Pumpkin Pumpkin by Jeanne Titherington, Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
Pumpkin Pumpkin

Pumpkin Pumpkin

by Jeanne Titherington
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jamie planted a pumpkin seed in the spring. All summer long he watched his pumpkin grow — from a tiny sprout to a huge orange pumpkin. By Halloween it was ready to pick and carve. But best of all, inside the pumpkin were seeds — to be planted next spring. A celebration of lifeand growth for the very youngest.

Overview

Jamie planted a pumpkin seed in the spring. All summer long he watched his pumpkin grow — from a tiny sprout to a huge orange pumpkin. By Halloween it was ready to pick and carve. But best of all, inside the pumpkin were seeds — to be planted next spring. A celebration of lifeand growth for the very youngest.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
PW praised the ``exquisite drawings in this luminous documentation of a pumpkin's evolution; ``the quality is breathtakingly soft and expressive.'' Ages 4-8. (Sept.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2 Softly colored pencil illustrations in a realistic style effectively communicate Jamie's pride as a very young gardener. He plants a seed, then grows and harvests a pumpkin from which he saves seeds for next year. The large, detailed drawings capture Jamie's anticipation and pleasure just right. The garden creatures appearing on every page and grandpa, whom we catch sight of now and then, are a delightful supporting cast. Nonreaders can easily follow the story in pictures alone. Very large, clear print on facing pages makes the simple narrative inviting for beginning readers, too. Libraries serving young children shouldn't miss this satisfying book in the tradition of Ruth Krauss and Crockett Johnson's The Carrot Seed (Harper, 1945) and Bijou Le Tord's Rabbit Seeds (Four Winds, 1984). The strong sense of the cycles of nature and a youngster's accomplishment make for a winning combination. Anna Biagioni Hart, Sherwood Regional Lib . , Alexandria, Va.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780688056957
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/28/1986
Edition description:
1st ed
Pages:
24
Product dimensions:
9.87(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.25(d)
Lexile:
260L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

In Her Own Words...

"It was never my plan to become a writer and illustrator of children's books. Although I knew from the age of ten that I wanted to be an artist, it took a long time to discover just what kind of an artist I would be.

"When I was in art school, first at Pratt Institute and then at Portland School of Art, I was a painting major. To be honest, though, I was classified as a painting major because no one could figure out where else to put me. At that time I was making Joseph Cornell-like box constructions, with collage, found objects, and drawings. Graduation from art school left me unable to afford a large enough living space to store all the wonderful junk necessary for my constructions, so I devoted myself almost completely to my drawing.

"After exhibiting my work several times during the next few years, I was encouraged by a friend familiar with publishing to try my hand at illustration. On a whim I made a completely unorganized trip to New York, then Boston. Despite the fact that I did everything all wrong, I managed to get my first job illustrating a children's book. I've been illustrating ever since, and now, with the help and encouragement of Susan Hirschman, I am writing children's books as well.

"I grew up in Maine and still summer there, but I presently live and work in Houston, Texas, with my daughter, Anna, and son, John Gabriel. I love what I do and feel truly blessed in the life I have.

"An important reason why I love what I do so much is that it combines so many of my interests: art, of course; language; fairy tales and mythology; day and night dreams; the world of the child. The last, "the world of the child," is a deeply personal interest for me; I think, in a way, that I have never grown up. I guess I hope I never will."

In Her Own Words...

"It was never my plan to become a writer and illustrator of children's books. Although I knew from the age of ten that I wanted to be an artist, it took a long time to discover just what kind of an artist I would be.

"When I was in art school, first at Pratt Institute and then at Portland School of Art, I was a painting major. To be honest, though, I was classified as a painting major because no one could figure out where else to put me. At that time I was making Joseph Cornell-like box constructions, with collage, found objects, and drawings. Graduation from art school left me unable to afford a large enough living space to store all the wonderful junk necessary for my constructions, so I devoted myself almost completely to my drawing.

"After exhibiting my work several times during the next few years, I was encouraged by a friend familiar with publishing to try my hand at illustration. On a whim I made a completely unorganized trip to New York, then Boston. Despite the fact that I did everything all wrong, I managed to get my first job illustrating a children's book. I've been illustrating ever since, and now, with the help and encouragement of Susan Hirschman, I am writing children's books as well.

"I grew up in Maine and still summer there, but I presently live and work in Houston, Texas, with my daughter, Anna, and son, John Gabriel. I love what I do and feel truly blessed in the life I have.

"An important reason why I love what I do so much is that it combines so many of my interests: art, of course; language; fairy tales and mythology; day and night dreams; the world of the child. The last, "the world of the child," is a deeply personal interest for me; I think, in a way, that I have never grown up. I guess I hope I never will."

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >