Poincare's Prize: The Hundred-Year Quest to Solve One of Math's Greatest Puzzles [NOOK Book]

Overview

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it



In the tradition of Fermat’s Enigma and Prime Obsession, George Szpiro brings to life the giants of mathematics who struggled to prove a theorem for a century and the mysterious man from St. Petersburg, Grigory Perelman, who fi nally accomplished the impossible. In ...
See more details below
Poincare's Prize: The Hundred-Year Quest to Solve One of Math's Greatest Puzzles

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it



In the tradition of Fermat’s Enigma and Prime Obsession, George Szpiro brings to life the giants of mathematics who struggled to prove a theorem for a century and the mysterious man from St. Petersburg, Grigory Perelman, who fi nally accomplished the impossible. In 1904 Henri Poincaré developed the Poincaré Conjecture, an attempt to understand higher-dimensional space and possibly the shape of the universe. The problem was he couldn’t prove it. A century later it was named a Millennium Prize problem, one of the seven hardest problems we can imagine. Now this holy grail of mathematics has been found.



Accessibly interweaving history and math, Szpiro captures the passion, frustration, and excitement of the hunt, and provides a fascinating portrait of a contemporary noble-genius.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Sylvia Nasar
[Szpiro] turns the abstract mathematics of spheres into a lucid, lovely romantic odyssey. (Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind)
Bud Mishra
A wonderful history of a great breakthrough. (Bud Mishra, professor, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781440634284
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 7/29/2008
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 320
  • File size: 459 KB

Meet the Author

George G. Szpiro is a mathematician and prizewinning journalist with an MBA from Stanford and a Ph.D. in mathematical economics from the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. His previous book, Kepler's Conjecture, was published in five languages to international critical acclaim.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Interesting

    A nice bit of popular science writing here. Lots of interesting
    background into the lives of mathmaticians and the drama
    of how they hunted for the solution to Poincares Conjecture.
    Even though its a popular science book and Szpiro doesn't
    inflict equations on you, there are parts where your brain is
    gonna heat up trying to follow along, but its an arcane area
    of math and Szpiro works hard to make it understandable
    for the interested layman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)