Pearson Reviews & Rationales: Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN / Edition 2

Paperback (Print)
Rent
Rent from BN.com
$14.69
(Save 75%)
Est. Return Date: 12/21/2014
Buy Used
Buy Used from BN.com
$34.70
(Save 41%)
Item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging.
Condition: Used – Good details
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $29.94
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 49%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (25) from $29.94   
  • New (13) from $42.26   
  • Used (12) from $29.74   

Overview

The BEST-SELLING Pearson Reviews & Rationales: Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN® is back and in a brand NEW edition! Completely current reflecting the April 2010 NCLEX-RN(R) test plan, this review book features a comprehensive outline review, over 1800 practice questions and multiple practice tests. The second edition boasts over 200 new questions and includes ALL of the alternate question formats on the NCLEX exam. Throughout answers are complete with rationales and testing strategies to help determine how to answer questions, even when they aren't sure of the correct answer. How will this book help you succeed on the NCLEX? Because of these stand-out features:

  • Highlights CRITICAL concepts on the NCLEX-RN with Memory Aid Boxes and NCLEX Alert
  • The quantity and quality of our review questions
  • Organization according to the April 2010 NCLEX-RN(R) Test Plan
  • The multi-media support that accompanies this review book.
  • Inclusion of alternate test items such as prioritization, dosage calculation, enhanced image questions
  • Rationales and testing strategies for a for all answers
  • Nearly all questions are a high level of difficulty, i.e. analysis and application
  • Test Your NCLEX(R) I.Q. assessment boxes
  • Review tips for ESL students
  • Section for foreign nurses to help prepare them for the NCLEX-RN(R)

Need online preparation? For those who want to prepare for the NCLEX-RN(R), taking multiple practice tests online will help you become more familiar with the computer-based testing experience, especially for the new alternate item formats such as audio, media-enhanced, hot spot, and exhibit questions. With this new edition, use the code printed inside the front cover of the book to access more than 5,600 practice questions using all NCLEX(R)-style formats. This includes the practice questions found in all chapters of the book as well as the comprehensive exam questions. Plus, it contains 4,000 NEW question to help you further evaluate your readiness for the exam and hone your test-taking skills. This allows you to choose two ways to prepare for the NCLEX-RN(R). Both approaches personalize your practice experience according to what stage you are at in your NCLEX(R) preparation:

Comprehensive Practice & Review provides you with a 100-question comprehensive exam that allows you to practice pacing yourself to build your stamina so that you can endure answering questions for a long period of time. Following this exam, you receive a results report and a personalized study plan and links to the eText to help you focus your review with additional opportunities to test yourself.

Nursing Topics Review allows you to select which specific nursing topic areas you would like to review and test yourself. After a brief pre-test, you receive a personalized study plan referring you to the eText for areas where you need additional review.

Anyone preparing for the NCLEX-RN (R)


Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780132621076
  • Publisher: Prentice Hall
  • Publication date: 10/19/2011
  • Series: Reviews & Rationales Series
  • Edition number: 2
  • Pages: 1424
  • Sales rank: 26,054
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 10.90 (h) x 2.00 (d)

Meet the Author

MaryAnn Hogan, MSN, RN has been a Professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She has taught in diploma, associate degree, and baccalaureate nursing programs. A former item writer for the CAT NCLEX-RN® exam, Ms. Hogan has been teaching review courses throughout to a number of publications in the areas of adult health, pharmacology, and fundamentals of nursing. She is a member of the American Nurses Association and Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

SECTION 1. Preparing for the NCLEX-RN® Exam

1. The NCLEX-RN® Licensing Exam

2. Test Preparation and Test-Taking Strategies

3. Test Preparation for International Nurses

4. The NCLEX-RN® Examination through the Candidates’ Eyes

SECTION 2. Safe Effective Care Environment: Management of Care

5. Legal and Ethical Nursing Practice

6. Leadership and Management

SECTION 3. Safe Effective Care Environment: Safety and Infection Control

7. Injury Prevention, Disaster Planning, and Protecting Client Safety

8. Preventing and Controlling Infection

SECTION 4. Health Promotion and Maintenance

9. Reproduction, Family Planning, and Infertility

10. Uncomplicated Antenatal Assessment and Care

11. Uncomplicated Labor and Delivery Care

12. Uncomplicated Postpartum Assessment and Care

13. Uncomplicated Newborn Care

14. Lifespan Growth and Development

15. Providing Immunizations

16. Health and Physical Assessment

17. Promoting Healthy Lifestyle Choices

18. Age-Related Care of Older Adults

SECTION 5. Psychosocial Integrity

19. Therapeutic Communication and Environment

20. Culturally Competent Care

21. Coping with Stressors

22. Mental Health Disorders

23. Dependency and Addiction

24. Crisis Intervention and Suicide

25. End of Life Care

SECTION 6. Physiological Integrity: Basic Care and Comfort

26. Meeting Nutritional Needs

27. Meeting Basic Human Needs

28. Maintaining Function of Tubes and Drains

29. Alternative and Complementary Therapies

SECTION 7. Physiological Integrity: Pharmacological and Parenteral Therapies

30. Dosage Calculation and Medication Administration

31. Pediatric Dosage Calculation and Medication Administration

32. Intravenous Therapy

33. Blood and Blood Component Therapy

34. Total Parenteral Nutrition

35. Maternal and Newborn Medications

36. Psychiatric Medications

37. Respiratory Medications

38. Cardiovascular Medications

39. Neurological and Musculoskeletal Medications

40. Renal Medications

41. Gastrointestinal Medications

42. Endocrine Medications

43. Integumentary Medications

44. Eye and Ear Medications

45. Antineoplastic Medications

46. Immunological and Anti-Infective Medications

SECTION 8. Physiological Integrity: Reduction of Risk Potential

47. Common Laboratory Tests

48. Common Diagnostic Tests and Procedures

49. Perioperative Care.

SECTION 9. Physiological Integrity: Physiological Adaptation

50. Complicated Antenatal Care

51. Complicated Labor and Delivery Care

52. Complicated Postpartum Care

53. Complicated Newborn Care

54. Fluid and Electrolyte Imbalances

55. Acid-Base Imbalances

56. Respiratory Disorders

57. Cardiovascular Disorders

58. Neurological Disorders

59. Renal or Genitourinary Disorders

60. Gastrointestinal Disorders

61. Endocrine and Metabolic Disorders

62. Musculoskeletal Disorders

63. Integumentary Disorders

64. Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat Disorders

65. Hematological Disorders

66. Oncological Disorders

67. Immunological Disorders

68. Communicable or Infectious Diseases

69. Basic Life Support

Comprehensive Exam

Comprehensive Exam Answers

Index

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I just took the NCLEX-RN June 17th 2014. I passed the first tim

    I just took the NCLEX-RN June 17th 2014. I passed the first time. The book content is not up to date with the new NCLEX questions but you have to purchase the book so you can do the online tests. The book supplies you with the access code. To access the online tests go to the front cover of your book. Inside there is directions on how to go to the online test center. You take a 265 test that will tell you if you pass or fail. When I took it I failed. This helped me see what I really needed to review and focus on. I took another 100 test question and then it prompts you to review certain sections of the book. I would only review the book reading content if I didn't understand the concept. There are little mini 20 question quizzes that I would take. I wouldn't move on from the subject until I passed with an 80% or above. There were new questions each time you retake it and sometimes repeat questions. I reviewed all of the answer rationales whether I got them right or wrong. In my personal opinion these tests helped the most on NCLEX.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)