The Pack (Dogs of the Drowned City Series #2)

The Pack (Dogs of the Drowned City Series #2)

4.6 40
by Dayna Lorentz, Lorentz Dayna
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of WARRIORS and WOLVES OF THE BEYOND have a new animal adventure series to sink their teeth into! The thrilling DOGS OF THE DROWNED CITY trilogy continues! Shep the German shepherd doesn't know why his family has left him alone, nor does he understand the terrible, shrieking storm that has torn apart his city. He just knows that the new dogs he's met are his… See more details below

Overview

Fans of WARRIORS and WOLVES OF THE BEYOND have a new animal adventure series to sink their teeth into! The thrilling DOGS OF THE DROWNED CITY trilogy continues! Shep the German shepherd doesn't know why his family has left him alone, nor does he understand the terrible, shrieking storm that has torn apart his city. He just knows that the new dogs he's met are his best chance at survival -- especially now that they've made enemies of the wild dogs in the city. Can Shep keep his new friends safe until his family -- maybe -- returns?

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Keri Collins Lewis
Shep, a German Shepherd, and his rag-tag pack of dogs have survived the storm, yet face an uncertain future. Buildings collapse, chemicals foul the water, food is scarce and a pack of wild dogs threatens the survival of Shep and his pack. As increasing numbers of dogs turn to Shep for help, he must find a way to lead them without losing sight of his own values. With Callie's smarts, Shep's brawn, Higgins' help dividing kibble, and Boji's nursing skills, the pack transforms an overturned yacht into a safe haven. But trouble is never far from the vulnerable pets, whether from external forces or internal dissent. Shep needs all of his strength and confidence to hold the pack together in hopes their families will return and rescue them. The second book in the "Dogs of the Drowned City" trilogy carries forward the tale of pets abandoned when a hurricane and accompanying storm surge drive away the humans and leave the town in shambles. The story is filled with conflict between the pets, ill-equipped to handle life outside without human aid, and the various natural forces they stumble upon. Lorentz keeps the story moving without neglecting the dogs' growth as characters. While the cast of characters is large and at times hard to follow, Lorentz gives the primary players unique features to help set them apart. The ending is somewhat difficult to believe, but it allows more of the characters to survive and reappear in the final book than a more logical conclusion would. Fans of the first book in the trilogy will be pleased to see how the dogs manage the strange new world they encounter and will eagerly await the series' last installment. Lessons about friendship, leadership, loyalty, and character are handled deftly and lightly. This series is a good choice for animal lovers and those who appreciate a good adventure story. Reviewer: Keri Collins Lewis
Kirkus Reviews
Can a dog rule the world? Dogs have found religion, as we always knew they would. They believe in the Great Wolf, who protects all dogs, and in the Black Dog, who is a force for destruction. Shep believes most fervently of all. Shep rescued his friends from a flood in volume one of the series (The Storm, 2012), but he never thought he'd become the subject of a religious parable. But dogs have started telling stories about the Storm Shaker who was touched with moonstuff. Shep doesn't feel like a prophet. But if he becomes a legend, will the other dogs trust him to lead them through the flooded streets to safety? This is a more ambitious, thoughtful book than the first, with fewer chase scenes. In fact, Shep spends most of the novel trying to develop a philosophy of leadership. Not every reader will want to follow along as Shep tries out theocracy, democracy and dictatorship. And the canine language Lorentz has developed, which worked so well in the series opener, is more labored here, with sentences like: "That's a well-furred idea if I've ever smelled one." But action fans will love the climax, in which Shep fights an actual black dog. Adventure lovers will enjoy the cliffhanger ending, and political junkies will wonder if dogs are more advanced than we are. (Animal fantasy. 8-12)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545388085
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
05/01/2012
Series:
Dogs of the Drowned City Series , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
226,500
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >