Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of the Planet Earth, 73rd Edition

by The Onion, Inc.
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of The Planet Earth, 73rd Edition features incorrect statistics on all of the Earth's 168, 182, or 196 independent nations. It also features maps, including a fold-out world map at actual size. Readers will learn about every country from Afghanistan, "Allah's Cat Box," to the Ukraine, "The Bridebasket of Europe."
Today's

…  See more details below

Overview

Our Dumb World: The Onion's Atlas of The Planet Earth, 73rd Edition features incorrect statistics on all of the Earth's 168, 182, or 196 independent nations. It also features maps, including a fold-out world map at actual size. Readers will learn about every country from Afghanistan, "Allah's Cat Box," to the Ukraine, "The Bridebasket of Europe."
Today's news-parody consumer cannot possibly understand made-up current events without the context of fake world history and geography. That is why The Onion is publishing a world atlas: to help us.
Our Dumb World is an invaluable tool for any reader interested in overthrowing a weakened government in East Asia, exploiting a developing nation in Africa, or for directions to tonight's party at Erica's. It is a reference guide to 250,000 of the world's most important places, such as North Korea's Trench of Victory, the Great Human Pyramid of Egypt, and Saudi Arabia's superhighway, the Mohammedobahn.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

The first all-new publication from the Onion's stable of mad satirists since 1999's Our Dumb Century, this globe-spanning volume raises the bar for topical humor. Known for their savage, irreverent newspaper parody, the Onionstaff delight in playing up stereotypes and skewering perceptions, and they have picked an enormous playground in which to do so; this skewed world atlas compiles enough fictional facts to tickle-and probably offend-just about everyone. Profiling every country in the world-from the United States ("The Land of Opportunism") to Greenland ("The Largest Land Mass on Earth") to "The Who Cares Islands"-this handsome parody is visually indistinguishable from genuine reference materials, but with jokes crammed into every inch, from topographical maps ("Largest Mayan Casino in Mexico") and tiny vital statistics boxes (Syria's ethnicity: "Anti-Semitic Semites") to historic timelines (Ireland, 1387: "Luck of the Irish runs out") and photo captions ("Emergency shipments of food, water, and Bono reach Sudan"). The group's humor can demand a rarified kind of knowledge-as in the entry for Nicaragua, which revolves entirely around the now-ancient Nintendo game Contra-ensuring that some jokes will fall flat; for anyone with a cultural pulse, however, the hit-to-miss ratio will be high. Eminently browsable and compulsively rereadable, this is an essential book for fans of Stewart, Colbert and (of course) the Onion. (Oct.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Library Journal

This isn't just any atlas; it's the Onion's atlas. Readers familiar with the satirical newspaper and its previous publications will here find the intelligent and biting humor they've come to expect. The book is a quality product with a seemingly built-in market. But the market for readers who would read an atlas for entertainment is small, and the number of Onionreaders in that market's subset, probably smaller. In the Library of Congress record, the publisher states, today's news-parody consumer cannot possibly understand made-up current events without the context of fake world history and geography. That is why the Onionis publishing a world atlas: to help us. Fair enough. Libraries with a large contingent of Onionreaders will probably do well to consider this purchase, and certainly some readers will be clamoring for it. But it is recommended only for public libraries and postsecondary academic institutions. Although the Onionhas hooked many savvy high school readers, Our Dumb World's strongly objectionable content (e.g., a manipulated image of George W. Bush performing a sexual act with a Saudi leader) negates its appeal for school libraries. [See Prepub Alert, LJ6/15/07.]
—Audrey Snowden

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316018425
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Publication date:
10/30/2007
Pages:
245
Product dimensions:
8.60(w) x 11.00(h) x 0.80(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Every week, three million readers turn to the world's most popular news organization for a much-needed dose of Onion news and entertainment coverage. In a history spanning 15 years, six popular books, and 10 Webby Awards, The Onion has attracted legions of loyal fans drawn to its fearless reporting and scathing commentary on world events, human behavior, and journalistic convention.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >