The Other

( 13 )

Overview

Along with The Exorcist, The Other is one of the most influential of all horror novels.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (7) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $60.00   
  • Used (6) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$60.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(178)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
The Other

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
(Save 26%)$14.95 List Price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

Along with The Exorcist, The Other is one of the most influential of all horror novels.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“It is perhaps unfair and a little inaccurate to typecast The Other as a horror story. It is so ingenious and well-written that it transcends that—or any—label. The setting is the small Connecticut town of Pequot Landing, which under other circumstances, might be idyllic.  But the people who inhabit Tryon’s New England are just as haunted as O’Neill’s, and a lot more violent…His [Tryon’s] characterizations have depth and subtlety, the narrative is well-paced and suspenseful. Where he really excels is with mood and atmosphere. Rarely have such commonplace surroundings been made to seem quite so dark and menacing and chillingly evil.” – Chicago Tribune
 
“A lyrical, impressive horror story that is a cross between The Bad Seed and John Cheever’s The Wapshot Chronicles.” – Los Angeles Times
 
“This first novel from Thomas Tryon is a distinguished one, it may well leave you blenched with horror, but it is beautifully, even poetically, wrought, and within its boundaries there would seem an actual divination into the spirit of murderess insanity….In due time The Other will doubtless become one of the classics of horro tales, comparable to The Turn of the Screw.” – Dorothy B. Hughes Los Angeles Times
 
“Like most professional writers, I resent Tom Tryon’s The Other, since Tryon should get on with the job of being a good actor and not write good books as well. Enough is enough already. The Other is a highly readable chiller.” – Anthony Burgess
 
“If you're looking for a good scary book to enjoy this Halloween, here is a suggestion: The Other by Thomas Tryon. The 1971 horror classic is a tale of a seemingly bucolic farmhouse in a small Connecticut town in the 1930s. There are no vampires in the story, no ghosts, no swamp monsters or ghouls or zombies or witches. There are two little boys, twins Niles and Holland, the picture of innocence. Or so it seems. The story is told in the voice of one of the boys, now older and a resident of a sanitarium. Insanity, it seems, is a family inheritance, and insanity is at the core of the chilling story that slowly unfolds and culminates in some horrifying deaths.” – Advocate (Baton Rouge)
 
“Truly extraordinary! One of those books over which everybody will take leave their senses, all seven of them…” – Kirkus
 
“A smashing suspense-horror novel.” – Minneapolis Tribune
 
“A humdinger…A whirlpool of Oh-My-God horror. Please congratulate Mr. Tryon for me. What a marvelous job he’s done.” – Ira Levin, author of Rosemary’s Baby
 
“Tryon succeeds in creating a story that cast a subtly savage spell.” – Saturday Review
 
The Other is an all-out war on reality.” – Chicago Sun-Times
 
“The most memorable chiller-thriller to come along since Rosemary’s Baby….A tale of evil obsession with surprises and shockers.” – Hartford Courant
 
“Thomas Tryon has unfolded a horror story of supreme proportions.” – Los Angeles Herald-Examiner
 
“A psychological thriller that you read a second time to see how the author did it.” – Cleveland Plain Dealer
 
“Thomas Tryon’s The Other will scare the hell right out of you….You’re almost afraid to turn the next page.” – Rocky Mountain News
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781933618265
  • Publisher: Centipede Press
  • Publication date: 10/1/2008
  • Pages: 290
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    Actpr turned novelist Thomas Tryon's first and greatest book.

    When Thomas Tryon's acting career was a flop, and became a novelst, he wrote a complex horror novel called 'The Other.' It is about twin brothers, Niles, and Holland, who are very different fron eachother, despite outside features. Their grandmother, Ada, has taught Niles how to play a game. And what is the result of a string of deaths happening at their farm in the summer of 1935? Only reading this book will tell you. Also check out the 1972 movie, it is also very outstanding.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    The Classic

    The Other is less a horror novel and more a densely written, slowly building novel of obsession and exquisitely rendered psychological suspense. There are elements of horror, yes, but compared to other horror novels of the same period such as Rosemary's Baby, Carrie, and The Exorcist, it lacks their immediate, viceral punch. The Other is a quiet novel that starts out slowly, very slowly. You really do have to be patient, but the reader is well rewarded for his efforts. As the novel nears it climax, the story becomes dizzying, dark, and dreadful all at once. Even if you can see the twists coming (and many of you will, as other authors and film makers have borrowed liberally from the central conceit of this story), it is too scary to put down. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Twisted

    I'd been meaning to read this for years. It's been mentioned by several authors in interviews and forwards.

    It lives up to all I've heard. Starts out nice and normal, sort of. But about 1/2 way through things become creepy and awful. Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    The Other is a classic 70s horror novel with scares and twists t

    The Other is a classic 70s horror novel with scares and twists that keep the pages turning.  Tyron builds his story and his characters methodically, before ending with a punch- which is just my style!  I recommend this book for fans of Rosemary's Baby, The Haunting on Hill House, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)