BN.com Gift Guide

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed

Overview

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed. Photographs by Stephen Shames; Foreword by Michael Jordan; Introduction by Roger Rosenblatt; Text by Kathy Goetz Wolf. This is a book about success, about hope, about overcoming obstaclessocial, economic, and political. It is a book about families and their children triumphing over the devastating cycles of poverty, drugs, and violence told in the families' own words. Working for three years under the sponsorship of the Chicagobased Family ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $21.14   
  • Used (16) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$21.14
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(2782)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
1997 Hardcover New We cannot ship to prisons.

Ships from: east moriches, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$288.17
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(0)

Condition: New
1997 Hardcover New 0893817287. Flawless copy, brand new, pristine, never opened--160 pp. With 156 ills. 30 x 25 cm.

Ships from: New Hampton, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

Pursuing the Dream: What Helps Children and Their Families Succeed. Photographs by Stephen Shames; Foreword by Michael Jordan; Introduction by Roger Rosenblatt; Text by Kathy Goetz Wolf. This is a book about success, about hope, about overcoming obstaclessocial, economic, and political. It is a book about families and their children triumphing over the devastating cycles of poverty, drugs, and violence told in the families' own words. Working for three years under the sponsorship of the Chicagobased Family Resource Coalition, noted photographer Stephen Shames explored the lives of atrisk children and their families across America, visiting community programs in culturally diverse areas to record how these programs help families in need. Because the photographs and text focus on children and families who are succeeding despite poverty and other risk factors, Pursuing the Dream challenges the media's negative portrayals of lowincome ethnic communities. This book is an inspiration for all those who would give up on social welfare programs and for those who would like to help people in need but don't know where to begin. A nationwide list of community programs and resources is included in the book. Stephen Shames is an awardwinning socially conscious photographer whose pictures have appeared in numerous publications, including Newsweek, Time, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the New York Times. His 1991 Aperture book on child poverty, Outside the Dream, is now in its third printing. Roger Rosenblatt is a contributing essayist for Time and the New Republic and a regular guest on the NewsHour With Jim Lehrer on PBS. Kathy Goetz Wolf is director of publications for the Chicagobased FamilyResource Coalition. A former magazine journalist, she has worked with and written extensively about communitybased familysupport programs. This book is funded by support from the Ford Foundation and the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation. 162 blackandwhite duotone illustrations, 9 9/16 X 11 3/8, 160 pages. Hardcover.

"Steve Shames's work is in the tradition of Jacob Riis, Lewis W. Hine, Dorothea Lange, and Gene Richards."

Cornell Capa.

"The faces in [Shames's] photographs show us what can happen inside a child's heart when a caring person reaches out to him. This book can inspire all of us to seek out the many opportunities already available in our own communities to make a difference in the lives of others."

President Jimmy Carter

The author shows that families living in low-income, high-crime neighborhoods can successfully raise children.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
A documentary photographer visits community programs across the US that help children and families achieve emotional and financial stability. Text describes various programs, and extended captions quote parents, children, and community workers. Includes a list of organizations, and a preface by Michael Jordan. No index. Oversize, 10x11.5<">. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780893817282
  • Publisher: Aperture Foundation
  • Publication date: 9/30/1997
  • Pages: 160
  • Product dimensions: 9.91 (w) x 11.73 (h) x 0.79 (d)

Table of Contents

Preface: Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls 11
Dream Children 13
How We Can Help Families and Their Children Succeed 27
Advance Family Support and Education Program 42
Casey County Family Resource and Youth Services Centers 64
Community Development Programs 80
School/Community Partnerships 90
Youth Development Programs 108
Friends of the Children 118
Parents and Children Together 136
Program Listing 156
Acknowledgments 159
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)