×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Pet Peeves: Or Whatever Happened to Doctor Rawff?
     

Pet Peeves: Or Whatever Happened to Doctor Rawff?

by George Plimpton, Edward Koren (Illustrator)
 
Pet Peeves is a brilliantly constructed, goofy mystery story in which readers are invited to figure out exactly what has happened to Dr. Rawff, a pet-problem advice columnist and veterinarian who is found missing from his office. The book consists of a series of letters written to Dr. Rawff in which increasingly bizarre problems are recounted. Among the problematic

Overview

Pet Peeves is a brilliantly constructed, goofy mystery story in which readers are invited to figure out exactly what has happened to Dr. Rawff, a pet-problem advice columnist and veterinarian who is found missing from his office. The book consists of a series of letters written to Dr. Rawff in which increasingly bizarre problems are recounted. Among the problematic pets described is a dog who seems intent on being human (acting suspiciously like Marcel Proust), an alligator who seems to be starting her own alligator farm in her owner's basement, and a frog who appears to long to be kissed. As the letters advance, the reader is given clues as to what may have caused Dr. Rawff's mysterious disappearance. The whimsy of George Plimpton, a writer known for his style and rich imagination, is matched up with one of The New Yorker magazine's favorite cartoonists, Edward Koren. Koren's ridiculously funny, hairy animals and people perfectly illustrate the unusual pets of Plimpton's letters. This is a book for fans of Henry Beard's French for Cats and Peter Mayle's A Dog's Life, a book for pet lovers and people who love their pets too much.

Editorial Reviews

Barnes & Noble, Inc.
Bookseller Reviews

The life of Dr. Rawff began to be slightly abnormal not long after he received the letter about the piano playing great dane. Of course, veterinarian advice columnists do receive their share of odd correspondence, but the contests of Dr. Rawff's mail bag gradually became nothing short of loony. The canine who mimicked Marcel Proust; the frog who yearned for a kiss, quite another. And then, Dr. Rawff, quite impolitely, disappeared. What are we to make of this? Gentle laughs; that's what.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780871138200
Publisher:
Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Publication date:
08/21/2000
Edition description:
1 ED
Pages:
80
Product dimensions:
5.56(w) x 7.76(h) x 0.51(d)

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
March 18, 1927
Date of Death:
September 25, 2003
Place of Birth:
New York, NY
Place of Death:
New York, NY
Education:
B.A. in English Literature, Harvard University, 1950; Master's degree, Cambridge University, 1952

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews