The Puppy That Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy

The Puppy That Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy

4.6 12
by Megan Rix
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Marley, Oogy, Huck-and now, Traffy, the "forever dog" that changed one couple's life.

All Megan Rix ever wanted was a baby. Yet, month after month, Megan's dreams were dashed. Would her life ever feel complete?

Megan and her husband, Ian, found a surprising answer when they began training golden retriever pups to become service dogs for people

…  See more details below

Overview

Marley, Oogy, Huck-and now, Traffy, the "forever dog" that changed one couple's life.

All Megan Rix ever wanted was a baby. Yet, month after month, Megan's dreams were dashed. Would her life ever feel complete?

Megan and her husband, Ian, found a surprising answer when they began training golden retriever pups to become service dogs for people with disabilities. But opening their homes and hearts up to Emma, and then Freddy-only to have each move on after six months-eventually took its own toll. Megan and Ian didn't know if they could continue. Then, one Christmas, little Traffy came along ... and stayed. An instant U.K. bestseller, The Puppy That Came for Christmas is a heartwarming and inspirational story that will captivate dog lovers everywhere.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Rix, pseudonym of children's book author Ruth Symes, was undergoing fertility treatments when she and her husband decided to raise Emma, a service dog for an organization that provides trained dogs for people with disabilities. Emma filled their days, raised their spirits, and introduced them to new friends, but after six months, she was selected to complete training. Immediately, Freddy, another potential service dog, entered their lives. They again poured their energy into his upbringing and again their hearts were wrenched when he graduated. The fertility treatments did not have the desired effect, and, finally coming to terms with their medical situation and rejecting other options, they decided to give up hope for a child and adopt a dog of their own. VERDICT Dog memoir readers who enjoyed John Grogan's Marley and Me or Julie Klam's You Had Me at Woof will appreciate this story about dogs who impact people's lives. An instant bestseller in the UK.—Florence Scarinci, Nassau Comm. Coll. Lib., Garden City, NY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780452297487
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/25/2011
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
278,721
Product dimensions:
5.14(w) x 7.68(h) x 0.62(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Megan Rix was born in London, and lived in America, New Zealand, and Singapore before marrying her husband, Ian, and settling in England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >