Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed

by Stephen Shames
     
 

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed. Photographs by Stephen Shames; Foreword by Michael Jordan; Introduction by Roger Rosenblatt; Text by Kathy Goetz Wolf. This is a book about success, about hope, about overcoming obstaclessocial, economic, and political. It is a book about families and their children triumphing over the devastating… See more details below

Overview

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed. Photographs by Stephen Shames; Foreword by Michael Jordan; Introduction by Roger Rosenblatt; Text by Kathy Goetz Wolf. This is a book about success, about hope, about overcoming obstaclessocial, economic, and political. It is a book about families and their children triumphing over the devastating cycles of poverty, drugs, and violence told in the families' own words. Working for three years under the sponsorship of the Chicagobased Family Resource Coalition, noted photographer Stephen Shames explored the lives of atrisk children and their families across America, visiting community programs in culturally diverse areas to record how these programs help families in need. Because the photographs and text focus on children and families who are succeeding despite poverty and other risk factors, Pursuing the Dream challenges the media's negative portrayals of lowincome ethnic communities. This book is an inspiration for all those who would give up on social welfare programs and for those who would like to help people in need but don't know where to begin. A nationwide list of community programs and resources is included in the book. Stephen Shames is an awardwinning socially conscious photographer whose pictures have appeared in numerous publications, including Newsweek, Time, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the New York Times. His 1991 Aperture book on child poverty, Outside the Dream, is now in its third printing. Roger Rosenblatt is a contributing essayist for Time and the New Republic and a regular guest on the NewsHour With Jim Lehrer on PBS. Kathy Goetz Wolf is director of publications for the Chicagobased FamilyResource Coalition. A former magazine journalist, she has worked with and written extensively about communitybased familysupport programs. This book is funded by support from the Ford Foundation and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation. 162 blackandwhite duotone illustrations, 9 9/16 X 11 3/8, 160 pages. Hardcover.

"Steve Shames's work is in the tradition of Jacob Riis, Lewis W. Hine, Dorothea Lange, and Gene Richards."

Cornell Capa.

"The faces in [Shames's] photographs show us what can happen inside a child's heart when a caring person reaches out to him. This book can inspire all of us to seek out the many opportunities already available in our own communities to make a difference in the lives of others."

President Jimmy Carter

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
A documentary photographer visits community programs across the US that help children and families achieve emotional and financial stability. Text describes various programs, and extended captions quote parents, children, and community workers. Includes a list of organizations, and a preface by Michael Jordan. No index. Oversize, 10x11.5<">. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780893817282
Publisher:
Aperture Foundation
Publication date:
09/30/1997
Pages:
160
Product dimensions:
9.91(w) x 11.73(h) x 0.79(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >