Pink Me Up

( 6 )

Overview

For pink-obsessed Violet Bunny, attending the Pink Girls Pink-nic and Tea Party with her mama is the best day of the year-you should see her outfit! It's always been girls-only, and pink-pink-pink. But when Mama wakes up with pink spots, the day seems ruined-until Daddy steps in to take her place. But Daddy is a boy, and not at all pink. What to do? Why, pink him up, of course. And with stickers, glitter, ribbons, and tape, the pink-nic becomes a daddy-daughter outing, and Violet's pinked-up daddy is the hit of ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (37) from $1.99   
  • New (16) from $4.52   
  • Used (21) from $1.99   
Pink Me Up

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

For pink-obsessed Violet Bunny, attending the Pink Girls Pink-nic and Tea Party with her mama is the best day of the year-you should see her outfit! It's always been girls-only, and pink-pink-pink. But when Mama wakes up with pink spots, the day seems ruined-until Daddy steps in to take her place. But Daddy is a boy, and not at all pink. What to do? Why, pink him up, of course. And with stickers, glitter, ribbons, and tape, the pink-nic becomes a daddy-daughter outing, and Violet's pinked-up daddy is the hit of the party. Violet realizes she can pink up anything-and she will! Here's a bunny-funny, sweet offering sure to please daughters and parents.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Harper (the Fashion Kitty series) delivers a frothy tale that will most appeal to girls with an untiring love of all things pink. Clad ears to toe in that color, a rabbit is excited that the day of the “Pink Girls Pink-nic” has arrived, until Mama wakes up sick (“Why is Mama wearing pink spots? Did you put them on specially for the party?”). When Daddy offers to accompany the girl instead, she'll have none of it, exclaiming “Boys are NOT pink!” A pink necktie isn't quite enough, but after he announces, “We just have to pink me up,” she decorates his clothes with pink marker, tape, and stickers and deems him “perfectly pink.” He's a hit at the party—and she's the envy of all her friends. Rendered in acrylic, Harper's characteristically unadorned, childlike cartoons add to the book's whimsy and rosy exaggeration (exclamation points and the color pink go hand in hand, and both are used with abandon). Even readers who aren't as single-minded when it comes to colors will empathize with the heroine's emotional highs and lows. Ages 5–8. (Feb.)
From the Publisher
Review, Publishers Weekly, January 18, 2010:
"A frothy tale that will most appeal to girls with an untiring love of all things pink."
School Library Journal
PreS-K—Violet is looking forward to attending the "Pink Girls Pink-nic" with her mom. Dressed from head to toe in her favorite color, she thinks about the crafts they will make and the games they will play. All that changes when her mom wakes up that morning covered with pink spots. The only other female in the family is the cat, but Pinky can't take her. Fortunately, Violet's dad doesn't mind wearing pink for the day, and, of course, he's the hit of the party. Rendered in acrylics, the illustrations are humorous and lively. Fans of Victoria Kann and Elizabeth Kann's Pinkalicious (HarperCollins, 2006) will enjoy this pink-themed tale.—Tanya Boudreau, Cold Lake Public Library, AB, Canada
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780375856075
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 2/23/2010
  • Pages: 40
  • Sales rank: 520,342
  • Age range: 5 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 7.90 (w) x 10.10 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

Charise Mericle Harper, whose actual favorite color is "a sad blue," is the creator of Fashion Kitty, the "astute and empathic" When Randolph Turned Rotten (Publishers Weekly, Starred), and many other fun and splendidly clever books for kids.

The idea for Pink Me Up came from a TV show Charise likes in which old or plain cars are made fancy and special. This got her to wondering: hmm . . . what else could you fancy up? How about a dad? And to Charise, fancy = pink (especially the glittery kind).

Charise likes eating pink cupcakes and wearing pink clothes, but she does think there can sometimes be too much pink. Especially when it comes to sunburns!

Charise shares her home in Mamaroneck, New York, with her husband (who would be pinked up), their daughter (semi-pink), son (he's not pink!), and cat (hmm . . . maybe).

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    so cute

    my 3 y/o daughter randomly pulled this off the shelf at the library and it has become one of our favorites. we had to buy our own copy! a simple, adorable and unique story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    My 4 yr old daughter has enjoyed this book

    The story is cute and one that little princess girls will just love. What could be better than a dad who dresses up in pink for his little girl?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good book

    Omg my little sis is just OBSESSED with this book! It was a nice heart-warming book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Great Gift

    Got this as a birthday present for a 4 yr. old granddaugher - she loves it - was a good choice, especially since she selected it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A fun read!

    My granddaughter loves Pink and all of these type books; a fun read for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Umm

    I like this book a little

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)