, before ending with a punch- which is just my style!  I recommend this book for fans of Rosemary's Baby, The Haunting on Hill House, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago