Pachelbel Canon, Albinoni Adagio & Other Baroque Melodies

( 1 )
$8.54 price
(Save 5%)$8.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $7.12   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/1/1991
  • Label: Rca
  • UPC: 090266546824
  • Catalog Number: 65468
  • Sales rank: 7,618


Disc 1
  1. 1 Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor, T. Mi 26 (composed by Remo Giazotto; not by Albinoni) - Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra & Tomaso Albinoni (9:02)
  2. 2 Canon and gigue, for 3 violins & continuo in D major, T. 337: Canon - Johann Pachelbel & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (6:07)
  3. 3 Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Minuet & Badinerie - Johann Sebastian Bach & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (2:43)
  4. 4 Concerto Grosso in G minor, Op.6/6, HWV 324: Musette - George Frideric Handel & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (6:42)
  5. 5 Piccolo (Flautino) Concerto, for piccolo (or recorder/flute), strings & continuo in A Minor, RV 445: Larghetto - Antonio Vivaldi & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (2:54)
  6. 6 Concerto for oboe, strings & continuo in D minor, SF. 935 (often transposed to C minor): Adagio - Alessandro Marcello & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (4:21)
  7. 7 Sarabande, Gigue & Badinerie ("Suite for Strings") (arranged by Ettore Pinelli): Badinerie & Gigue - Arcangelo Corelli & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (3:43)
  8. 8 Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): Wachet auf - Johann Sebastian Bach & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (5:24)
  9. 9 Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesus bleibet meine Freude - Johann Sebastian Bach & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (3:44)
  10. 10 Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in A minor ("L'estro armonico" No. 6), Op. 3/6, RV 356: Allegro - Antonio Vivaldi & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (3:12)
  11. 11 Adagio for oboe, cello & strings - Domenico Zipoli & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (7:51)
  12. 12 Tambourin, for harpsichord in E minor (Pièces de clavecin avec une méthode) - Jean-Philippe Rameau & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (3:31)
  13. 13 Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air on the G String - Johann Sebastian Bach & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (5:16)
  14. 14 Concerto Grosso in D minor, Op.6/10, HWV 328: Gavotte - George Frideric Handel & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (2:54)
  15. 15 Trumpet Concerto in D major: Andante for strings - Johann Melchior Molter & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (3:19)
  16. 16 The Prince of Denmark's March (Trumpet Voluntary in D major) for brass, winds, & percussion (or keyboard or trumpet & organ) - Jeremiah Clarke & Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra (2:18)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paillard and his orchestra provide very fluid accompaniment to Baroque masterpieces

    The most scintillating of the pieces: the introductory Adagio by Albinoni and the classic Pachelbel Canon paint musical-emotional landscapes of pathos and of an innate nobility without artiface.

    The short pieces Minuet by Bach and the Andante for strings by Molter stand out as turning points in this cd which is filled to the brim with Baroque standbys as well as some new tunes.

    The kicker in this CD which you are most likely not able to find in other cds and worth this cd alone is the Adagio for Oboe, Cello and Strings by Zipoli--and arranged by F. Giovannnini.

    Paillard leads his orchestra weaving seamless tapestries of musical modes with a touch of the poetic. For those who like their Baroque to be infused with a little emotion and pathos, jollity and all the other human experiential palate in between--this is not a cd of the plain and objective---there is one emotion (or more) for every song.

    One hardly notices that time is passing when you put in the cd.

    A sure winner.

    (I worked at B&N before selling classical music).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews