Pumpkin Pumpkin

Pumpkin Pumpkin

by Jeanne Titherington
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed in the spring and, after watching it grow all summer, carves a face in it for Halloween! But best of all, he saves some seeds that he will plant again next spring. "Truly a book for all seasons."—Horn Book.See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed in the spring and, after watching it grow all summer, carves a face in it for Halloween! But best of all, he saves some seeds that he will plant again next spring. "Truly a book for all seasons."—Horn Book.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
PW praised the ``exquisite drawings in this luminous documentation of a pumpkin's evolution; ``the quality is breathtakingly soft and expressive.'' Ages 4-8. (Sept.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2 Softly colored pencil illustrations in a realistic style effectively communicate Jamie's pride as a very young gardener. He plants a seed, then grows and harvests a pumpkin from which he saves seeds for next year. The large, detailed drawings capture Jamie's anticipation and pleasure just right. The garden creatures appearing on every page and grandpa, whom we catch sight of now and then, are a delightful supporting cast. Nonreaders can easily follow the story in pictures alone. Very large, clear print on facing pages makes the simple narrative inviting for beginning readers, too. Libraries serving young children shouldn't miss this satisfying book in the tradition of Ruth Krauss and Crockett Johnson's The Carrot Seed (Harper, 1945) and Bijou Le Tord's Rabbit Seeds (Four Winds, 1984). The strong sense of the cycles of nature and a youngster's accomplishment make for a winning combination. Anna Biagioni Hart, Sherwood Regional Lib . , Alexandria, Va.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780688099305
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/28/1990
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
24
Sales rank:
242,437
Product dimensions:
9.87(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.00(d)
Lexile:
260L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >