Pure Red

Pure Red

5.0 2
by Danielle Joseph
     
 

I, Cassia Bernard, do solemnly swear to find pure red—my passion—this summer. Dad's passion is art. When he's painting, no one can reach him, not even me. My mom's passion was the ocean. She said the ocean allows you to see whatever you want to see. That was one of the last things she ever said to me...

Sometimes what your heart desires isn't

Overview

I, Cassia Bernard, do solemnly swear to find pure red—my passion—this summer. Dad's passion is art. When he's painting, no one can reach him, not even me. My mom's passion was the ocean. She said the ocean allows you to see whatever you want to see. That was one of the last things she ever said to me...

Sometimes what your heart desires isn't what it needs. Over the course of a hot Miami summer, sixteen-year-old Cassia discovers that sometimes it takes bullies and basketball, a best friend, and a gorgeous guy to help you understand what you actually need—and to help you see that, maybe, everything isn't so black and white.

Editorial Reviews

VOYA - Anna Foote
Prompted by her high school guidance counselor, Cassia Bernard spends her fifteenth summer searching for her passion. Perhaps it is basketball, or maybe ceramics, or (fingers crossed) Graham Hadley, a.k.a. Cutebutt. Unfortunately, Graham seems to spend most of his time with Cassia's dad, an established painter who is Graham's summer mentor, and Cassia's dad is spending far too much time with Helga, an art history instructor who is interested in more than his art. As summer draws to a close, Cassia must accept that sometimes passions are not clear, even to those who search for them. She also finds she must accept her father's new woman—and two very special gifts from the painters in her life. Set in the heat of a contemporary Miami Beach summer, many teen readers will find Pure Red a quick and fun read. Though at times Cassia may seem whiny and overly critical of her loving father, readers will appreciate her honest search for a life passion and her dedication to her friend Liz. Joseph's third novel has much in common with her first two—strong teen girl protagonists who are straightforwardly dealing with real-life issues. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will find Joseph's work satisfying. Reviewer: Anna Foote
Kirkus Reviews

Despite her ear for authentic teenspeak, Joseph's (Indigo Blues, 2010) latest effort falls flat.

Cassia's summer goal is to find her passion before junior year. Her focus shifts between basketball, where she's thwarted at league play by a more seasoned player, and Graham, a boy whose cute butt she's had her eye on since spotting him at her father's art exhibit. She faces obstacles in both arenas—perceived slights on the court from Kate, a.k.a. Thunder, and her inability to draw Graham's attention away from her father and toward herself. Frustrated, she schemes to get Graham to lust after her with the help of her friend, Liz. The narrative leans heavily on Cassia's internal monologue at the expense of plot, making Cassia come across as mean-spirited and quick to judge. Fueled by jealousy, with Liz as "back-up bitch," she counters Thunder's verbal barbs with hostility out of proportion to actual events. She's jealous of her father's new girlfriend; she's even jealous of people who respond to her sprained ankle with stories of their own, asking herself, "What do you have to do to be special around here? Be in a full-body cast?"

A framework of color imagery lends little to this novel, which is further marred by superficial dialogue, choppy sentences, non sequiturs and poor character development. (Fiction. 12 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738727431
Publisher:
Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
Publication date:
09/08/2011
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Danielle Joseph (Miami, Florida) was born in Cape Town, South Africa, and grew up in Boston, Massachusetts, where she learned to play French horn, guitar, and clarinet. She is the author of YA novel Shrinking Violet. Visit her online at www.daniellejoseph.com.

Also visit her Fan Page on Facebook.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Pure Red 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
LucyBookReviews More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! A great story of a teen searching for her passion in life. There's basketball, art and romance -- what a combo! Go read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago