×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles
     

Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles

5.0 3
by Douglas Florian
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the vein of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, this illustrated book of humorous poems will guarantee giggles

Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian successfully captures the comedy of kids’ everyday lives with this jam-packed volume of 170 nonsense poems. Meander through the different aisles—such as “Jests &

Overview

In the vein of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, this illustrated book of humorous poems will guarantee giggles

Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian successfully captures the comedy of kids’ everyday lives with this jam-packed volume of 170 nonsense poems. Meander through the different aisles—such as “Jests & Jives” or “Tons of Puns”—to find everything from laugh-out-loud limericks to frenetic free verse. With Florian’s eccentric wit and off-the-wall drawings, this one-stop funny poetry shop is perfect for fans of Where the Sidewalk Ends.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
11/11/2013
Ludicrous dilemmas, oddball situations, and quirky twists of fate feature heavily in Florian’s poems, which are accompanied by his thickly scrawled b&w drawings (not all seen by PW). Instead of chapters, Florian groups his verse into the “aisles” of the eponymous store, and as the first entry explains, this collection is all about silliness and fun: “There’s laughs galore/ Inside this store/ And fun that runs for miles.” The categories are somewhat arbitrary (the poems in “Tons of Puns” use few of them, for instance), but there are still plenty of laughs to be had as Florian puts a clever spin on some traditional nursery rhymes (“Old Mother Hubbard/ Went to the cupboard/ To fetch her poor dog a bone./ But when she got there/ The cupboard was bare./ She ordered Chinese on the phone”), deploys an array of limericks and jokes-in-verse, and introduces a bevy of strange creatures: “What does a/ Baga Baga/ Dinga Donga do?/ I’m not sure, but/ There’s one behind you!” Ages 9–11. (Feb.)
From the Publisher
Praise for Poem Depot:

"Plenty of laughs to be had."—Publishers Weekly

"More than one reviewer has already noted that fans of Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends or A Light in the Attic might also enjoy Douglas Florian’s Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles."—Julie Danielson (of Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast) in Kirkus Reviews

"With a strong thread of wordplay, the poems will amuse children while also challenging them to think, making this an appealing source of short verse to memorize and an enjoyable collection of poetry to read just for fun."—Booklist

"The verse here ranges from screwball nursery rhymes to free verse, limericks and even a Ben Franklin aphorism...it's not Chaucer, but it's diverting."—The Wall Street Journal

"Echoes of Shel Silverstein’s brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian’s 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse."—School Library Journal

School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 2–5—Echoes of Shel Silverstein's brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian's 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse. Thick ink illustrations add to the look and feel of a coloring book while a simple font enhances the readability of literary comestibles sure to delight and please while augmenting developing language skills. Chapter headings include "Chortles & Chuckles," "Funny Bones & Belly Laughs," "Jests & Jives," and "Tons of Puns." The poems are brief in length and long on fun. The first selection, "Welcome," says it all: "Welcome to the Poem Depot-/Relax and stay a while./When you walk in/You'll surely grin,/And leave wearing a smile."—Magdaline Henderson-Diman, formerly at Bass Harbor Memorial Library, Bernard, ME
Kirkus Reviews
2013-12-07
Gifted poet and illustrator Florian (Poem Runs: Baseball Poems, 2012, etc.) here presents a chunky collection of drawings and brief poems on a host of silly subjects. Posited as a superstore of verse on assorted topics children care about--school, family, animals, food and the like--one also can't help thinking this "depot" represents a midway point for a number of poems that haven't quite reached their creative destinations. To be truly effective, light or nonsensical verse should be as tight in its poetic construction as it is loosely suggestive in metaphorical associations, and a number of the works assembled here simply read as not fully cooked. The volume's more successful poems tend to employ wordplay to elicit a chuckle or illustrate delightfully nonsensical truisms about language, as in "Insect Asides": "A dragonfly is not a fly. / It's not a dragon either. / No butter on a butterfly, / And bees cannot spell neither." Likewise, when paired well, Florian's free-form pen-and-ink drawings enhance the whimsical nature of the fanciful scenes depicted. In "Pets," a creepy drawing of a girl with hairy spiders crawling all over her face offers a convincing explanation for the accompanying poem's punch line: "Bruce has ten pet roosters. / Ben has ten pet hens. / Fran has ten tarantulas, / But not too many friends." Overall, a thick collection of humorous verse that might have been funnier with thinner ambitions. (Poetry. 9-11)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803740426
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
02/20/2014
Pages:
160
Sales rank:
715,510
Product dimensions:
7.00(w) x 9.40(h) x 0.80(d)
Lexile:
NP (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
Praise for Poem Depot:

"Plenty of laughs to be had."—Publishers Weekly

"More than one reviewer has already noted that fans of Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends or A Light in the Attic might also enjoy Douglas Florian’s Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles."—Julie Danielson (of Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast) in Kirkus Reviews

"With a strong thread of wordplay, the poems will amuse children while also challenging them to think, making this an appealing source of short verse to memorize and an enjoyable collection of poetry to read just for fun."—Booklist

"The verse here ranges from screwball nursery rhymes to free verse, limericks and even a Ben Franklin aphorism...it's not Chaucer, but it's diverting."—The Wall Street Journal

"Echoes of Shel Silverstein’s brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian’s 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse."—School Library Journal

Meet the Author

Douglas Florian (douglasflorian.com) is an abstract artist, poet, and the author of over fifty children’s books. He lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
I love poetry books like this one. Short funny poems that make you smile. I think books like Poem Depot are a great way to get kids to read and think about poetry. The poems are short, fun to read and they all have nice black and white illustrations to go with them. Topics of the poem is anything and everything – from Spacemen to Mermaids – Broccoli to Cereal and beyond! Fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein (like me) will love this book. I like how there is an index to the poems in the back and also an index of first lines – very nice touch. *NOTE I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(No problem.) She smiled and hugged her.