Paul Fetler: Violin Concerto No. 2; Capriccio; 3 Poems by Walt Whitman

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $6.75   
  • New (5) from $6.75   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 12/15/2009
  • Label: Naxos American
  • UPC: 636943960622
  • Catalog Number: 8559606
  • Sales rank: 265,931

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Arie Lipsky Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Elegance and Eloquence

    There is much to like in this Naxos American Classics recording featuring the music of Paul Fetler, which is the first devoted exclusively to his work. Included on this disc are his Violin Concerto No. 2, Capriccio, and Three Poems by Walt Whitman. The concerto for me is the highlight, showcasing his elegant and urgent lyricism throughout all three movements. Fetler's melodies are full of yearning yet never sound cloying, and are wonderfully embroidered with impressionistic sound colors and accents. Moreover, Fetler maintains perfect balance between the violin and orchestral passages, never letting the latter overwhelm the former, even during the overtly dramatic and propulsive third movement. The composer's Capriccio is much lighter in tone, marked by balletic rhythms and spirited melodies, and evokes Debussy in its shimmering atmospheres. I'm somewhat less enamored of the Three Poems by Walt Whitman. That's no knock on Fetler's evocative musical settings, which effectively complement the emotional and thematic tenor of Whitman's verse (narrated by the poet Thomas H. Blaske). As much as I like Whitman's poetry, and as much as I appreciate Fetler's musical underscore, I've never warmed to the combination of spoken poetry and classical music, which to my ear comes off as a little stiff and portentous. (That kind of thing seems to work much better with jazz-Jean Shepherd's improvised narration on Charles Mingus' "The Clown," for example.) All in all, however, this recording is a fine introduction to a composer long deserving of greater recognition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews