Quest for Honour

Quest for Honour

4.6 3
by Sam Barone
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The Bronze Age is brought vividly to life in this action-packed historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell, and Jean Auel
 
The beginning of civilization is fraught with war, invasion, plunder, and rapine. The little city state of Akkad is carving out a mini-Empire on the banks of the mighty Tigris

…  See more details below

Overview

The Bronze Age is brought vividly to life in this action-packed historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell, and Jean Auel
 
The beginning of civilization is fraught with war, invasion, plunder, and rapine. The little city state of Akkad is carving out a mini-Empire on the banks of the mighty Tigris river—prosperity has returned after the bloody pitched battles waged by Akkad’s ruler Eskkar and his beautiful wife Trella. But now comes Akkad’s greatest threat from the south: Akkad’s rival Sumer, a port city at the hub of the great sea trade routes. Sumer is poised to give birth to the mightiest empire in history. It is ruled by an incestuous parricide and his power-hungry sister who are determined to crush and enslave the nation state on their northern borders. Esskar and Trella must prepare their fledgling nation for total war before it is too late. This time it will be a battle not of villages or of roving warrior bands, but a battle for Empire and a fight to the death. As ever Eskkar, the ultimate warrior and battle tactician, must pit his wits against a vastly superior force in a battle to the death.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Reminds me a lot of Wilbur Smith at his best. Beautifully imagined and researched adventure, with terrific action!"  —Diana Gabaldon, author, Outlander on Dawn of Empire

"After the masterful Dawn of Empire, he dazzles again with Empire Rising. . . . a winner from the first page to the last. Highly recommended."  —John Lescroart, author, The Oath

"If Bernard Cornwell and Diana Gabaldon decided to collaborate on a novel, the result would be something like this."  —Arizona Republic on Dawn of Empire

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780099536765
Publisher:
Random House UK
Publication date:
04/01/2011
Series:
Eskkar Saga Series, #4
Pages:
618
Sales rank:
767,245
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 1.60(d)

Meet the Author

Sam Barone is the author of Dawn of Empire, for which he won the Arizona Authors Association 2006 Literary Contest, and Empire Rising. He lives in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Quest for Honour 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Without too much trouble, a reader can figure out how things will turn out, mostly. What Sam Barone does is keep the reader guessing on how it will all happen, and he does it very well. You can read a lot of books on the time period, but to find out how common people lived, how politics were developed, and the problems faced in military campaigns, and much more, this book and the others in this series are for you. For example, a simple one, why is our number system based on 10? Count the number of fingers you have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago