Portrait of an Artist: Arnold Jacobs

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 11%)$18.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (6) from $12.13   
  • New (6) from $12.13   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/15/2000
  • Label: Summit(Classical)
  • UPC: 099402267920
  • Catalog Number: 267
  • Sales rank: 80,837


Disc 1
  1. 1 Work(s): Fanfare - Dietrich Buxtehude & Vincent Cichowicz (0:38)
  2. 2 Horn Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 11 (TrV 117) - Richard Strauss & Arnold Jacobs (14:49)
  3. 3 Csárdás, for violin & piano - Vittorio Monti & Arnold Jacobs (2:29)
  4. 4 Carnival of Venice - Herbert L. Clarke & Arnold Jacobs (3:02)
  5. 5 Tuba Concerto in F minor: 1st movement - Arnold Jacobs & Ralph Vaughan Williams (3:52)
  6. 6 Etude No. 24 - Arnold Jacobs & Gugel (6:01)
  7. 7 Csárdás, for violin & piano - Vittorio Monti & Arnold Jacobs (4:25)
  8. 8 Canzon No. 2, for 4 parts - Vincent Cichowicz & Giovanni Gabrieli (1:52)
  9. 9 Lohengrin, opera, WWV 75: King Heinrich's Call - Richard Wagner & Jay Friedman (2:11)
  10. 10 Symphonie fantastique for orchestra ("Episode de la vie d'un Artiste...en cinq parties"), H.48 (Op. 14): Dies Irae - Hector Berlioz & Jay Friedman (1:30)
  11. 11 Sonatina for brass quintet - Vincent Cichowicz & Eugène Bozza (4:39)
  12. 19–20 Roméo et Juliette, for alto, tenor, bass, chorus & orchestra ("symphonie dramatique"), H.79 (Op. 17): excerpt - Hector Berlioz & Carlo Maria Giulini (2:54)
  13. 20 Concerto for Orchestra, Sz. 116, BB 127: 2nd movement, excerpt - Béla Bartók & Chicago Symphony Orchestra (1:14)
  14. 21 Petrushka, ballet (burlesque) in 4 scenes for orchestra (1947 version): excerpts for tuba - Igor Stravinsky & Chicago Symphony Orchestra (2:46)
  15. 22 Symphony No. 4 ("Det uudslukkelige"; "Inextinguishable"), FS 76 (Op. 29): 1st movement, excerpt - Jean Martinon & Carl Nielsen (2:38)
  16. 23 Symphony No. 4 in E flat ("Romantic"), WAB 104: 1st movement, excerpt - Daniel Barenboim & Anton Bruckner (2:03)
  17. 24 Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for orchestra, orchestrated by Ravel: The Great Gate of Kiev - Modest Mussorgsky & Chicago Symphony Orchestra (3:23)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Arnold Jacobs Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST

    Truly a must for any performer. Certainly a great method for any brass player. Mr. Jacobs was one of the best symphonic Tubists of all time, and hes sharing his knowledge of physical and mental preperation for performing with the world. I'd recommend this to anyone who performs music, especially any BRASS INSTRUMENT performer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews