The Pack (Dogs of the Drowned City Series #2)

The Pack (Dogs of the Drowned City Series #2)

4.6 33
by Dayna Lorentz, Lorentz Dayna
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of WARRIORS and WOLVES OF THE BEYOND have a new animal adventure series to sink their teeth into! The thrilling DOGS OF THE DROWNED CITY trilogy continues! Shep the German shepherd doesn't know why his family has left him alone, nor does he understand the terrible, shrieking storm that has torn apart his city. He just knows that the new dogs he's met are his

Overview

Fans of WARRIORS and WOLVES OF THE BEYOND have a new animal adventure series to sink their teeth into! The thrilling DOGS OF THE DROWNED CITY trilogy continues! Shep the German shepherd doesn't know why his family has left him alone, nor does he understand the terrible, shrieking storm that has torn apart his city. He just knows that the new dogs he's met are his best chance at survival -- especially now that they've made enemies of the wild dogs in the city. Can Shep keep his new friends safe until his family -- maybe -- returns?

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Keri Collins Lewis
Shep, a German Shepherd, and his rag-tag pack of dogs have survived the storm, yet face an uncertain future. Buildings collapse, chemicals foul the water, food is scarce and a pack of wild dogs threatens the survival of Shep and his pack. As increasing numbers of dogs turn to Shep for help, he must find a way to lead them without losing sight of his own values. With Callie's smarts, Shep's brawn, Higgins' help dividing kibble, and Boji's nursing skills, the pack transforms an overturned yacht into a safe haven. But trouble is never far from the vulnerable pets, whether from external forces or internal dissent. Shep needs all of his strength and confidence to hold the pack together in hopes their families will return and rescue them. The second book in the "Dogs of the Drowned City" trilogy carries forward the tale of pets abandoned when a hurricane and accompanying storm surge drive away the humans and leave the town in shambles. The story is filled with conflict between the pets, ill-equipped to handle life outside without human aid, and the various natural forces they stumble upon. Lorentz keeps the story moving without neglecting the dogs' growth as characters. While the cast of characters is large and at times hard to follow, Lorentz gives the primary players unique features to help set them apart. The ending is somewhat difficult to believe, but it allows more of the characters to survive and reappear in the final book than a more logical conclusion would. Fans of the first book in the trilogy will be pleased to see how the dogs manage the strange new world they encounter and will eagerly await the series' last installment. Lessons about friendship, leadership, loyalty, and character are handled deftly and lightly. This series is a good choice for animal lovers and those who appreciate a good adventure story. Reviewer: Keri Collins Lewis
Kirkus Reviews
Can a dog rule the world? Dogs have found religion, as we always knew they would. They believe in the Great Wolf, who protects all dogs, and in the Black Dog, who is a force for destruction. Shep believes most fervently of all. Shep rescued his friends from a flood in volume one of the series (The Storm, 2012), but he never thought he'd become the subject of a religious parable. But dogs have started telling stories about the Storm Shaker who was touched with moonstuff. Shep doesn't feel like a prophet. But if he becomes a legend, will the other dogs trust him to lead them through the flooded streets to safety? This is a more ambitious, thoughtful book than the first, with fewer chase scenes. In fact, Shep spends most of the novel trying to develop a philosophy of leadership. Not every reader will want to follow along as Shep tries out theocracy, democracy and dictatorship. And the canine language Lorentz has developed, which worked so well in the series opener, is more labored here, with sentences like: "That's a well-furred idea if I've ever smelled one." But action fans will love the climax, in which Shep fights an actual black dog. Adventure lovers will enjoy the cliffhanger ending, and political junkies will wonder if dogs are more advanced than we are. (Animal fantasy. 8-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545388085
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
05/01/2012
Series:
Dogs of the Drowned City Series , #2
Sold by:
Scholastic, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
300,182
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author


Dayna Lorentz has shared her life with many pets of various species, but self-identifies as a dog person (just don’t tell her cat!). She lives in Vermont with her husband, daughter, two rescued pug mixes, and a rescued Maine coon cat. Dogs of the Drowned City is her first series. Visit her online at www.daynalorentz.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Pack (Dogs of the Drowned City Series #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's good so far! I love the first, if you did too...buy this book! Oh and person under me....Shut up. That has nothing to do with the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got to read this book! The first book was great too! I haven't read the third one yet , but I will soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Am u spossed to come to and if im not im still at buffalo res 4
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Yeah"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He told you not to come, she snapped, majorly upset
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i help? Im a really good flyer and can do a lot of neat stuff with clouds to stop fires. See watch... *Flies up and makes a giant pitcher full of alot of water out of the clouds.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ill posses your body
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
'Dance of death' first result. We need more people!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book. It was the best book out of the sersis. If you like this sersis i recommend reading the survivors sersis by erin hunter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was slow at some parts. I'm tired of Zeus and Oscar has turned into a nuisance. Other than that it was nice and I hope to one day get the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i loved this book sooppooo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is not as good as the first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looks like a good book. How many pages is it? I wonder why it said warriors and wolves of the beyond readers? This isn't by kathrin lasky or erin hunter. Interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHY THE BLOODY HELL AM I LOCKED OUT OF RESULT 1?????????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My name is Pharaoh. Im a pharaoh hound. You wanna be my mate? Im brown with a black underbelly and a yellow head. Thats how i got my name because i look like i have a crown on. Im a good hunter and i think id be a good father. Please reply here.
wong More than 1 year ago
I love it!!! It's The best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![-_-]*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book please rate this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book love it it is the best i am screaming they have it on nook yyyyyyyyyyyaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi Jack. How are you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NAME: Jewel GENDER: Female LOOKS: Black with purple flame designs on her front paw. Violet eyes WHAT IM GOOD AT: swimming and running LIFE STORY: I had a mate who has a twoleg. He was on the Police Force. We had pups and he left me. So I came here for a better life. MATE: dont have one. But i want one... PUPS: I have five Winter: All white Black noes Snow: All white pink noes. Feather: All white with one black ear Night: all black white spot on his noes. Deoblo: Black and tan looks like his father (german shepherd) hes the runt... •| Jewel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NAME: Afreet GENDER: Female BREED: German shepard/shiba inu mix APPEARANCE: Strong and fast but deceivingly thin, black fur, dark gray face, blue-black eyes STORY: She was bred by a man who forced her to fight in a pit as soon as she was old enough to eat meat. She learned to exploit her opponents' weaknesses and won every fight, though not always by much. When she was a year old, she found out how to unlatch the cage she was kept in and escaped, and her parents had already been killed in fights. She found BlizzardPack and joined, hoping to find a better life. MATE: None and unconcerned PUPS: None and unconcerned