Practicing What You Preach

Practicing What You Preach

4.3 6
by Vanessa Davis Griggs
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year--and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at first sight.… See more details below

Overview

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year--and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at first sight. But after a lovely evening together of Bible study at Followers of Jesus Faith Worship Center, Melissa has a change of heart. She learns not only is Marcus a successful investor, but he's also a gifted minister. There's just one hitch: He's divorced--a fact Melissa can't reconcile with scripture even though she knows he's a good man and father. But when Marcus's diva ex-wife decides she wants him back, Melissa soon discovers love, divorce, and faith have quite a bit in common. . .

Praise for Vanessa Davis Griggs and her novels. . .

"This inspirational novel leaves the reader eager to know what Griggs plans next for this spiritual family." --Publishers Weekly on Blessed Trinity

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

Wedding planner Melissa Anderson agrees to a date with minister Marcus Peeples even though he didn't make a great first impression when she met him. She decides to give him a chance, but Melissa can't accept that Marcus is a divorced father. Divorce is against Melissa's beliefs, and she is not sure she can date a man who already had a wife. VERDICT Griggs's ("Blessed Trinity" trilogy) first entry in a new series is a smart novel that addresses an issue that many in the church shy away from—divorce—with frank realism. It also features an interesting romance, with characters who are refreshingly (for inspirational fiction) imperfect. For readers of African American fiction, especially those who enjoy novels by Victoria Christopher Murray (see below) and Stacy Hawkins Adams (see above).


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780758244246
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
06/01/2009
Series:
Blessed Trinity , #4
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
206,757
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Vanessa Davis Griggs is a motivational speaker and the author of If Memory Serves, Strongholds, Blessed Trinity, Wings of Grace, and Promises Beyond Jordan. A recipient of several awards, this married mother of three adult sons and grandmother of two adorable granddaughters lives in Birmingham, Alabama.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >