×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Paul Cezanne: A Painter's Journey
     

Paul Cezanne: A Painter's Journey

by Robert Burleigh, National Gallery of Art, The National Art
 
Published in association with the National Gallery of Art

In the tradition of DEGAS AND THE DANCE and SEURAT AND LA GRANDE JATTE, a new artist biography about Paul Cezanne.

Filled with Cezanne's paintings, period photographs, and the works of his contemporaries, this picture book biography illuminates the life and art of Cezanne for

Overview

Published in association with the National Gallery of Art

In the tradition of DEGAS AND THE DANCE and SEURAT AND LA GRANDE JATTE, a new artist biography about Paul Cezanne.

Filled with Cezanne's paintings, period photographs, and the works of his contemporaries, this picture book biography illuminates the life and art of Cezanne for youngsters everywhere. A great and difficult artist, Cezanne's life and work are easily laid out for children in this important addition to the Abrams collection of picture book biographies. Burleigh tells how Cezanne overcame his father's rejection, critics' scorn, and public indifference to create his art and follow his own inner voice. Children will find inspiration in his story to follow their own dreams and to believe in themselves-as well as learning about Cezanne's major contributions to the history of art.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
Published in association with the National Gallery of Art, Washington, this beautifully portrayed and remarkably well-written text provides readers a glimpse into the life and art of Paul Cezanne. Rather than making passing reference to pieces he painted, the text delves deeply into several works as the organizational means through which to tell the story of the artist's life. The story begins with the discussion of two paintings, House of Pere Lacroix and Still Life with Peppermint Bottle, as visual representations of Cezanne's influence on the painters of his era and those following. Readers are then taken back in time to his early days and afforded the opportunity to consider two paintings Cezanne completed of his father and to contemplate how those works might be reflective of the relationship shared by the two males. In another piece, we bear witness to Pisarro's influence on Cezanne, how the artist's color choices, subjects, and brush strokes were all softened as a result of his time spent with another master. In addition to Cezanne's paintings, the book also includes works by other artists that provide comparisons in terms of technique and style, photographs of the artist at various times in his life as well as places in which he lived and from which he took inspiration, and sketches from his drawing books. The text itself is magical, too, in its creation of a portrait of a man that reads more like a wonderful story than a dry biography. Well worth the investment. 2006, Harry N. Abrams, Ages 7 to 12.
—Wendy Glenn, Ph.D.
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 4-8-In a conversational style, Burleigh offers brief insights into Cezanne's personal life, such as his relationship with his father, who did not support his son's interest in art. However, the emphasis is on interpreting some individual paintings and understanding the artist's various styles, including the impact of the Impressionists and his evolution to a freer and simpler manner of expression in his later years. This is all accomplished in a seamless fashion that uses excellent selections as, for example, a comparison of Cezanne's and Pissarro's paintings of the same scene and several landscapes that were done of Mont Sainte-Victoire in three different decades. Throughout, the author asks readers to reflect on various aspects of the artist's works and life. The high-quality reproductions demonstrate Burleigh's points. Several photos of Cezanne are included. A solid, lively introduction.-Carol Schene, Taunton Public Schools, MA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Both biography and art criticism, this exploration of Cezanne features well-reproduced paintings, mostly excellent design and text that's partly savvy and partly incomplete. The biographical aspect shows an appropriately un-romanticized Cezanne, crotchety and often unappreciated by critics. Burleigh's art analysis shines when he points out the paintings' brush strokes or compares a Cezanne piece to another artist's rendition or a historical photo of the same scene. He astutely explains Cezanne's groundbreaking use of several perspectives within one painting. However, Burleigh's analysis doesn't address Cezanne's signature technique of pulling his subject matter to the front of the painting (flattening the scene and minimizing depth) and doesn't give the artist enough credit for freeing subject matter from representationalism, both of which contributed invaluably to the birth of abstraction. But despite this, young art fans will be drawn to the beautiful paintings and fascinated by how Cezanne tinkers with perspective. An attractive, worthy contribution. (glossary, bibliography, author's note) (Nonfiction. 9-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780810957848
Publisher:
Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
Publication date:
03/28/2006
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
9.50(w) x 12.25(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
5 - 9 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews