Persuasive Evidence (A Jordan La Fontaine Legal Thriller)

Persuasive Evidence (A Jordan La Fontaine Legal Thriller)

5.0 5
by R. Barri Flowers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

It is five years before the millennium and Multnomah County Deputy District Attorney Jordan La Fontaine is in line to be the next Chief of the Homicide Division Bureau. But Jordan�s world turns upside down when her teenage son is accused of a double homicide and her competition for the post, Jerrod Wresler, is assigned to prosecute the case. She enlists the services…  See more details below

Overview

It is five years before the millennium and Multnomah County Deputy District Attorney Jordan La Fontaine is in line to be the next Chief of the Homicide Division Bureau. But Jordan�s world turns upside down when her teenage son is accused of a double homicide and her competition for the post, Jerrod Wresler, is assigned to prosecute the case. She enlists the services of Simon McNeil, her late husband�s law partner, to defend him.

At the same time, Jordan is preparing to try a decorated Portland police detective, Graham Turner, accused of viciously murdering his ex-wife. Causing Jordan further grief is Turner�s hardnosed partner, Detective Harry Coleman, who will stop at nothing to prove his innocence.

As Jordan moves back and forth between the two tough cases and deals with issues in her personal life, she must use all her resources to clear her son�s name and convict a cop of murder.

PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE is the first in an exciting new legal crime series from the bestselling author of STATE�S EVIDENCE and JUSTICE SERVED.

PRAISE FOR PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE:

�Compelling detective mystery.� � The Best Reviews

�A superb legal thriller.� � Midwest Book Review

�Raw, primal, thrilling, incredible�one of the best books that I have read. I was completely riveted from the first page.� � Romance Reader at Heart

�It has all the aspects of a perfect mystery, and thankfully, it isn�t so predictable you figure out what�s going on.� � RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

�An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein.� � Harriet Klausner

�Interesting �whodunit� that kept me guessing until the end...found the story to be quite engaging with all around solid pacing, plot and delivery.� � APOOO BookClub

�An absorbing legal thriller... Flowers� forte lies in the vivid well-developed characters he creates. The interactions of his characters and the conflicts that arise serve to make the story a compelling page-turner.� � Romance in Color

�All the elements of a great mystery book, suspicions, red herrings, evidence and witnesses. If you are into mysteries, this would be the book for you.� � Romance Review

�A story that keeps you on the edge of your seat.... A page turning story I couldn�t put down.� � Romance Junkies

PRAISE FOR OTHER LEGAL AND THRILLER FICTION BY R. BARRI FLOWERS:

�Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations.� � Midwest Book Review on STATE�S EVIDENCE

�An electrifying and enthralling legal thriller that will appeal to readers of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg and Barbara Parker. The courtroom scenes are very realistic and the heroine is someone readers will empathize with and admire as a role model for minorities and women.� � Harriet Klausner on STATE�S EVIDENCE

�Justice Served is a model of crime fiction.... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices.� � Statesman Journal on JUSTICE SERVED

�A clever mystery with many suspects.... Vividly written, this book holds the reader�s attention and speeds along.� � Romantic Times on JUSTICE SERVED

�A masterful thriller set in the dark underbelly of Maui, with lots of fine action, down and dirty characters, and the vivid details of police procedure. A terrific read!� � Douglas Preston, co-creator of the bestselling Pendergast series of novels on MURDER IN MAUI.

� Gripping writing, wonderfully rounded characters you really care about, and vivid locations...this novel is a real and rare treat.� � Peter James, bestselling author of Dead Simple on MURDER IN MAUI

�A steamy, non-stop thrill-ride through the seamy underbelly of Hawaii.� � Allison Leotta, federal sex crimes prosecutor and author of Law of Attraction on MURDER IN MAUI

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012902009
Publisher:
R. Barri Flowers
Publication date:
08/21/2013
Series:
Jordan La Fontaine Legal Thrillers , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
386,443
File size:
244 KB

Meet the Author

R. Barri Flowers is an award winning criminologist and bestselling author of legal thrillers, mystery fiction for adults and young adults, and true crime books. Recent fiction books include KILLER IN THE WOODS, MURDER IN MAUI, STATE�S EVIDENCE, JUSTICE SERVED, DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY, DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL, GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY, AND DANGER IN TIME.

His nonfiction works include PROSTITUTION IN THE DIGITAL AGE, THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS, COLLEGE CRIME, MALE CRIME AND DEVIANCE, and KIDS WHO COMMIT ADULT CRIMES.

The author has appeared on the Biography Channel�s Crime Stories and Investigation Discovery�s Wicked Attraction series, and been interviewed by ABC News. Flowers lives in the Pacific Northwest, but spends a lot of time in Hawaii and traveling abroad. Connect with the author online through Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Goodreads, LibraryThing, MySpace, CrimeSpace, and www.rbarriflowers.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this novel. Suspenseful, intriguing, and riveting at times. Great plot....had a hard time putting it down. This author really did some research to make this stiry believable. Read it!!! You wont be sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A superb legal thriller! A deputy district attorney rise up the ladder takes a hit when her son is charged with a double homicide. At the same time, she is set to prosecute a cop accused of brutally murdering his ex wife. Both cases are riveting as she goes up against a rival in court and must try to keep her family together and a romance going as a killer targets her. Fans of John Grisham, Linda Fairstein, and Robert Tanenbaum will love this legal novel. Also recommend Flowers legal thrillers, JUSTICE SERVED and STATE'S EVIDENCE.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Persuasive Eveidence is a must read. I could not put this book down it was that great.R. Barri Flowers has done it again with another legal thriller!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Up in the sky is not where i wanted to be but I was flying to Australia and this book was a great diversion. It had great suspense and it was charmingly romantic and clever. Something everybody likes. It took me to another world and the story was great. This author is becoming my favorite along with Tom Clancy and Steven King and also Dean Coontz. Had to take time out of my busy schedule to give praise to where it is due and to let people know about this great writer. Good reading.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Assistant District Attorneys Jordan La Fontaine and Jerrod Wresler compete for the position of Chief, Homicide Division Bureau, but the former believes being a black female works against her while the latter believes that gives her an edge. Jordan currently works the case of a Portland homicide detective killing his former wife. If she gets a conviction she has the promotion. This is an open and shut case because the police officer was found in his ex-spouse¿s bedroom covered in blood and holding the murder weapon..................................... Jordan¿s son Trevor is charged with killing two acquaintances. The police have not found the murder weapon, but have an eyewitness who claims seeing the suspect leave the crime scene and a victim¿s blood is on Trevor¿s clothing. Others claim he had a fight with one of the dead victims and said the guy was going to die. Defending Trevor in what also appears to be an open and shut case is Simon, former partner of the suspect¿s dead father and his mother¿s lover. Unable to remain on the sidelines, Jordan conducts her own sleuthing independent of the official investigation.............................. R. Barri Flowers has written a superb legal thriller that offers the reader an excellent look at the jurisprudence system and how race is a key card. Jordan received the cop case because she and the detective are black; the victim being white apparently is irrelevant. What is interesting is how concealed the race element is yet how significant it effects all aspects of the legal system, but is kept silent for fear of reprisal. PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein................................. Harriet Klausner