Practicing What You Preach

( 6 )

Overview

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at first sight. But after a lovely evening together of Bible study at Followers of Jesus Faith Worship Center, Melissa has a change of heart. She learns not only is ...

See more details below
Paperback (Original)
$11.08
BN.com price
(Save 26%)$15.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (21) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $3.41   
  • Used (13) from $1.99   
Practicing What You Preach

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$12.00 List Price

Overview

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at first sight. But after a lovely evening together of Bible study at Followers of Jesus Faith Worship Center, Melissa has a change of heart. She learns not only is Marcus a successful investor, but he's also a gifted minister. There's just one hitch: He's divorced—a fact Melissa can't reconcile with scripture even though she knows he's a good man and father. But when Marcus's diva ex-wife decides she wants him back, Melissa soon discovers love, divorce, and faith have quite a bit in common...

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

Wedding planner Melissa Anderson agrees to a date with minister Marcus Peeples even though he didn't make a great first impression when she met him. She decides to give him a chance, but Melissa can't accept that Marcus is a divorced father. Divorce is against Melissa's beliefs, and she is not sure she can date a man who already had a wife. VERDICT Griggs's ("Blessed Trinity" trilogy) first entry in a new series is a smart novel that addresses an issue that many in the church shy away from—divorce—with frank realism. It also features an interesting romance, with characters who are refreshingly (for inspirational fiction) imperfect. For readers of African American fiction, especially those who enjoy novels by Victoria Christopher Murray (see below) and Stacy Hawkins Adams (see above).


—Tamara Butler
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780758232229
  • Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation
  • Publication date: 6/1/2009
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 300
  • Sales rank: 619,758
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.20 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Vanessa Davis Griggs is a motivational speaker and the author of If Memory Serves, Strongholds, Blessed Trinity, Wings of Grace, and Promises Beyond Jordan. A recipient of several awards, this married mother of three adult sons and grandmother of two adorable granddaughters lives in Birmingham, Alabama.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    This book was powerful

    I loved this book, it was filled up with scriptures, which is really one of its wonderful assets, but I also used it as a bible study tool, especially when it came to marriage and divorce. Thanks Vanessa Davis Griggs, your book helped me out alot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Practice what you Preach

    Vanessa Davis Griggs has a blend of characters with social issues, baby mama drama, and unveiling faith. Characters are well-written that interweaves some generational curses that need to be broken, religiosity, judgmental believers, and genuine angels that step out of the norm. There are some characters you cannot help but love, and others question their motives when they realize they lost something good! Do not jump to other people opinions of you, do not be quick to anger, and loose what God brought in your life (divine connections, job, people, divine relationships and marriages, etc.).

    Do not loose on the blessings God has for you! Break those generational curses, strongholds, and negativity in your life. This book lays it all out. It is a must-read. Practice what you Preach!

    Thank you for entrusting us with your advance copy!

    Dream 4 More Book Reviews,

    Adrienna Turner, President/CEO

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Who's Interpretation

    Practicing What You Preach is an excellent presentation of what happens when a person comes down with a case of Pharisees Fever. The most prevalent symptom of the disease is a dedication to living by the letter of the law rather than the humanity of it. Such is the case for Melissa Anderson.

    After rededicating her life to Christ, Melissa focuses on her job and her religion. The problem with this is that her religious mind is overriding common sense.

    The book is one that challenges the reader to pull out their own bibles. Some will call this work preachy, others will find it nourishing. What I found is that Ms. Davis-Griggs skillfully presents real life conflict while seaming it to the necessity of needing to truly understand the laws that govern your life, but not missing out on life due to constraints of self-imposed rigidity.

    Reviewed by Dr. Linda Beed
    On Assignment Reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)