×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Piper Reed, Forever Friend
     

Piper Reed, Forever Friend

5.0 4
by Kimberly Willis Holt, Christine Davenier (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Piper Reed is excited to move to a new state and catch up with old friends. But the move doesn't go as smoothly as she expected: Piper has trouble feeling accepted in her new surroundings. But then she meets Arizona Smiley. Arizona is an avid stamp collector and bowls in a league. Piper is intrigued by Arizona's originality and before long, she wins Arizona's

Overview

Piper Reed is excited to move to a new state and catch up with old friends. But the move doesn't go as smoothly as she expected: Piper has trouble feeling accepted in her new surroundings. But then she meets Arizona Smiley. Arizona is an avid stamp collector and bowls in a league. Piper is intrigued by Arizona's originality and before long, she wins Arizona's affections, and the two become great friends. This move turns out to be the best one yet, and in Kimberly Willis Holt's Piper Reed, Forever Friend, Piper is eager to spread her trademark "Get Off the Bus" catchphrase once again.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner . . . Holt relays quotidian events with humor and insight.” —Publishers Weekly on Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“Launching a new series, Piper's foray sets sail with verve, fun, and spunk.” —Kirkus Reviews on Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“This appealing Navy family is loving without being cloying, strong without being perfect, and optimistic without seeming unbelievable. We salute you, Piper! On to the next adventure!” —The Horn Book on Piper Reed, the Great Gypsy

“Piper Reed is back and is as charming as ever. . . . A natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.” —School Library Journal on Piper Reed Gets a Job

Children's Literature - Avee Gee
Ever wonder what life was like for a navy brat? In the sixth book of the "Piper Reed" series, she is moving yet again. After fifteen months in Pensacola Florida, her family including her dad-Chief, mother, her humorless teenage older sister, Tori, and her younger sister Sam are moving to Norfolk Virginia. Bruna, their dog moves with them but Sam must leave her pet goldfish behind. Piper leaves her best friends Stanley and Hailey and her beloved Gypsy Club. Piper hopes to reinstate her Gypsy club with fellow members, the twins Michael and Nicole who recently moved to Norfolk. To her dismay, Piper finds out that that not only are the twins not in her class, they do not even go to the same school, or live in the same neighborhood. When she finally meets up with them, she realizes their interests have changed and they no longer want to be part of the Gypsy Club. At first, her neighbor Arizona does not seem to be the kind of friend Piper would like. Arizona nicknames her "Snapper" and concludes that Piper has "Newkiditis. Now Piper is on a mission to be the champion of new kids everywhere. With gusto, Piper joins Arizona's stamp-collecting club and bowling league, if only to prove that she does know what it is like to be a new kid. Piper's bragging about her bowling skills almost gets her into trouble, but all ends well when she visualizes herself bowling a strike successfully. Military children as well as anyone who has had to move frequently will identify with Piper. The simple plot and language may appeal more to younger readers. Reviewer: Avee Gee

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781250027252
Publisher:
Square Fish
Publication date:
05/28/2013
Series:
Piper Reed Series , #6
Edition description:
STRIPPABLE
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
642,880
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.00(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
8 - 11 Years

Read an Excerpt

1

A Fish Tale

 

 

In December, Chief got his new orders from the U.S. Navy. We were moving to Norfolk, Virginia. I’d be saying good-bye to the Gypsy Club that I started here, but since Michael and his twin sister, Nicole, had moved to Norfolk last month, I already had two friends there. Enough for a new Gypsy Club. I couldn’t wait for my new adventure to begin.

When we moved to Pensacola, Florida, fifteen months ago, there’d been five of us—Chief, Mom, my sisters Tori and Sam, and me. Now two more had joined our family—our dog, Bruna, and Sam’s goldfish, Peaches the Second.

Bruna would be moving with us, but not Peaches the Second. Sam pitched a big fit when Chief broke the news. “That’s not fair! Just because Peaches the Second is a fish?”

“Sam, just think about it,” I said. “This is what it would be like for Peaches the Second trapped in a plastic bag on a long car ride.” I sucked in my cheeks and crossed my eyes. Then I rocked side to side.

