Perfectly Pure and Good: A Sarah Fortune Mystery

Perfectly Pure and Good: A Sarah Fortune Mystery

4.0 10
by Frances Fyfield
     
 

Family fights, suicides, sirens, death, and even a ghost. Everything happens here …

Attorney Sarah Fortune is dispatched to a small coastal town to straighten out the financial affairs of the eccentric Pardoe family. The three siblings and their mother, who is suffering from dementia, own most of Merton on Sea. The business of the estate should be

…  See more details below

Overview

Family fights, suicides, sirens, death, and even a ghost. Everything happens here …

Attorney Sarah Fortune is dispatched to a small coastal town to straighten out the financial affairs of the eccentric Pardoe family. The three siblings and their mother, who is suffering from dementia, own most of Merton on Sea. The business of the estate should be simple enough, and Sarah sees the job as an opportunity for a mini-vacation—a chance to get out of the city.

But she soon discovers that the family, and the town itself, are afflicted by a past filled with guilt, pain, and unrequited love. Most haunting of all, though, is the legacy of a suicide that took place two years ago, when a beautiful woman with an uncanny resemblance to Sarah walked into the sea and never came back …

Fans of Ruth Rendell and Julia Spencer-Fleming will love this atmospheric psychological thriller.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
With this nimble meld of ghost story, moral fable and psychological drama, Fyfield ( Shadow Play ; Question of Guilt ) joins the ranks of those writers--Peter Dickinson and Michael Dibdin among them--who reinvent the genre with social commentary and impressionistic narrative brushstrokes. Red-haired Sarah Fortune, a young and effortlessly attractive widowed lawyer, goes to East Anglia to sort out the muddled legal affairs of the family of recently deceased Henry Pardoe. In the same seaside town two years earlier, red-haired Elisabeth Tysall committed suicide by drowning. A year later her husband Charles--who had also been violently obsessed with Sarah--did the same, walking into the sea. While villagers report sightings of both Tysall ghosts, Sarah gradually discerns the twists within the troubled Pardoe family. She deals with a pouting, brutal younger son, a bitter older son (a doctor and once the lover of Elisabeth Tysall) and a teenaged daughter in love with a local boy; the widow Pardoe appears to be over-the-top loony. Honing in on their secrets, Sarah gradually reveals secrets of her own. This is a complex, unsettling novel. (Apr.)
Library Journal
Another psychological mystery for readers who appreciate a protagonist with a lawyerly viewpoint. Sarah Fortune's law firm posts her to a seaside town to do estate work for a peculiar family characterized by weird members and dangerous secrets.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062301345
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/18/2014
Series:
Sarah Fortune Mysteries , #2
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
100
Sales rank:
105,004
File size:
545 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Frances Fyfield has spent much of her professional life practicing as a criminal lawyer, work that has informed her highly acclaimed novels. She has been the recipient of both the Gold and Silver Crime Writers' Association Daggers. She is also a regular broadcaster on Radio 4, most recently as the presenter of the series Tales from the Stave. She lives in London and in Deal, overlooking the sea, which is her passion.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >