Pink Me Up

Pink Me Up

4.1 8
by Charise Mericle Harper
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For pink-obsessed Violet Bunny, attending the Pink Girls Pink-nic and Tea Party with her mama is the best day of the year-you should see her outfit! It's always been girls-only, and pink-pink-pink. But when Mama wakes up with pink spots, the day seems ruined-until Daddy steps in to take her place. But Daddy is a boy, and not at all pink. What to do? Why, pink him

Overview

For pink-obsessed Violet Bunny, attending the Pink Girls Pink-nic and Tea Party with her mama is the best day of the year-you should see her outfit! It's always been girls-only, and pink-pink-pink. But when Mama wakes up with pink spots, the day seems ruined-until Daddy steps in to take her place. But Daddy is a boy, and not at all pink. What to do? Why, pink him up, of course. And with stickers, glitter, ribbons, and tape, the pink-nic becomes a daddy-daughter outing, and Violet's pinked-up daddy is the hit of the party. Violet realizes she can pink up anything-and she will! Here's a bunny-funny, sweet offering sure to please daughters and parents.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Harper (the Fashion Kitty series) delivers a frothy tale that will most appeal to girls with an untiring love of all things pink. Clad ears to toe in that color, a rabbit is excited that the day of the “Pink Girls Pink-nic” has arrived, until Mama wakes up sick (“Why is Mama wearing pink spots? Did you put them on specially for the party?”). When Daddy offers to accompany the girl instead, she'll have none of it, exclaiming “Boys are NOT pink!” A pink necktie isn't quite enough, but after he announces, “We just have to pink me up,” she decorates his clothes with pink marker, tape, and stickers and deems him “perfectly pink.” He's a hit at the party—and she's the envy of all her friends. Rendered in acrylic, Harper's characteristically unadorned, childlike cartoons add to the book's whimsy and rosy exaggeration (exclamation points and the color pink go hand in hand, and both are used with abandon). Even readers who aren't as single-minded when it comes to colors will empathize with the heroine's emotional highs and lows. Ages 5–8. (Feb.)
From the Publisher
Review, Publishers Weekly, January 18, 2010:
"A frothy tale that will most appeal to girls with an untiring love of all things pink."
School Library Journal
PreS-K—Violet is looking forward to attending the "Pink Girls Pink-nic" with her mom. Dressed from head to toe in her favorite color, she thinks about the crafts they will make and the games they will play. All that changes when her mom wakes up that morning covered with pink spots. The only other female in the family is the cat, but Pinky can't take her. Fortunately, Violet's dad doesn't mind wearing pink for the day, and, of course, he's the hit of the party. Rendered in acrylics, the illustrations are humorous and lively. Fans of Victoria Kann and Elizabeth Kann's Pinkalicious (HarperCollins, 2006) will enjoy this pink-themed tale.—Tanya Boudreau, Cold Lake Public Library, AB, Canada

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375983344
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
03/16/2011
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
40
File size:
9 MB
Age Range:
5 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Charise Mericle Harper, whose actual favorite color is "a sad blue," is the creator of Fashion Kitty, the "astute and empathic" When Randolph Turned Rotten (Publishers Weekly, Starred), and many other fun and splendidly clever books for kids.

The idea for Pink Me Up came from a TV show Charise likes in which old or plain cars are made fancy and special. This got her to wondering: hmm . . . what else could you fancy up? How about a dad? And to Charise, fancy = pink (especially the glittery kind).

Charise likes eating pink cupcakes and wearing pink clothes, but she does think there can sometimes be too much pink. Especially when it comes to sunburns!

Charise shares her home in Mamaroneck, New York, with her husband (who would be pinked up), their daughter (semi-pink), son (he's not pink!), and cat (hmm . . . maybe).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Pink Me Up 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my 3 y/o daughter randomly pulled this off the shelf at the library and it has become one of our favorites. we had to buy our own copy! a simple, adorable and unique story.
MMsMom More than 1 year ago
The story is cute and one that little princess girls will just love. What could be better than a dad who dresses up in pink for his little girl?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg my little sis is just OBSESSED with this book! It was a nice heart-warming book. :)
JimFree More than 1 year ago
Got this as a birthday present for a 4 yr. old granddaugher - she loves it - was a good choice, especially since she selected it.
pldiddy More than 1 year ago
My granddaughter loves Pink and all of these type books; a fun read for sure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I guess well it is tots like my bro. He ALWAYS want my dad to pick his dumb body upon him d carry him around like a little baby.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im bi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book a little