×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife
     

Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife

3.8 6
by Raymond Moody
 

See All Formats & Editions

The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions

Overview

The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”

Editorial Reviews

Jeffrey Long
“Paranormal is the fascinating and heart-warming story of Dr. Raymond Moody’s extraordinary life, chronicling the exciting journey that has given us some of the strongest evidence that life after death is a reality. I highly recommend it.”
Pim van Lommel
“Raymond’s Moody lifetime pioneering activities have been the major impulse for all later research that has been attributed to breaking the scientific and social taboo about near-death experiences, shared death experiences, and the possibility of contact with deceased relatives.”
Dannion Brinkley
“The personal story of Raymond’s life before and during his pioneering research into what happens at the point of death—once again expertly written by Paul Perry—will help every reader better understand their own search for the same answers.”
Religious News Service
“[In Paranormal] Moody… looks back, reflecting on his fascination with death, the effect of his life’s work, and trying to figure out what it’s all meant. One key revelation: … the psychologist and philosopher…says he has ‘woken up to God.’”
Larry Dossey
“Raymond Moody radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife. In Paranormal, he sums up his journey and shares fresh insights. The result is a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”
Library Journal
Moody (Life After Life) is best known as the man who coined the phrase "near-death experience." But what is less known is the psychologist and physician's own life story, including his suicide attempt in 1991. Moody reflects on and documents his varied life, including his bouts with myxedema, which occurs when the thyroid gland doesn't produce enough thyroid hormone and, if not treated, can lead to slowness of speech, depression, and decreased senses of taste and smell. He is quite candid and upfront about his life working with near-death experiences, past-life regression, and mirror gazing, and especially about discovering the disease that was not diagnosed correctly until after his suicide attempt. Many stories in this book relate to patients and their past-life regressions, the author's comments and opinions on these regressions, and patients' near-death experiences. Moody also confronts critics who claim that his research and methods are inconclusive and/or irrelevant given his own instability and psychological background. VERDICT While not a book for the reference shelf, this title would be an interesting addition to any library's New Age, religion, and/or psychology section.—Bradford Lee Eden, Valparaiso Univ. Lib., IN
Kirkus Reviews
A lucid, engrossing memoir from a psychologist and philosopher dedicated to the afterlife. If Moody's (The Last Laugh, 1999, etc.) career capstone arrived with the lionizing 1975 publication of his landmark report Life after Life, his memoir, co-authored by Perry (co-author: Evidence of the Afterlife, 2010, etc.), an acclaimed author on the subject, affords his life's work even more dramatic heft. Moody's passion for the spiritual world can be traced to an early childhood in World War II–era Georgia raised by an abusively crass father and a depressed mother. He recalls at age 4 establishing theories about death and concepts of postmortem "soul survival." Moody writes ardently of an interest in astronomy throughout adolescence, undeterred by a skeptical father and crippling myxedema, a thyroid deficiency. As a philosophy scholar, he became "hooked on death" and intensely explored spiritual phenomena, out-of-body sensations, near-death events and theories of mind-body coexistence. Plumbing an interest in "facilitated visions" via hypnotic past-life regression therapy, Moody details his nine former lives, including that of a threadbare wooly mammoth hunter, a drowning boat builder and a murdered female Chinese artist. He coined the term "near-death experience" as his first book soared in popularity; on the lecture circuit, he befriended fellow afterlife pioneer Elisabeth Kübler-Ross. Then his illness resurfaced, causing a suicide attempt and a stint at a psychiatric facility after his experimentations with spirit communication and crystallomancy were discovered by his closed-minded father. Now in his mid-60s, Moody continues his revolutionary research. The supernatural undertones saturating the narrative are dwarfed by an overwhelming sense that this eccentric visionary just might be on to something. The fascinating life story of an impassioned mystical maverick.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062046444
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/07/2012
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
265,137
File size:
4 MB

What People are Saying About This

Pim van Lommel
“Raymond’s Moody lifetime pioneering activities have been the major impulse for all later research that has been attributed to breaking the scientific and social taboo about near-death experiences, shared death experiences, and the possibility of contact with deceased relatives.”
Jeffrey Long
“Paranormal is the fascinating and heart-warming story of Dr. Raymond Moody’s extraordinary life, chronicling the exciting journey that has given us some of the strongest evidence that life after death is a reality. I highly recommend it.”
Dannion Brinkley
“The personal story of Raymond’s life before and during his pioneering research into what happens at the point of death—once again expertly written by Paul Perry—will help every reader better understand their own search for the same answers.”

Meet the Author

Raymond A. Moody Jr., Ph.D., M.D., is a world-renowned scholar, lecturer, and researcher, and he is widely recognized as the leading authority on near-death experiences. He is the bestselling author of many books, including Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife.


Paul Perry is an internationally bestselling author who has co-written nine books on near-death experiences.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Paranormal 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
TiredofGarbage More than 1 year ago
Wonderful Book from a Great Teacher I recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about near death experiences from a great teacher. Dr. Moody talks from the heart about his own life, experiences learning about paranormal occurences, and patient stories about real near-death experiences (NDE) - this is important, as there is a book about a child supposedly having an NDE that is clearly fiction, being sold as fact when it is completely misleading and wrong. Dr. Moody is the real deal, and writes about the features of a REAL NDE, then goes on to talk about working with dying patients. Truly a great book, and highly recommended, particularly to anyone who really wants to learn about NDE experiences.
AspenBJ More than 1 year ago
I whole heartedly agree with the Kirkus Review in that "the supernatural undertones saturating the narrative are dwarfed by an overwhelming sense that this eccentric visionary just might be on to something." Indeed I believe he has been for quite some time. This book is informative yet "a good read." I would love nothing more than the opportunity to meet Dr. Moody but this writing leaves me with the impression that I already have.
Cheryl712 More than 1 year ago
This book helps to answer some of the questions regarding near death experiences. The author uses a scientific approach and this makes everything seem more realistic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book ,should be available at hospices and places where people are closer to that mysterious trip
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Grace Light Iarwain<p>Age: 17<p>Gender:&female<p>Type: a werewolf infected with dark magic<p>Appearance: Six feet tall, jet black hair with orange undertones, piercing silver eyes & deeply tanned skin.<p>&psi<p>Grace<p>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More of a biography with a lot of things thrown in from his previous books. Very disappointing and I felt it was a book compiled just to try and sell another book.