Perfectly Pure and Good: A Sarah Fortune Mystery [NOOK Book]

Overview

Family fights, suicides, sirens, death, and even a ghost. Everything happens here …

Attorney Sarah Fortune is dispatched to a small coastal town to straighten out the financial affairs of the eccentric Pardoe family. The three siblings and their mother, who is suffering from dementia, own most of Merton on Sea. The business of the estate should be simple enough, and Sarah sees the job as an opportunity for a mini-vacation—a chance to get out of...

See more details below
Perfectly Pure and Good: A Sarah Fortune Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

Family fights, suicides, sirens, death, and even a ghost. Everything happens here …

Attorney Sarah Fortune is dispatched to a small coastal town to straighten out the financial affairs of the eccentric Pardoe family. The three siblings and their mother, who is suffering from dementia, own most of Merton on Sea. The business of the estate should be simple enough, and Sarah sees the job as an opportunity for a mini-vacation—a chance to get out of the city.

But she soon discovers that the family, and the town itself, are afflicted by a past filled with guilt, pain, and unrequited love. Most haunting of all, though, is the legacy of a suicide that took place two years ago, when a beautiful woman with an uncanny resemblance to Sarah walked into the sea and never came back …

Fans of Ruth Rendell and Julia Spencer-Fleming will love this atmospheric psychological thriller.

From the author of Shadow Play and the winner of the Silver Dagger award comes a new thriller. Settling a family-estate litigation, London solicitor Sarah Fortune encounters a chilling domestic drama involving madness, suicide--and a violent white-haired ghost on the prowl.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
With this nimble meld of ghost story, moral fable and psychological drama, Fyfield ( Shadow Play ; Question of Guilt ) joins the ranks of those writers--Peter Dickinson and Michael Dibdin among them--who reinvent the genre with social commentary and impressionistic narrative brushstrokes. Red-haired Sarah Fortune, a young and effortlessly attractive widowed lawyer, goes to East Anglia to sort out the muddled legal affairs of the family of recently deceased Henry Pardoe. In the same seaside town two years earlier, red-haired Elisabeth Tysall committed suicide by drowning. A year later her husband Charles--who had also been violently obsessed with Sarah--did the same, walking into the sea. While villagers report sightings of both Tysall ghosts, Sarah gradually discerns the twists within the troubled Pardoe family. She deals with a pouting, brutal younger son, a bitter older son (a doctor and once the lover of Elisabeth Tysall) and a teenaged daughter in love with a local boy; the widow Pardoe appears to be over-the-top loony. Honing in on their secrets, Sarah gradually reveals secrets of her own. This is a complex, unsettling novel. (Apr.)
Library Journal
Another psychological mystery for readers who appreciate a protagonist with a lawyerly viewpoint. Sarah Fortune's law firm posts her to a seaside town to do estate work for a peculiar family characterized by weird members and dangerous secrets.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062301345
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 2/18/2014
  • Series: Sarah Fortune Mysteries , #2
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 100
  • Sales rank: 57,609
  • File size: 532 KB

Meet the Author

Frances Fyfield has spent much of her professional life practicing as a criminal lawyer, work that has informed her highly acclaimed novels. She has been the recipient of both the Gold and Silver Crime Writers' Association Daggers. She is also a regular broadcaster on Radio 4, most recently as the presenter of the series Tales from the Stave. She lives in London and in Deal, overlooking the sea, which is her passion.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Xio

    Full name: classified. Gender: Female. Height: shortish. Not midget short. Just slightly below average. Build: well-built. Pretty muscular. Looks: tan skin. brown hair with natural black highlight and one cobalt blue streak. icy blue eyes. always wears combat boots. always has knife in a sheath at her belt. Things you need to know: Don't mess with her. She can be dangerous.

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Jenna

    Name: Jenna. Age: old enough. Gender: youre an idiot. Desc: short spiked black hair, vivid turqoise eyes, silvery skin. leather jacket, black tshirt, blue jeans, black converse, black leather gloves, twin swords across her back. Personality: random. Family: she was disowned. No longer matters. History: dont ask. Power: figure it out. Other: try not to piss her off. One thing she didnt lose from her family was their temper.

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Eris' bio

    Age: 16/ height: 6'/ weight: 120 pounds/ race: alien; caitian/ appearance: she wears a red skintight jumpsuit with a yellow belt and red boots connected to her jumpsuit. The chest area is white. She wears a blue necklace with a gold bell around her neck. She has a hole in her suit for a tail, as golden blond as the cat ears on her head, and hair of the same color. She also has eyes of a deep jade green./ anything else, ask.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Zoes Bio

    Name: Zoe Bensson****Age: around 14-15 ish******Looks: small frame, pale creamy skin, light green eyes and light brown hair tha falls to her waist. Anythibg else ask

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Piper's Bio

    Okay hello my name is Piper. I have blue eyes and blonde hair. I can control water. Yeah.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Casey

    Please don't make me. I hate bios!

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Hi

    Jbggg.n

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)