Papá and Me

Papá and Me

by Arthur Dorros, Rudy Gutierrez
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In Papá and Me, a young boy and his papa may speak both Spanish and English, but the most important language they speak is the language of love. In this beautiful bilingual picture book, Arthur Dorros portrays the close bond between father and son, with lush paintings by Rudy Gutierrez. Fans of Abuelo; Abuela; and La Isla will be

Overview

In Papá and Me, a young boy and his papa may speak both Spanish and English, but the most important language they speak is the language of love. In this beautiful bilingual picture book, Arthur Dorros portrays the close bond between father and son, with lush paintings by Rudy Gutierrez. Fans of Abuelo; Abuela; and La Isla will be thrilled by this multigenerational picture book that emphasizes the overall message of love between a parent and child.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal

K-Gr 3- A boy tells about a special day with his father, recounting their adventures from waking up in the morning until they arrive at Abuela and Abuelo's house in the evening. Most of the text is in English, with Papá speaking Spanish and the child restating his words in English or using his actions to convey his father's meaning. In addition, the endpapers have the Spanish words and their English translations arranged like graffiti on a blue background. The emotional heart of the story is brought to life in Gutierrez's luminous illustrations. Making pancakes, walking down a city street together, or splashing through puddles at the park may seem simple, but they are choreographed like a dance. Climbing a tree, looking at the sky, and drawing faces in the sand all take on mythic qualities. The playful surrealism of the artwork makes an ordinary day seem extraordinary. As the boy and his papá embrace, they are outlined with glowing colors, and their smiling faces mirror their love for one another. Their special bond will resonate with children and parents, wherever they live and whatever their language.-Mary Jean Smith, Southside Elementary School, Lebanon, TN

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780060581565
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/22/2008
Edition description:
Bilingual: English and Spanish
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
9.00(w) x 11.00(h) x 0.25(d)
Lexile:
AD250L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Arthur Dorros views being a writer like being a traveling detective. He finds ideas all around. He learned Spanish while living in Latin America, and many of his stories, such as Abuelo, grow from those experiences. Arthur is the author of many books for children, including Julio's Magic, a CLASP Américas Award Commended Title; Papá and Me, a Pura Belpré Honor Book; and the popular Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science book Ant Cities. He lives in Seattle, Washington.

Rudy Gutierrez spent many days playing stickball and cards with his father and listening to stories about his life. Rudy's memories of his dad's character, honesty, and optimism inspired his illustrations in this book.

Rudy teaches at the Pratt Institute. He received a Gold Medal from the Society of Illustrators and was commissioned to do art for the acclaimed Santana Shaman CD cover. He also illustrated Malcolm X, an ALA Notable Children's Book. Rudy lives in Bogota, New Jersey.

El trabajo del premiado artista Rudy Gutiérrez se ha exhibido por todos los Estados Unidos e internacionalmente. También creó el arte para la cubierta del CD de Santana llamado Shaman. Rudy es profesor en el Instituto Pratt y vive en Bogota, Nueva Jersey.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >