BN.com Gift Guide

Programming and Problem Solving with C++

Overview

In the tradition of Pascal and Turbo Pascal, authors Nell Dale and Chip Weems have teamed up with Mark Headington to offer Programming and Problem Solving with C++ for students in the CS1/C101 course. Written in the same style as the successful Pascal books, this text provides an accessible introduction to programming using C++ for beginning students. The first half of the text gives students a solid foundation in top-down programming techniques. The second half builds on this foundation and explains ADTs, the ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (1) from $106.95   
  • Used (1) from $106.95   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$106.95
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(25655)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

Good
Giving great service since 2004: Buy from the Best! 4,000,000 items shipped to delighted customers. We have 1,000,000 unique items ready to ship! Find your Great Buy today!

Ships from: Toledo, OH

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

In the tradition of Pascal and Turbo Pascal, authors Nell Dale and Chip Weems have teamed up with Mark Headington to offer Programming and Problem Solving with C++ for students in the CS1/C101 course. Written in the same style as the successful Pascal books, this text provides an accessible introduction to programming using C++ for beginning students. The first half of the text gives students a solid foundation in top-down programming techniques. The second half builds on this foundation and explains ADTs, the C++ class, encapsulation, information hiding, and object-oriented software development.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From The Critics
This computer science textbook introduces the basic control structures of the C++ programming language before shifting the focus to abstract data types. The authors cover standard library functions, simple arithmetic expressions, looping operations, the C++ class mechanism, arrays, lists, object-oriented programming, and pointers. The third edition adds a chapter on templates and exceptions. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Booknews
Provides a foundation in algorithm development and functional decomposition design methodology, building on these with exploration of ADTs, the C++ class, encapsulation, information hiding, and object-oriented software development. Pedagogy employs case studies, with sections on testing and debugging sections, five types of exercises. Newly featured in the second edition is conformance to ISO/ANSI standard C++ (officially approved in July, 1998) and added introductory materials. Dale, Chip Weems, and Mark Headington are from the U. of Texas, Austin; U. of Massachusetts, Amherst; and U. of Wisconsin, La Crosse, respectively. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780763727499
  • Publisher: Jones & Barlett Learning
  • Publication date: 4/23/2004
  • Product dimensions: 8.40 (w) x 10.80 (h) x 1.90 (d)

Table of Contents

1 Overview of Programming and Problem Solving 1
2 C++ Syntax and Semantics, and the Program Development Process 41
3 Arithmetic Expressions, Function Calls, and Output 93
4 Program Input and the Software Design Process 131
5 Conditions, Logical Expressions, and Selection Control Structures 185
6 Looping 253
7 Functions 323
8 Scope, Lifetime, and More on Functions 389
9 Additional Control Structures 459
10 Simple Data Types: Built-In and User-Defined 501รค
11 One-Dimensional Arrays 591
12 Applied Arrays: Lists and Strings 647
13 Multidimensional Arrays 707
14 Records (C++ Structs) 771
15 Classes and Data Abstraction 837
16 Object-Oriented Software Development 905
17 Pointers, Dynamic Data, and Reference Types 967
18 Linked Structures 1045
19 Recursion 1119
Appendix A Reserved Words A1
Appendix B Operator Precedence A1
Appendix C C++ Library Routines A2
Appendix D Syntax Templates A10
Appendix E Character Sets A30
Appendix F Program Style, Formatting, and Documentation A31
Glossary A40
Answers to Selected Exercises A47
Index A79
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)