Poison, Your Grace

( 1 )
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (7) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $15.73   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   
Poison, Your Grace

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Simon Maldon, an apothecary’s apprentice, earned the trust of the future Elizabeth I in Herring’s first mystery, Her Highness’ First Murder (2010), set in 1546. Six years later, Simon’s and Elizabeth’s paths cross again in this engaging sequel after a murderer strikes in London’s Whitehall palace. It’s a particularly sensitive time, as England’s young ruler, Edward VI, is in failing health, and several would-be successors are vying for the throne. Many fear that the person who fatally poisoned Lord Amberson, a trusted adviser of the king’s, may have been trying to frame Elizabeth for the crime. When the king summons Simon’s master, Carthburt, to Whitehall to try to identify the agent of death, Simon goes along and gets involved in the inquiry. Herring does a nice job of making Elizabeth a plausible partner in detection and the life-and-death intrigues of the period fresh and compelling. (Nov.)
Library Journal
Apothecary apprentice Simon Maldon returns in this dynamic sequel to Her Highness' First Murder when a nobleman is poisoned within London's Whitehall Palace. Elizabeth Tudor contacts Simon because she's afraid her brother, the ill King Edward, might have been the target. Soon, Hannah, Simon's fiancée, is working undercover in the palace, and she and the princess devise how to coordinate their sleuthing with Simon while he works with other trusted officials to ferret out the truth. Further poisonings and "accidents" increase the urgency as Elizabeth realizes she is being set up to take the fall. Can these three figure out who stands to gain the most in this closed-room drama? VERDICT Herring weaves a nifty tale of cunning and danger. Think of this series as a must-read prequel to other excellent mysteries featuring Queen Elizabeth I, such as those by Karen Harper. Featuring detailed settings, ample wit, and a fast pace, this historical shines. [See Prepub Alert, 8/2/11.]
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781432825362
  • Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
  • Publication date: 11/16/2011
  • Series: A Simon & Elizabeth Mystery , #2
  • Pages: 294
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 8.60 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The key to the Simon & Elizabeth (& Hannah) Mystery is that the princess comes across plausible as an amateur sleuth

    In 1552, King Edward VI sends a messenger to escort Thomas Carthburt Master Apothecary to Whitehall. His apprentice Simon Maldon accompanies Master Carthburt. Thomas explains to his apprentice the king wants to know what killed Lord Amberson who was healthy while dining with the monarch when suddenly he was in horrific agony. Carthburt believes arsenic poisoning is the cause. Lord Protector Dudley assigns the apothecary to provide whatever the king requires to keep him safe, but warns them to be silent and not to investigate.

    A second death occurs when Marie apparently trips and breaks her neck. While everyone assumes a sad accident happened, Simon wonders otherwise with two deaths on the same day being quite a coincidence. Most at Whitehall look at ambitious Princess Elizabeth, second in line to the throne, as trying to poison her ailing brother. Elizabeth fears the real culprit is framing her and will try again so she contacts Simon to assist her like he did six years ago (see Her Highness' First Murder). Simon's fiancée Hannah, transfers from Hampstead Castle to go undercover at Whitehall. Additional poisonings and other accidents all point at Elizabeth. With Simon and Hannah, Elizabeth investigates the closed castle conspiracy.

    The key to the Simon & Elizabeth (& Hannah) Mystery is that the princess comes across plausible as an amateur sleuth. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the messenger escorts to the apothecary and his apprentice to the palace and never slows down until the final denouement. Fans of Karen Harper's Elizabeth I Mystery and Fiona Buckley's Ursula Blanchard Mystery will want to read this strong entry that occurs several years before the princess becomes the queen.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)