The Puppy That Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy [NOOK Book]

Overview

Marley, Oogy, Huck-and now, Traffy, the "forever dog" that changed one couple's life.

All Megan Rix ever wanted was a baby. Yet, month after month, Megan's dreams were dashed. Would her life ever feel complete?

Megan and her husband, Ian, found a surprising answer when they began training golden retriever pups to become service dogs for people with disabilities. But ...
See more details below
The Puppy That Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$11.99
BN.com price

Overview

Marley, Oogy, Huck-and now, Traffy, the "forever dog" that changed one couple's life.

All Megan Rix ever wanted was a baby. Yet, month after month, Megan's dreams were dashed. Would her life ever feel complete?

Megan and her husband, Ian, found a surprising answer when they began training golden retriever pups to become service dogs for people with disabilities. But opening their homes and hearts up to Emma, and then Freddy-only to have each move on after six months-eventually took its own toll. Megan and Ian didn't know if they could continue. Then, one Christmas, little Traffy came along ... and stayed. An instant U.K. bestseller, The Puppy That Came for Christmas is a heartwarming and inspirational story that will captivate dog lovers everywhere.


Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble

Scrooge himself would melt before the story of the adorable pup on the cover. The puppy who came for Christmas is little Traffy, but even before he arrives, the couple who adopted him had hoping to fill a void. Hoping for a baby, Megan and her husband Ian had been training golden retriever pups for disability service, but as each graduated, the emptiness of their home struck them anew. When Taffy finally appeared, they knew that they had a keeper. Like Marley and Ooogy, a dog story that stays with you.

Library Journal
Rix, pseudonym of children's book author Ruth Symes, was undergoing fertility treatments when she and her husband decided to raise Emma, a service dog for an organization that provides trained dogs for people with disabilities. Emma filled their days, raised their spirits, and introduced them to new friends, but after six months, she was selected to complete training. Immediately, Freddy, another potential service dog, entered their lives. They again poured their energy into his upbringing and again their hearts were wrenched when he graduated. The fertility treatments did not have the desired effect, and, finally coming to terms with their medical situation and rejecting other options, they decided to give up hope for a child and adopt a dog of their own. VERDICT Dog memoir readers who enjoyed John Grogan's Marley and Me or Julie Klam's You Had Me at Woof will appreciate this story about dogs who impact people's lives. An instant bestseller in the UK.—Florence Scarinci, Nassau Comm. Coll. Lib., Garden City, NY
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101558676
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 10/25/2011
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 92,284
  • File size: 823 KB

Meet the Author

Megan Rix was born in London, and lived in America, New Zealand, and Singapore before marrying her husband, Ian, and settling in England.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    A great read for a dog-loving person!

    This book was a very heartwarming story. It shows how service dogs are trained for people with disabilities and the great love they share with those who train them. The book brings both tears and laughter while being read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    A puppy, a family, and everything in between

    Meg and Ian are going through some changes in their lives. They are struggling to have a child and not sure how to create a family. They start small with a dog. They become puppy parents to some future Helper Dogs. Meg finds a home with the Helper Dogs organization. These pups are trained to assist people with a variety physical disabilities. Each set of puppy parents nurture and train their dog so they can continue on to becoming a full fledged helper dog. Meg and Ian take the lovable Emma into their hearts and home. We get to see the trials and tribulations of training and puppy life. The hardest part is letting Emma continue on her training after six months. It also hurts that Meg is no closer to becoming pregnant. With more puppies to be trained Meg and Ian continue on this journey of exploration. With new and old friends, cuddly puppies, and plenty of love everyone finds their way. The book was an easy read and fun story. It could be a little sporadic from time to time. The telling of past and future events got muddled into the present. It is a great book for dog lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming

    In her early forties, Megan and Ian Rix wanted a baby, but even fertility treatments seemed to fail. Rather than mope, they train golden retriever pups as Helper Dogs for people with disabilities. However, six months as "foster" parents to Emma, followed by Freddy broke their hearts when the canines moved into their permanent homes. Ready to quit as trainers, Traffy The Puppy That Came for Christmas, joins the household. However Traffy remained a permanent member of the Rix household.

    With an obvious nod to John Grogan's Marley and Me, Traffy is indeed the dog who brought joy to the Rix family. Well written, canine lovers will appreciate Megan Rix's account of how much happiness a dog that is part of a loving family brings to the bonded household.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    This was the most hear-warming book ever

    The best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Um.........

    Uh...........

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Dude weres my car

    Please don't tell me the ending of this book bacause I'm almost done and it is a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Yfdh

    Once upon a time there lived a shoemaker who had no leather

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    UGHH I couldnt stop reading this book

    Okk this book is sad funny and cute I love this book ans so will you if you dont love this book read it til' you do!!! Emma D.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)