Poems I Wrote When No One Was Looking

Poems I Wrote When No One Was Looking

3.6 3
by Alan Katz, Edward Koren
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Bestselling author Alan Katz, of Silly Dilly fame, knows kid humor, and he knows just what subjects are funniest—from school to siblings to sports, this assortment of spirited poetry has something for everyone. In the tradition of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, with black-and-white illustrations throughout, this collection of more than 100 poems will have

Overview

Bestselling author Alan Katz, of Silly Dilly fame, knows kid humor, and he knows just what subjects are funniest—from school to siblings to sports, this assortment of spirited poetry has something for everyone. In the tradition of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, with black-and-white illustrations throughout, this collection of more than 100 poems will have kids roaring with laughter!

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Katz and Koren follow up Oops! (2008) with another set of 100 or so rhymed (usually) knee-slappers paired to scribbly ink drawings. So brisk and varied is the mix of wordplay ("I don't like the ampersand. / You can't hold it in your h&"), family humor and short meditations on food preferences, procrastination, peculiar traits of sibs, why there's only one in a "pair" of underwear and like topics that it's hard to stop reading-or reading aloud, for that matter. It's all as child-friendly as can be, and the versifier's casual tone finds echoes in the illustrator's crosshatched sketches of figures showing a range of expressions while glancing bashfully or distractedly off to the side. As clever and funny as the poetry of Jack Prelutsky in his prime and less edgy than Shel Silverstein's, this deserves and should have no trouble drawing chuckles and belly laughs from a wide audience, even outside the confines of National Poetry Month. (Poetry. 7-11)
Publishers Weekly
Accompanied by Koren's impish, characteristically furry caricatures, Katz's comedic poems take aim at familiar experiences like family squabbling and avoiding homework, while offering child-centric observations about the world. In one, the speaker laments a sibling's painful violin playing: "She screeches and she scratches,/ and I know she's really trying./ Not sure if this is Clair de Lune,/ or outside, a cat's dying." Kids will revel in the gently wicked jokes ("Do not click!/ And do not clunk!/ I'm onomatopoeiaing") and mild gross-out gags ("Dad has a big nose./ Mom has a big nose..../ Mom or Dad's nose?/ I wouldn't pick either") that run throughout the collection. Ages 7–10. (Oct.)
From the Publisher
"Accompanied by Koren's impish, characteristically furry caricatures, Katz's comedic poems take aim at familiar experiences like family squabbling and avoiding homework, while offering child-centric observations about the world."
Publishers Weekly, July 2011

"I laughed out loud when I read the poems in this book, as did my students! B&W line drawings add to the humor and make the poems appealing to older students. Quite a few of the poems include mild bathroom humor, just the right type to appeal to upper elementary and middle school students."
—Library Media Connection, Jan/Feb 2012, Recommended

"As they did in Oops!, Katz and Koren once again craft a giggle-inducing collection of 100 humorous poems. . . . This collection should prove popular with readers who’ve enjoyed the work of Shel Silverstein, Jack Prelutsky, and Douglas Florian."
School Library Journal, November 2011

"The succinct verses derive humor from puns, family dynamics, and bathroom humor as well as a generous sprinkling of general silliness. This is solid ground for amusing grade-school poetry, as demonstrated by the likes of Jack Prelutsky and Douglas Florian."
BCCB, December 2011

Children's Literature - Patrice Belotte
Not everyone understands that poetry truly is a form of art. Paintings and pictures, sure—that's art. A beautiful sunset, a park full of pretty people, fall leaves, winter snow drifts—all images captured with a brush and paint. However, what about those other moments? The ones that happen every day, that are silly and common, and simple? That's where words have the upper hand in the realm of art. Granted, learning to spell Cincinnati isn't quite a blue night filled with stars, but it's kind of funny. And what about tricking mom and dad into letting you watch television until the next commercial...on commercial-free PBS? Katz catalogues all the silly, common, and even mundane moments of life in this hilarious collection of poetry. The greatest poets are remembered for their diction and detail that has captured the natural beauty of the world around us. However, Katz sees well beyond all of those pretty pictures and does something far more profound; he makes you laugh. Reading this collection is like looking into the mind of a child. Imagine reading all of his or her thoughts about the small moments throughout the day that seemed routine, or even ordinary. Each poem is accompanied by a black-and-white sketch that perfectly captures the mood and tone of each speaker or scenario. Reviewer: Patrice Belotte
School Library Journal
Gr 3–5—As they did in Oops! (S & S, 2008), Katz and Koren once again craft a giggle-inducing collection of 100 humorous poems. Koren's cross-hatched cartoons feature long-nosed, wild-haired figures that match the playful goings-on in poems like "Fridge-a-Dare," "It Embarrasses Me, A Latte," and "Using My Noodle." Many selections feature wordplay, as in "Come for a Spell," which gets mileage from the difficulties in spelling Cincinnati, or "Not-So-Special K," with its plea to drop the silent "k." Many play on bodily functions, such as "Pleasant Dreams, Unpleasant Streams": "When I change the baby,/I stand there and I pray/that he lets me do it quickly/and he doesn't start to spray." This collection should prove popular with readers who've enjoyed the work of Shel Silverstein, Jack Prelutsky, and Douglas Florian.—Marilyn Taniguchi, Beverly Hills Public Library, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781442402744
Publisher:
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication date:
10/25/2011
Sold by:
SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
160
Sales rank:
650,543
File size:
11 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Alan Katz has been a print and television comedy writer for more than twenty years. In addition to being a multiple Emmy nominee for his work on The Rosie O’Donnell Show and Disney’s “Raw Toonage,” he has written for children’s programming on Nickelodeon, ABC Television, Warner Brothers Animation’s Taz-Mania, and many others. Alan is the author of several adult humor books; he has written humorous essays for The New York Times and other publications. Alan lives in Weston, Connecticut, with his journalist wife, Rose, and their children Simone, Andrew, Nathan, and David. Visit him online at AlanKatzBooks.com.
Edward Koren may be best known for his work in the New Yorker magazine, where he has published nearly one thousand cartoons. He has written and illustrated several children's books, including Very Hairy Harry. He taught at Brown University and received a Guggenheim Fellowship. He lives with his family in Vermont.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Poems I Wrote When No One Was Looking 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an amazing sample! Its nothing!:(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Butt ass butt ass
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HI!