Possession (Greywalker Series #8)

Possession (Greywalker Series #8)

4.5 11
by Kat Richardson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Harper Blaine was your average small-time PI until she died—for two minutes. Now Harper is a Greywalker, treading the thin line between the living world and the paranormal realm. And she’s discovering that her new abilities are landing her all sorts of “strange” cases.
 
When a comatose woman suddenly wakes up and starts

See more details below

Overview

Harper Blaine was your average small-time PI until she died—for two minutes. Now Harper is a Greywalker, treading the thin line between the living world and the paranormal realm. And she’s discovering that her new abilities are landing her all sorts of “strange” cases.
 
When a comatose woman suddenly wakes up and starts painting scenes she’s never witnessed, with a skill she’s never had, medical science has no explanation. As more bizarre phenomena manifest, including mysterious writing appearing on the patient’s skin and strange voices issuing from her mouth, even her doctors start to wonder whether the woman may be possessed.
 
Frustrated, frightened, and at the end of her rope, the patient’s sister reluctantly turns to Harper Blaine to discover who—or what—is occupying her sister’s body. As Harper digs into this case of apparent possession, she discovers other patients struck with the same mystifying afflictions and a disturbing connection to one of the most gruesome episodes in Washington’s history....

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Another entry (Poltergeist, 2007, etc.) in this well-established contemporary urban-fantasy noir series about Seattle-based psychic PI Harper Blaine. Following a near-death experience, Harper became a Greywalker with the ability to see and enter a paranormal dimension inhabited by ghosts and other, much more malevolent, entities. This time out, a frantic lady named Lillian Goss contacts Harper. Lillian's sister Julianne, whom Lillian looks after, is in a persistent vegetative state--when she suddenly sits up and begins to paint. Lillian fears Julianne may be possessed. Observing the patient, Harper finds Julianne's attracted a dense cluster of ghosts, some of them very unpleasant characters indeed; Richard Stymak, the medium Lillian brought in, is plainly overmatched. Harper discovers two other PVS patients in Seattle. One of them roused himself and writes compulsively; the other exhibits pictures and text all over his body. Ghosts swarm about both. All three are connected by some form of involvement with the State Route 99 tunnel currently under construction. Moreover, Harper's boyfriend, Quinton Purlis, has absented himself in order to try and tackle his father, James. Purlis Senior, a thoroughly nasty piece of work, is a spook running a black op somehow connected with vampires--at least, high-ranking, intimidating vampire Carlos, an old acquaintance of Harper's, believes so. Perhaps most disturbing of all is the thread leading back to one of the darkest episodes in Seattle's history. Distinctively well–fleshed-out characters and an absorbing, logically constructed plot lift this one, and the series, above the supernatural average. Greywalker fans and curious newcomers both will feel welcome.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451465122
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
08/06/2013
Series:
Greywalker Series, #8
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
640,080
Product dimensions:
6.40(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Kat Richardson’s Greywalker Novels:
 
“Standing head and shoulders above the plethora of urban fantasies, Richardson’s latest tale should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and Tanya Huff’s Victoria Nelson series.”—Library Journal
 
“Richardson’s once-playful Harper is clearly evolving into a supernatural force to be reckoned with.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Harper is one of my favorite paranormal detectives....This series is one of the best examples of true urban fantasy.”—Night Owl Reviews

“Richardson has such a natural knack for storytelling...completely captivating.”—CrimeSpree Magazine 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >