Partials (Partials Sequence Series #1)

Partials (Partials Sequence Series #1)

4.4 199
by Dan Wells
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the

See more details below

Overview

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Los Angeles Times
“Readers who enjoy headstrong feminist leads making their way . . . in the not-too-distant future will find plenty to like in Partials.”
Wall Street Journal
“Mr. Wells has recombined familiar dystopian elements, added original ones and thrown in dashes of dry wit to create a sprawling, action-packed medical thriller full of big ideas and exciting reversals.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Wells creates a compelling, fantastically complex post-apocalyptic landscape, adding thought-provoking twists to a classic story of humanity creating its own doom...With broad cross-genre appeal and an engaging balance of thematic depth and rip-roaring action, this winner will leave readers clamoring for sequels."
The Bulletin for the Center for Children's Books

“Wells creates a compelling, fantastically complex post-apocalyptic landscape, adding thought-provoking twists to a classic story of humanity creating its own doom...With broad cross-genre appeal and an engaging balance of thematic depth and rip-roaring action, this winner will leave readers clamoring for sequels.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Wells creates a compelling, fantastically complex post-apocalyptic landscape, adding thought-provoking twists to a classic story of humanity creating its own doom...With broad cross-genre appeal and an engaging balance of thematic depth and rip-roaring action, this winner will leave readers clamoring for sequels.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Wells creates a compelling, fantastically complex post-apocalyptic landscape, adding thought-provoking twists to a classic story of humanity creating its own doom...With broad cross-genre appeal and an engaging balance of thematic depth and rip-roaring action, this winner will leave readers clamoring for sequels.”
Pittacus Lore
“A thrilling sci-fi adrenaline rush, with one of the most compelling and frightening visions of Earth’s future I’ve seen yet. I couldn’t put it down.”
Publishers Weekly
Long Island, N.Y., is the last outpost of humanity in adult author Wells’s (the John Cleaver series) YA debut. Wells prefers immediate impact to consistent world-building (for instance, the skin of corpses in a rat- and rot-infested apartment building has somehow been preserved), but it’s an intriguing world nonetheless. Weakened by war with an engineered life form, the Partials, humanity was knocked out by RM, a virus that the few survivors have been unable to cure or breed an immunity to. Every baby born since “the Break” has died, and a desperate government has mandated reproduction, hoping for a miracle. Kira, a 16-year-old medic, is tired of death and terrified of forced fertility. When her friend Maddy conceives, Kira concocts a plan to capture a Partial and use its biological material to find a cure. She’s not prepared for the shocking humanity of her target, Samm, or for what she learns about herself. Though long on historical description and political debates, readers who enjoy SF-oriented postapocalyptic stories will relish this one. Ages 14–up. Agent: Sara Crowe, Harvey Klinger Inc. (Mar.)
VOYA - Jonatha Bayse
Kira Walker, Plague baby and medic-in-training, was only five years old when the deadly RM virus was unleashed upon the world. The virus killed most of the population, and continues to wreak havoc on newborn children. Babies cannot fight off the disease, and because of this, the human race is becoming extinct. Kira believes that she can find a cure, but she must battle the Partials, the Senate, and the Voice in order to discover it. Kira's group of friends sacrifices everything to help her on this quest. They even go so far as to capture a Partial (a genetically-engineered humanoid), so that Kira can study its biological make up, and potentially unlock the secret behind RM. Wells's first novel is an ambitious attempt. The story's main idea is solid, but gets lost in the mix. There are so many sub-groups that the reader has to deal with, that it is hard to keep track of who is doing what and why they are fighting each other. This reviewer was also confused about how Wells broke up the novel into three parts, with part two beginning three months later, and then part three, four hours later. It feels as if Wells wanted to cover a lot of material in a short amount of time. If dystopian YA fiction is your thing, skip this one. There are many others out there that are more worth your time. Reviewer: Jonatha Bayse
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—A postapocalyptic thriller set in 2076 on Long Island, NY. Kira Walker, a 16-year-old medic in training, believes she can find a cure for the RM virus that's killing all the newborns. It's been 11 years since a war in which genetically enhanced humans called Partials turned on their creators and released the virus that killed most of the population. The Senate has enacted the Hope Act, making it mandatory for all 18-year-old females to become pregnant to maximize the chances of a child being born resistant to the virus. Now that her adopted sister Madison is pregnant, Kira is sure that the Partials hold the key. She and Madison's brother and husband, both trained soldiers, take matters into their own hands, cross into the enemy territory of Manhattan, engage in a series of battles with Partials, and capture one. The Senate punishes them but gives Kira five days to study Samm, the prisoner. While doing so, the facility is attacked and Kira nearly killed but Samm saves her life. Despite their mutual distrust, they form a connection and realize that they are pawns in a much bigger conspiracy by both sides. While this book shares similar plot themes with other recent postapocalyptic novels like Lauren DeStefano's Wither (S & S) and Megan McCafferty's Bumped (HarperCollins, both 2011), the emphasis here is on genetics, politics, and paramilitary action. The tendency for the young people to act older than their actual age can be attributed to having had to grow up faster. Readers will be swept along by the fast-paced action and surprising plot twists, and will eagerly await the sequel—Sharon Rawlins, New Jersey State Library, Trenton
Kirkus Reviews
Teens battle human extinction in a post-apocalyptic thriller. In the year 2076, Kira Walker's one of the last humans. Eleven years prior, a war against genetically engineered humanoid weapons called Partials abruptly ended with the release of a weaponized virus that killed most humans. Kira is a medic intern working in the maternity ward, where, despite the doctors' best efforts, there has yet to be a single infant born with its parents' immunity. While the Senate attempts to prevent extinction through the Hope Act--legislation commanding all girls 18 or older to be pregnant or trying to conceive--quantity has not yielded a surviving infant, and the oppressive rule births a resistance movement, threatening their small civilization. Kira's determination to discover a way to save her species is intensified through her adopted sister's pregnancy. But with all human aspects of the virus thoroughly studied, Kira and a small band turn to a less orthodox way of gaining biological information--the immune Partials. Their covert mission starts a chain reaction, uncovering secrets revealed through political dealings, medical pathology and paramilitary action sequences. The rollercoaster plot takes precedence over character at times, and the generally realistic world occasionally strains credibility. The rushed ending promises a sequel, progressing the story enough that readers are certain to return. A dark, wild ride. (Science fiction. 14 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062071057
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/26/2013
Series:
Partials Sequence Series, #1
Pages:
472
Sales rank:
86,911
Product dimensions:
5.46(w) x 7.82(h) x 1.27(d)
Lexile:
HL810L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

What People are saying about this

Pittacus Lore

“A thrilling sci-fi adrenaline rush, with one of the most compelling and frightening visions of Earth’s future I’ve seen yet. I couldn’t put it down.”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >