Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch

Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch

4.0 23
by Dan O'Shea
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too.

Because one dark secret might be about to tear a whole city apart.

A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot dead by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot.

Colonel Tech Weaver…  See more details below

Overview

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too.

Because one dark secret might be about to tear a whole city apart.

A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot dead by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot.

Colonel Tech Weaver dispatches a team from Langley to put the shooter—and anyone else who gets in the way—in a body bag before a half-century of national secrets are revealed.

Detective John Lynch, the son of a murdered Chicago cop, finds himself cast into an underworld of political corruption and guilty secrets, as he tries to uncover the truth about what’s really going on – before another innocent citizen gets killed.


Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O’Shea’s astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note.”
– Chris F. Holm, Stoker-nominated author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye.

“A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O’Shea’s Penance is a bonafide blockbuster.”
 Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals.

Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970′s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem.”
– Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison."
- Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living

 "A heart-pounding ride that leaves you breathless, yet allows for unforgettable moments of grace. A must-read."
-Hilary Davison, Award-winning author of The Damage Done

"With John Lynch and Penance, Dan O'Shea has produced a worthy competitor [to Michael Connelly]"
-BigSandwich6  

"Gritty, intense and exciting."
-Cayocosta72

"Expect PENANCE to shake things up and conquer conspiracy enthusiasts as well as hardboiled literature fans. It's a tremendous novel. The kind you experience, rather than read."
-Dead End Follies
 
"Penance is a heartbreaking account of love and loss, and the havoc that grief can wreak on an unstable mind."
-Katrina Niidas Holm, CriminalElement

"Pour out yourself a strong glass of Penance, add a couple more fingers worth, and shoot it straight. You might get a fierce burn in the back of your throat and by the time you’ve finally run out, you will be thanking O’Shea for crafting such a rare piece of fine art."
-Liam, The Troubled Scribe

Library Journal
An innocent older woman is shot dead outside her Chicago church, where she has just taken confession. Her high-powered son, however, is as crooked as a river road—and thus begins an intense police thriller guaranteed to keep readers hooked until the final exhausting page. Dial back to 1971 to a huge political cover-up that left innocent men dead and a bunch of politicians beholden to seriously bad guys. Well, now a descendant of this crime history wants to atone. At the epicenter is Det. John Lynch, whose Chicago cop father died on the job back in 1971. This is no coincidence.

Verdict This potent thriller bubbles with bad blood and bad guys from page one. Every stock character from crooked politician to covert-op guy makes an appearance, yet the pace never lags, and readers won’t sleep until the last villain is cuffed. Those who love brisk action and political intrigue will lap this up. Think John Sandford for intensity and Michael Harvey for setting and history. [Exhibit A is the new crime fiction imprint of Angry Robot Books.—Ed.]—Terry Jacobsen, Fairfield, CA
(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781909223141
Publisher:
Watkins Media
Publication date:
04/30/2013
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
111,018
File size:
533 KB

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O’Shea’s astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note.”
– Chris F. Holm, Stoker-nominated author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye.

“A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O’Shea’s Penance is a bonafide blockbuster.”
 Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals.

Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970′s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem.”
– Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison."
- Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living

Read More

Meet the Author

Dan O’Shea is a Chicago-area writer. His first two thrillers, Penance and Mammon, will be published by Exhibit A. Drawing on Chicago’s settings and history, the novels explore the city’s history of corruption, but with a national, even international flavour.

Dan is also the author of Old School, a collection of short fiction published by Snubnose Press.

Dan would be a handsome gent if he could just stop breaking his nose.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch 4 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I normally do not read mysteries or action based novels. But this one had me hooked from the first page. I read it quickly, but not too quickly. Some books I absolutely cannot put down and read through it so rapidly that I don't retain anything from the novel. I call them throw away novels. This is not a throw away novel. I read it thoroughly,and enjoyed every page. Read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book I enjoyed reading this book. A little confusing in the beginning with going back and forth between present day and the 1970s - just understand that the father of the detective was also a cop and the 70s is his story while the present is the sons story = they both tie in together, so just hang in there! The other part I had to get used to was the cast of characters page in the beginning of the book - I kept having to switch back to the first page to find out who's who. The author only introduce/explained some of the charaters while reading (didnt like that much in the first couple chapters) Overall, its a book mystery book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really loved this book!  It was funny while at the same time, very graphic and realistic.  O'shea takes us on a fast and bumpy ride through  Chicago politics, race baiting, police department politics; all while watching a serious killer gun down innocent lives.  Throw in the Feds doing their clandestine things and you have a book you can't put down.  I can hardly wait for John Lynch to surface again in the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good mysrery. Look fotward to his next book.
MrsBPB More than 1 year ago
First time reading Dan O'Shea. Good suspenseful reading. I will read more by Dan O'Shea!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read. A thinking person's book as you really have to pay attention to the emerging ( and amazing "gotchas") story. I see where other folks mentioned having to refer to the cast of characters to keep up with the story. I did too, but it allowed the author the ability to really focus on the plot - which is compelling. As far as moving back and forth between past and present, that is integral to the plot line and is not at all confusing. I would highly recommend this book. It made me lose some sleep!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great detective novel. Suspenseful, fast-paced, exciting. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitley worth the read. I've even pre-ordered the next book in the series because I can't wait to see what trouble John Lynch gets into next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time reading this author. Will watch for more
Anonymous 21 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
marc-medios More than 1 year ago
The first half of the book is OK... weird and unexpected, which is good. The second half, --and no plot spoilers here-- where they resolve the crime, is thinner, plot wise. Overall, not bad. Not great, but not bad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked this,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. Hard to follow the plot sometimes. Needs better proofreading. Liked the characters and intrigue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read by this author, but I am thoroughly enjoying it. It has a plot full of surprises and twists.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story and great characters. Lots of action. It isn't a mystery...government group covering tracks and Chicago law enforcement hunting a deranged murderer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the plot and different time frames. Please write another
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found I could not finish this book as it was very crude and offensive. It's not for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate spy stuff. This book should not be billed as a mystery, just another conspiracy in the white house thing. I really, really hate books like this. On the plus side, the book was cheap, and the writer has ability. Just not my genre.