Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch
  • Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch
  • Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch
  • Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch
  • Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch
<Previous >Next

Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch

4.0 22
by Dan O'Shea
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too.

Because one dark secret might be about to tear a whole city apart.

A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot dead by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot.

Colonel Tech Weaver

See more details below

Overview

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too.

Because one dark secret might be about to tear a whole city apart.

A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot dead by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot.

Colonel Tech Weaver dispatches a team from Langley to put the shooter—and anyone else who gets in the way—in a body bag before a half-century of national secrets are revealed.

Detective John Lynch, the son of a murdered Chicago cop, finds himself cast into an underworld of political corruption and guilty secrets, as he tries to uncover the truth about what’s really going on – before another innocent citizen gets killed.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O’Shea’s astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note.”
– Chris F. Holm, Stoker-nominated author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye.

“A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O’Shea’s Penance is a bonafide blockbuster.”
 Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals.

Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970′s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem.”
– Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison."
- Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living

 "A heart-pounding ride that leaves you breathless, yet allows for unforgettable moments of grace. A must-read."
-Hilary Davison, Award-winning author of The Damage Done

"With John Lynch and Penance, Dan O'Shea has produced a worthy competitor [to Michael Connelly]"
-BigSandwich6  

"Gritty, intense and exciting."
-Cayocosta72

"Expect PENANCE to shake things up and conquer conspiracy enthusiasts as well as hardboiled literature fans. It's a tremendous novel. The kind you experience, rather than read."
-Dead End Follies
 
"Penance is a heartbreaking account of love and loss, and the havoc that grief can wreak on an unstable mind."
-Katrina Niidas Holm, CriminalElement

"Pour out yourself a strong glass of Penance, add a couple more fingers worth, and shoot it straight. You might get a fierce burn in the back of your throat and by the time you’ve finally run out, you will be thanking O’Shea for crafting such a rare piece of fine art."
-Liam, The Troubled Scribe

Library Journal
An innocent older woman is shot dead outside her Chicago church, where she has just taken confession. Her high-powered son, however, is as crooked as a river road—and thus begins an intense police thriller guaranteed to keep readers hooked until the final exhausting page. Dial back to 1971 to a huge political cover-up that left innocent men dead and a bunch of politicians beholden to seriously bad guys. Well, now a descendant of this crime history wants to atone. At the epicenter is Det. John Lynch, whose Chicago cop father died on the job back in 1971. This is no coincidence.

Verdict This potent thriller bubbles with bad blood and bad guys from page one. Every stock character from crooked politician to covert-op guy makes an appearance, yet the pace never lags, and readers won’t sleep until the last villain is cuffed. Those who love brisk action and political intrigue will lap this up. Think John Sandford for intensity and Michael Harvey for setting and history. [Exhibit A is the new crime fiction imprint of Angry Robot Books.—Ed.]—Terry Jacobsen, Fairfield, CA
(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781909223134
Publisher:
Watkins Media
Publication date:
04/30/2013
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
1,484,478
Product dimensions:
8.30(w) x 5.40(h) x 1.00(d)

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O’Shea’s astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note.”
– Chris F. Holm, Stoker-nominated author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye.

“A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O’Shea’s Penance is a bonafide blockbuster.”
 Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals.

Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970′s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem.”
– Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison."
- Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >