Paris Metro Tales

Overview


Following Helen Constantine's highly successful Paris Tales, Paris Metro Tales offers 22 remarkable short stories set throughout Paris--all connected by the underground tunnels of its famed Metro.
The journey begins at the Gare du Nord, stops at 20 underground stations along the way, and ends at Lamarck-Caulaincourt, each story corresponding to one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris. Readers are invited to find their way through the underground, changing trains when necessary ...
See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (34) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $1.99   
  • Used (21) from $1.99   

Overview


Following Helen Constantine's highly successful Paris Tales, Paris Metro Tales offers 22 remarkable short stories set throughout Paris--all connected by the underground tunnels of its famed Metro.
The journey begins at the Gare du Nord, stops at 20 underground stations along the way, and ends at Lamarck-Caulaincourt, each story corresponding to one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris. Readers are invited to find their way through the underground, changing trains when necessary and imaginatively emerging to read a story it its original setting. The stories range from the 15th-century account of the miraculous Saint Genevieve, patron saint of Paris, through tales by favorite writers such as Zola, Simenon, Balzac, and Maupassant. Though connected by the metro, the subjects of these short stories vary widely: from Martine Delerm's gripping narrative of the last hours of Modigliani's mistress to Gérard de Nerval's rich evocation of the bustling market in Les Halles in the 1850s, Colette's unlikely involvement in a traffic accident near the Opéra, and Boulanger's fine description of a blackly funny experience in Père Lachaise. In addition to writers well known to the English-speaking world, this collection also includes French authors whose work deserves wider attention, including Frédéric Fajardie, Martine Delerm, Marie Desplechin, Paul Fournel, and Claude Dufresne. Each story is illustrated with a black-and-white photograph and the book includes a map and suggested itinerary through the metro system.
Perfect for fans of Paris Tales, connoisseurs of French fiction, and all short story enthusiasts, Paris Metro Tales offers rare glimpses of the darker side of the "City of Light."
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"The glittering surfaces of Haussmann's Paris are scratched and scrunched up into something far more elemental in Paris Metro Tales... Helen Constantine, whose unfussy translations are for the ages, has included stories from lesser known contemporary writers who are not often translated into English." --Tobias Grey, The Wall Street Journal

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780199579808
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
  • Publication date: 5/1/2011
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 1,308,348
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 7.60 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

Helen Constantine has published three volumes of translated stories, Paris Tales, French Tales, and Berlin Tales, and is currently editing a series of City Tales for OUP. She is married to the writer David Constantine and with him edits the international magazine Modern Poetry in Translation.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Introduction
Gare du Nord, Jacques Reda
Saint-Julien-le-Pauvre, Julien Green
Summer Rain, Marie Desplechin
Refined, Daniel Boulanger
A Little Accident, Colette
If it were Sunday, Annie Saumont
Facino Cane, Honore de Balzac
Rue des Larmes, Frederic Fajardie
Story, Paul Fournel
There or Elsewhere, Martine Delerm
Saint Genevieve, Jacques de Voragine
Expomodigliani.com, Martine Delerm
Minuet, Guy de Maupassant
Snow, Emile Zola
La Halle, Gerard de Nerval
Confronting the Present, Andree Chedid
The Cab, Theodore de Banville
The Little Restaurant at Ternes, Georges Simenon
Romance in the Metro, Claude Dufresne
The Neighbour in the Rue de Jarente, Cyrille Fleischman
The Landlady, Guy de Maupassant
La Butte Montmartre, Gerard de Nerval
Notes on the Metro
Notes on the Stories
Notes on the Authors
Selected Further Reading
Publisher's Acknowledgements
Map of metro

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)