Even Tori glanced up from her poetry book and laughed. And she hardly ever cracked up at anything I did. I guess thirteen-year-olds don’t have a sense of humor. At least I had three years to go before I lost mine.

Chief patted the spot next to him on the couch. “Come here, Sam.”

Sam plopped near him, but crossed her arms over her chest. “But, Daddy, what’s going to happen to Peaches the Second?”

I placed my hands over my heart, trying to look sad like someone at a funeral. “Most goldfish eventually experience the great flush in the sky,” I said.

“The what?” Sam asked.

My fingers flushed an imaginary commode handle in the air, and I said, “Ker-plunk!

Sam burst into tears.

Tori slammed her book shut. “Piper Reed, you are mean!”

“Piper,” Chief said, “you aren’t helping matters.” He wrapped his arm around Sam and said, “Sweetheart, the drive would be too long for Peaches.”

“Peaches the Second,” Sam corrected him.

Chief hit his forehead with a flat palm. “Of course, Peaches the Second.” Then he winked at me. “Yes, she could … uh…”

I began to sing the only funeral song I could remember. “In the sweet by and by…”

Chief lowered his eyebrows at me just as Mom walked into the room with a laundry basket.

“Why don’t you give Peaches the Second to Brady?” I asked.

“That’s a great idea, Piper,” Mom said. “Brady loves Peaches.”

“THE SECOND!” Sam yelled.

Mom sighed. She was sorting through the laundry, tossing the unmatched socks into a pile. Chief kept a sack of unmatched socks and tried to match them up each time he did laundry. He called it the Single Sock Looking for Love Sack. Mom ignored the sack and threw them into her art bag for sock puppets or some other art class project.

When Tori had found out, she’d said, “Mom’s and Dad’s sock systems totally contradict each other.”

“Yep,” I’d said, “and that’s why the Reed family goes around sockless most of the time.”

Then Mom pitched one of my favorite socks in her art project pile, the one with jets all over it.

“Wait!” I dashed across the room and rescued it. Once the sock was safe in my hands, I asked Sam, “So what do you think about giving her to Brady?”

“But I don’t want to give Peaches the Second to him,” Sam whined. “Then I won’t have a fish.” She puckered up her lips and started that pretend cry she used whenever she couldn’t get the tears to come.

Chief stood up and headed toward the kitchen. “Sam, if you give your fish to Brady, we’ll buy you a new one when we get to Norfolk.”

Sam wiped her phony tears with her shirttail. “How about two?”

The pantry door squeaked open, and Chief pulled out a loaf of bread. “Okay, two goldfish.”

Sam should be a lawyer. She knew how to get Chief to cave in. He was at his weakest when he was hungry.

“Everyone grab a plate,” Chief called out. “I’m making tuna fish salad sandwiches for dinner tonight.”

“What?” Sam squealed. “How could you?”

“Chief didn’t say goldfish sandwiches.” A picture of Peaches the Second flopping between two pieces of rye bread flashed in my mind, and I started laughing.

“What’s so funny?” Sam asked.

“Nothing,” I said. “It’s kind of a private joke.”

Tori chuckled. “That sounds fishy.”

Even I cracked up. That was the first time in her entire life my big sister, Tori Reed, said anything funny.

 

Text copyright © 2012 by Kimberly Willis Holt

Illustrations copyright © 2012 by Christine Davenier

Meet the Author

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the other books in the Piper Reed series and has written many acclaimed novels, including The Water Seeker. She lives in West Texas.
Christine Davenier has illustrated many books for young readers, as well as the books in the Piper Reed series. She lives in Paris, France.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Piper Reed, Forever Friend 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these books i read them on my nook all the time piper reed i like to show my friends i think they are the best 3rd grade book ever its the best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book and the other books are ssssssooooo good.if you read the first one you will read the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey you can call me sirensinger#1! I was looking at this book and was wondering if anyone could give me a review on how good the book was anyone could respond! Just tell me if the book is good or not, and respond in a review. I will write back in a review thanks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago