The Poppet and the Lune

The Poppet and the Lune

5.0 1
by Madeline Claire Franklin
     
 

A lyrical, original fairy tale for all ages, with a cast of characters you won't soon forget.

In the Kingdom of the Wolves, the Wolf King hunts. Roland, Hunter of Men, is looking for a witch-born girl. As the story passed down from his own father goes, the witch is the only one who knows how to release him from the curse: like all weremen, the

Overview

A lyrical, original fairy tale for all ages, with a cast of characters you won't soon forget.

In the Kingdom of the Wolves, the Wolf King hunts. Roland, Hunter of Men, is looking for a witch-born girl. As the story passed down from his own father goes, the witch is the only one who knows how to release him from the curse: like all weremen, the Wolf King is trapped in the form of a wolf except during the full moon.

In the Weirding Wood, the witch queen's son seeks a new companion. Born without any talent for witchcraft and magic, Prince Baylis is obsessed with all things that come from it, hoarding magical artifacts and creatures alike. He has heard rumor of a living poppet, a spell crafted from parts salvaged from the dead, sewn together with moonlight--and he will stop at nothing to possess her.

In a seaside village, a young man is stalked by nightmares of the beast that killed his father. When the wolves finally come for Faolin, their bite transforms him into the very monster he loathes and fears the most, confirming a legacy Faolin wished to be a lie: he is the heir to the Wolf King's throne.

Exiled to the Everwood Forest, Faolin encounters a girl made of patchwork. With snow-white hair and mismatched eyes, and moon-bright stitches all over her body, the patchwork girl has set out from her village in search of her true name. Together, she and Faolin brave the wilderness, witchcraft, and magic of the Everwood Forest, drawn along their journey by unseen hands.

But the spell that created the patchwork girl is not quite finished. Memories of lives she never lived haunt the poppet's secondhand flesh, whispering their stories. As the journey wears on, the memories become louder, more insistent, weakening the magic that holds her together. The patchwork girl knows her time is running out: she must find a way to silence the memories, before she literally falls to pieces.

For fans of Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book and Peter S. Beagle's The Last Unicorn, The Poppet and the Lune is an enchanting fantasy adventure of self-discovery, and a captivating original fairy tale for all ages.

_________________________________
Fantasy Book Categories
>Fantasy Adventure
>Fantasy and Magic
>Fairy Tales, Young Adult
>Fairy Tales, Adult

Editorial Reviews

Miss Merle
The Poppet and the Lune is going to be one of the novels I set time aside for every year to reread, or one that I’ll simply pull out every now and then just to reread my favorite passages. I actually tried to read it as slowly as I could allow, simply because I never wanted it to end. [...] It’s going to be a book that I treasure deeply.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780615480558
Publisher:
Unknown Press
Publication date:
03/28/2012
Pages:
360
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.80(d)

Meet the Author

Madeline Claire Franklin has been writing, making movies, telling lies, and otherwise creating stories for as long as she can remember. She holds a BA in Media Studies/Production with a minor in Anthropology from the University at Buffalo, where she further expanded her storytelling capabilities.

In addition to her love of telling stories and researching dead people, Madeline is an avid traveler and lover of foreign cultures. She has contracted salmonella in Costa Rica, was bitten by a goat in the Sahara Desert, and her pants once caught on fire while she was walking down a street in Spain. None of this deters her.

Currently she lives in Buffalo, NY with her husband and a growing menagerie of pets.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Poppet and the Lune 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago