×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Perfect Lies (Mind Games Series #2)
     

Perfect Lies (Mind Games Series #2)

4.1 8
by Kiersten White
 

See All Formats & Editions

This explosive sequel to Mind Games, which New York Times bestselling author Holly Black called "a brutal, exciting gem of a book," is a lightning-fast, wickedly smart tale of two sisters trapped in a web of deceit—perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Lying Game series.

For years, Annie and Fia have been in an endless battle for survival

Overview

This explosive sequel to Mind Games, which New York Times bestselling author Holly Black called "a brutal, exciting gem of a book," is a lightning-fast, wickedly smart tale of two sisters trapped in a web of deceit—perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Lying Game series.

For years, Annie and Fia have been in an endless battle for survival against the Keane Foundation. Now the sisters have found allies who can help them escape. But Annie's visions of the future and Fia's flawless instincts can't always tell them who to trust. The sisters can only rely on each other—and even their extraordinary gifts may not be enough to save them.

Editorial Reviews

Booklist
“Suspenseful and smart.”
VOYA, February 2014 (Vol. 36, No. 6) - Elisabeth W. Rauch
In this sequel to Mind Games (HarperTeen, 2013/Voya June 2013), sisters Annie and Fia continue to struggle to protect each other against Keane and his team of henchman. Each girl uses her gifts to do what she can, despite the necessity of the group being apart. As the story unfolds, the sisters are rebuilding relationships after losing each other, but there is always an underlying danger. They do not know who they can trust after the years of being used for their talents by Keane and his “school.” As they try to form close friendships and even fall in love, they are constantly risking their own lives and sometimes each other’s. Fans of Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (Little, Brown, 2005/Voya April 2005) will rejoice at this new read-alike that centers around a similar concept. In this series, teen girls, who have special abilities, are being exploited by adults who think nothing of putting the girls in grave danger or even going as far as to kill them… or have them kill each other. White also offers readers many strong female characters to idolize or with whom to identify, especially Annie, who, though blind, has the ability to see the future. Reviewer: Elisabeth W. Rauch; Ages 11 to 15.
Kirkus Reviews
2013-11-20
Fia's freed her sister, Annie, from the sinister Keane organization but at a high price: severing contact between them to maintain the fiction that Annie's dead (Mind Games, 2013). Competing demands and desires further rend Fia's tattered psyche: recruiting girls with paranormal abilities to be shaped by the Keane School while plotting its destruction and protecting the vulnerable--especially Annie, who's blind. Without her sister to rely on, Fia grows increasingly dependent on James, who's got issues of his own. Meanwhile, Annie can't enjoy the freedom for which her sister sacrificed herself, not when her own visions point to a calamitous future. Always the more stable of the sisters, Annie's equally determined to protect the vulnerable, including Fia, a task complicated by romantic entanglements and the choices they entail. The sisters' alternating narration helps to modulate the tension, balancing Fia's jittery, violent persona with Annie's focused, levelheaded one. Fia's emotional extremes verge on tiresome without quite crossing the line. White avoids sequel padding, keeping her tale lean and streamlined, and again makes skillful use of temporal shifts (readers are wise to keep track of dates and times) in constructing her suspenseful plot. If the narrative (it's less a sequel than Mind Games' second half) doesn't explore new territory, there's plenty in its template to hold readers fast. (Paranormal romance. 13 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062135865
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/18/2014
Series:
Mind Games Series , #2
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
140,866
File size:
811 KB
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Kiersten White is the New York Times bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy, The Chaos of Stars, and the psychological thrillers Mind Games and Perfect Lies. She has neither magic nor a pet bird, but wants both. Kiersten lives with her family in San Diego, California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews