Possession (Greywalker Series #8)

Possession (Greywalker Series #8)

4.6 12
by Kat Richardson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Harper Blaine was your average small-time PI until she died—for two minutes. Now Harper is a Greywalker, treading the thin line between the living world and the paranormal realm. And she’s discovering that her new abilities are landing her all sorts of “strange” cases.

When a comatose woman suddenly wakes up and starts painting

Overview

Harper Blaine was your average small-time PI until she died—for two minutes. Now Harper is a Greywalker, treading the thin line between the living world and the paranormal realm. And she’s discovering that her new abilities are landing her all sorts of “strange” cases.

When a comatose woman suddenly wakes up and starts painting scenes she’s never witnessed, with a skill she’s never had, medical science has no explanation. As more bizarre phenomena manifest, including strange voices coming from her mouth, even her doctors wonder whether the woman may be possessed.

Frustrated and frightened, the patient’s sister turns to Harper to discover who—or what—is occupying her sister’s body. As Harper digs into the case, she discovers other patients struck with the same mystifying afflictions and a disturbing connection to one of the most gruesome episodes in Washington’s history....

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for Kat Richardson’s Greywalker Novels:
 
“Standing head and shoulders above the plethora of urban fantasies, Richardson’s latest tale should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and Tanya Huff’s Victoria Nelson series.”—Library Journal
 
“Richardson’s once-playful Harper is clearly evolving into a supernatural force to be reckoned with.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Harper is one of my favorite paranormal detectives....This series is one of the best examples of true urban fantasy.”—Night Owl Reviews

“Richardson has such a natural knack for storytelling...completely captivating.”—CrimeSpree Magazine 

Kirkus Reviews
Another entry (Poltergeist, 2007, etc.) in this well-established contemporary urban-fantasy noir series about Seattle-based psychic PI Harper Blaine. Following a near-death experience, Harper became a Greywalker with the ability to see and enter a paranormal dimension inhabited by ghosts and other, much more malevolent, entities. This time out, a frantic lady named Lillian Goss contacts Harper. Lillian's sister Julianne, whom Lillian looks after, is in a persistent vegetative state--when she suddenly sits up and begins to paint. Lillian fears Julianne may be possessed. Observing the patient, Harper finds Julianne's attracted a dense cluster of ghosts, some of them very unpleasant characters indeed; Richard Stymak, the medium Lillian brought in, is plainly overmatched. Harper discovers two other PVS patients in Seattle. One of them roused himself and writes compulsively; the other exhibits pictures and text all over his body. Ghosts swarm about both. All three are connected by some form of involvement with the State Route 99 tunnel currently under construction. Moreover, Harper's boyfriend, Quinton Purlis, has absented himself in order to try and tackle his father, James. Purlis Senior, a thoroughly nasty piece of work, is a spook running a black op somehow connected with vampires--at least, high-ranking, intimidating vampire Carlos, an old acquaintance of Harper's, believes so. Perhaps most disturbing of all is the thread leading back to one of the darkest episodes in Seattle's history. Distinctively well–fleshed-out characters and an absorbing, logically constructed plot lift this one, and the series, above the supernatural average. Greywalker fans and curious newcomers both will feel welcome.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101614068
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
08/06/2013
Series:
Greywalker Series , #8
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
73,500
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Kat Richardson’s Greywalker Novels:
 
“Standing head and shoulders above the plethora of urban fantasies, Richardson’s latest tale should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and Tanya Huff’s Victoria Nelson series.”—Library Journal
 
“Richardson’s once-playful Harper is clearly evolving into a supernatural force to be reckoned with.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Harper is one of my favorite paranormal detectives....This series is one of the best examples of true urban fantasy.”—Night Owl Reviews

“Richardson has such a natural knack for storytelling...completely captivating.”—CrimeSpree Magazine 

Meet the Author

Kat Richardson is the author of the Greywalker novels, including SeawitchDownpour, and Labyrinth. She lives in the wilds of Western Washington, where she hunts down bits of history to turn into terrifying tales, accompanied by her husband and rescued pit bull terrier. She rides a motorcycle, shoots target pistol, and digs around in the garden, because you never know what you’ll find under a rock.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Possession (Greywalker Series #8) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Vern1718 More than 1 year ago
I have read all seven and now number 8 of the Greywalker series and I can't wait for number 9. Possession kept me guessing and at the edge of my seat and I couldn't put it down. I love that the author kept the love relationship going and included the other characters from her previous books and how she inserted them into the story. I hope there is a #9.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I continue to enjoy this series; the depth of the characters and detailed settings are woven into a delightful tapestry of fantasy and intrigue that leave me wanting more. I am eagerly awaiting the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I almost put down her first book when Richardson brought in a vampire - OH no! Not one of those blood-sucking, syrupy teen romances! But the writing was so good, I kept reading. I'm now eagerly waiting to read book 9, and I can tell you the Greywalker series are damn good reads, even if (especially if!) you are looking for something more/better than run-of-the-mill. Blaine is a believable character, dealing with unbelievable situations in believable ways. When Richardson introduces a locale or an historical figure, go check it out on Wikipedia - real and fantasy are woven so seamlessly her novels read like histories.
Icegal74 More than 1 year ago
A great comeback for Kat Richardson! This was a great book!! Series 6 and 7 were starting to lose me but I decided to give Possession a chance. It was totally worth it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anneb10 More than 1 year ago
Drawn into a case concerning ghosts and Persistent Vegetative States, Harper Blaine realizes that she is in a race against time as her client's sister fails.  Malevolent spirits threaten both the Normal and the Grey, and only the Greywalker can stop them. This book provides a showcase for Harper and her growth since she died for two minutes and returned from the other side a Greywalker.  The aloof PI has found true friend and allies - and she's come to realize she enjoys that fact.  They provide unlooked-for help in this frustrating case that has its roots in Seattle's past - and her own present. A truly engrossing and fascinating read, this book is the best yet in this fantastic series.
Dresden58 More than 1 year ago
I first read Kat in "Mean Streets". Since then I have read all of her books and short stories. Excellent author. She has a Facebook page you can follow if you are interested.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago