Paul Cezanne: A Painter's Journey

Overview

Published in association with the National Gallery of Art

In the tradition of DEGAS AND THE DANCE and SEURAT AND LA GRANDE JATTE, a new artist biography about Paul Cezanne.

Filled with Cezanne's paintings, period photographs, and the works of his contemporaries, this picture book biography illuminates the life and art of Cezanne for youngsters everywhere. A great and ...
See more details below
Hardcover
$16.15
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$17.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (31) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $6.24   
  • Used (21) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Published in association with the National Gallery of Art

In the tradition of DEGAS AND THE DANCE and SEURAT AND LA GRANDE JATTE, a new artist biography about Paul Cezanne.

Filled with Cezanne's paintings, period photographs, and the works of his contemporaries, this picture book biography illuminates the life and art of Cezanne for youngsters everywhere. A great and difficult artist, Cezanne's life and work are easily laid out for children in this important addition to the Abrams collection of picture book biographies. Burleigh tells how Cezanne overcame his father's rejection, critics' scorn, and public indifference to create his art and follow his own inner voice. Children will find inspiration in his story to follow their own dreams and to believe in themselves-as well as learning about Cezanne's major contributions to the history of art.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
Published in association with the National Gallery of Art, Washington, this beautifully portrayed and remarkably well-written text provides readers a glimpse into the life and art of Paul Cezanne. Rather than making passing reference to pieces he painted, the text delves deeply into several works as the organizational means through which to tell the story of the artist's life. The story begins with the discussion of two paintings, House of Pere Lacroix and Still Life with Peppermint Bottle, as visual representations of Cezanne's influence on the painters of his era and those following. Readers are then taken back in time to his early days and afforded the opportunity to consider two paintings Cezanne completed of his father and to contemplate how those works might be reflective of the relationship shared by the two males. In another piece, we bear witness to Pisarro's influence on Cezanne, how the artist's color choices, subjects, and brush strokes were all softened as a result of his time spent with another master. In addition to Cezanne's paintings, the book also includes works by other artists that provide comparisons in terms of technique and style, photographs of the artist at various times in his life as well as places in which he lived and from which he took inspiration, and sketches from his drawing books. The text itself is magical, too, in its creation of a portrait of a man that reads more like a wonderful story than a dry biography. Well worth the investment. 2006, Harry N. Abrams, Ages 7 to 12.
—Wendy Glenn, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
Gr 4-8-In a conversational style, Burleigh offers brief insights into Cezanne's personal life, such as his relationship with his father, who did not support his son's interest in art. However, the emphasis is on interpreting some individual paintings and understanding the artist's various styles, including the impact of the Impressionists and his evolution to a freer and simpler manner of expression in his later years. This is all accomplished in a seamless fashion that uses excellent selections as, for example, a comparison of Cezanne's and Pissarro's paintings of the same scene and several landscapes that were done of Mont Sainte-Victoire in three different decades. Throughout, the author asks readers to reflect on various aspects of the artist's works and life. The high-quality reproductions demonstrate Burleigh's points. Several photos of Cezanne are included. A solid, lively introduction.-Carol Schene, Taunton Public Schools, MA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Both biography and art criticism, this exploration of Cezanne features well-reproduced paintings, mostly excellent design and text that's partly savvy and partly incomplete. The biographical aspect shows an appropriately un-romanticized Cezanne, crotchety and often unappreciated by critics. Burleigh's art analysis shines when he points out the paintings' brush strokes or compares a Cezanne piece to another artist's rendition or a historical photo of the same scene. He astutely explains Cezanne's groundbreaking use of several perspectives within one painting. However, Burleigh's analysis doesn't address Cezanne's signature technique of pulling his subject matter to the front of the painting (flattening the scene and minimizing depth) and doesn't give the artist enough credit for freeing subject matter from representationalism, both of which contributed invaluably to the birth of abstraction. But despite this, young art fans will be drawn to the beautiful paintings and fascinated by how Cezanne tinkers with perspective. An attractive, worthy contribution. (glossary, bibliography, author's note) (Nonfiction. 9-12)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780810957848
  • Publisher: Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
  • Publication date: 3/28/2006
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 986,917
  • Age range: 5 - 9 Years
  • Product dimensions: 9.50 (w) x 12.25 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)