Q: A Novel

( 6 )

Overview

“Q, Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, is the love of my life.”

Shortly before his wedding, the unnamed hero of this uncommon romance is visited by a man who claims to be his future self and ominously admonishes him that he must not marry the love of his life, Q. At first the protagonist doubts this stranger, but in time he becomes convinced of the authenticity of the warning and leaves his fiancée. The resulting void in his life is impossible to fill. One after the other, future selves arrive urging him to marry ...

See more details below
Paperback (Original)
$12.64
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$13.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (46) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $3.12   
  • Used (34) from $1.99   
Q: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

“Q, Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, is the love of my life.”

Shortly before his wedding, the unnamed hero of this uncommon romance is visited by a man who claims to be his future self and ominously admonishes him that he must not marry the love of his life, Q. At first the protagonist doubts this stranger, but in time he becomes convinced of the authenticity of the warning and leaves his fiancée. The resulting void in his life is impossible to fill. One after the other, future selves arrive urging him to marry someone else, divorce, attend law school, leave law school, travel, join a running club, stop running, study the guitar, the cello, Proust, Buddhism, and opera, and eliminate gluten from his diet. The only constants in this madcap quest for personal improvement are his love for his New York City home and for the irresistible Q.

A unique literary talent, Evan Mandery turns the classic story of transcendent love on its head, with an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review
“[A] delightful New York-infused novel …. A word to the tear prone: Don’t attempt to read the ending in public.”
Booklist
“[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery’s eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing.”
Joseph Skibell
“Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth.”
M.J. Rose
“A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way.”
Jessica Anya Blau
“Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable.”
Booklist
"[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery’s eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing."
New York Times Book Review
"[A] delightful New York-infused novel …. A word to the tear prone: Don’t attempt to read the ending in public."
Joseph Skibell
"Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth."
M.J. Rose
"A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way."
Jessica Anya Blau
"Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062015839
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 8/23/2011
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 368
  • Sales rank: 427,622
  • Product dimensions: 5.12 (w) x 8.04 (h) x 0.91 (d)

Meet the Author

Evan Mandery

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School, a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City, and the author of Dreaming of Gwen Stefani, First Contact, Q: A Novel, and two works of non-fiction.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Winged mountain

    The mountain is floating a mile in the air. It is made of cloud stone and beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    I write comments when i dont even read the books

    I kill terrorbite cuz my mommy die of terrorbites
    -actual quote

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    K

    Cose ur leving!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Really quite good

    Nice take on how annoying time travel could be. Book made me mad at times, laugh at others and ultimately satisfied with how it wrapped up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Travel back in time for a romance of a different kind!

    What would happen if somewhere in the future, the ability to travel through time became a reality? What if you could travel back in time to talk to your earlier version of yourself and stop events before they could ruin your life and make you miserable? Would you do it?

    In the novel, Q by Evan Mandery, this is the premise for the story. A man in the story is never mentioned by his name, which is odd when you consider it but it doesn't interrupt the story. He meets the girl of his dreams. She is cute, funny, and they have many of the same qualities in common from favorite game show hosts to frozen TV dinners. She comes from a family whose father, John Deveril, owns one of the top 10 construction companies and is always looking for the next big business project. He on the other hand, is a professor and a writer working on his second novel. His first, Time's Broken Arrow is published but is struggling to find readers who can enjoy the book without falling sleep or using it for a doorstop.

    He can completely imagine a life with Q, whose real name is Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, and is set on making plans for a wedding with her when his future self shows up, he is confused. Not sure just what is going on, he arranges for a series of meetings to find out what is going on and what does it mean for him. Ultimately the message is the same, do not marry Q! To find out why, well, you're going to have to pick this one up!

    I received this book compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and LOVED it! Never imagined this type of scenario for a story but could empathize both with the present day and future versions of the man in Q's life. I would highly recommend this one for any reader looking for a twist on your traditional romance stories! I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)