Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles Series)

Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles Series)

4.8 13
by Melina Marchetta
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy! Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child’s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and…  See more details below

Overview

The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy! Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child’s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. The complex tangle of bloodlines, politics, and love introduced in Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles coalesce into an engrossing climax in this final volume.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—This final book in the beautifully complex and sophisticated trilogy picks up right where Froi of the Exiles (Candlewick, 2012) ended. Quintana is hiding from those who want to kill her and steal her unborn child, the heir to the kingdom of Charyn. Froi, wounded but recovering, is desperately searching for her as armies converge to battle over her right to exist. Political misunderstandings and shifting alliances have given rise to distrust between provinces that should be allies. Amid the horrors of battle, there are also moments of humor in not found in the earlier titles, mostly related to child rearing and the idiocy of men, in the women's opinion. It also "looks at the side of wonder as opposed to the disastrous" to paraphrase a favorite saying of some of the characters. Marchetta gives intriguing secondary characters such as Perri, Lucian, Tesadora, and Phaedra their rightful due as she fills in their backstories. But it is the fates of the main players-Quintana, Froi, Isaboe, and Finnikin-with all of their strengths and weaknesses that readers will find so deeply satisfying. Like the other books, this one begs to be read slowly and savored for its carefully crafted plotting, lyrical language, and fully fleshed-out characters.—Sharon Rawlins, New Jersey State Library, Trenton
Publishers Weekly
Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders. Although tragedies arise, unity and healing are core themes, compared to the horrors of the previous books. As the title suggests, Quintana—the rightful ruler of Charyn, hidden following the uprising in the kingdom in Froi of the Exiles—is at the center of this final book. Forces conspire against Quintana while her beloved Froi tries to find the queen before her enemies do. One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals; she frequently shifts perspective among them, highlighting the pain, joy, and experience that unites them despite prejudice, heartache, nationality, and other sources of division. Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them. Ages 14–up. Agent: Jill Grinberg, Jill Grinberg Literary Management. (Mar.)
From the Publisher
Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Marchetta triumphantly concludes the trilogy that began with Finnikin of the Rock, as the kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn attempt to bridge past atrocities through a new generation of leaders...One of the hallmarks of this series has been the complexity and attention Marchetta gives to both primary and secondary characters, creating a richly human cast of damaged but noble individuals...Readers who have fallen in love with Quintana, Froi, Finnikin, Isaboe, and others will eagerly seek out what fate has in store for them.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

The plot is more straightforward, while the previous volumes’ excellent features—world-building, plotting, and characterization—continue to shine. Marchetta builds on the reader’s knowledge of this world, adding rich sensory details to enhance the sense of place...A stand-out fantasy series.
—Booklist (starred review)

[T]he book will mesmerize readers with several hair-raising moments that ratchet up tension; memorably detailed descriptions provide vivid images of the setting; and Marchetta’s themes of belonging and forgiveness are powerfully wrought. Fans of Megan Whelan Turner and Elizabeth Wein should find this exceptional series especially compelling.
—The Horn Book

VOYA - Adrienne Amborski
Concluding the Lumatere Chronicles, Quintana Of Charyn brings to a close the epic fantasy that began in Finnikin Of The Rock (Candlewick, 2010/Voya April 2010) and Froi Of The Exiles (Candlewick, 2012/Voya June 2012). Questions left unanswered in the first two novels are resolved, leaving readers with a sense of closure. Marchetta's rich and sizeable cast of characters discovers secret lineages, and the warring kingdoms of Lumatere and Charyn continue to resolve their embattled state. The returning characters Finnikin, Isaboe, Phaedra, Lucian, Froi, and Quintana are developed through well-executed dialogue. Will the kingdoms coexist peacefully? Will romantic pairings happen as expected? Will the new king that Quintana carries be the start of a promising future? Readers will need to be familiar with the story line to fully appreciate the intricacies of the plot and comprehend the complex relationships of the many characters. Recommend this book for readers of high-brow, realistic fantasy who enjoy stories with just a touch of the magical. Fans of Graceling by Kristin Cashore (Harcourt, 2008/Voya October 2008) and the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini will find reading pleasure in the Lumatere Chronicles. Reviewer: Adrienne Amborski
VOYA - Gwen Amborski
Quintana Of Charyn contains many characters and plot lines from the previous books, so it would be best to read the first two installments. This novel is very detailed, which may be its downfall because in some parts it drags on. Marchetta's style of writing does a great job of creating the setting of this fantasy world. Other than being slow at times, Quintana Of Charyn is a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy. Readers who like Lord of the Rings would enjoy this series. Reviewer: Gwen Amborski, Teen Reviewer
Kirkus Reviews
Fans of Finnikin of the Rock (2010) and Froi of the Exiles (2012) will find deep satisfaction in this finale to the Lumatere Chronicles. This trilogy, taken as a whole, is stronger than each of its distinct parts. Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme. All three books demonstrate both the heights and depths of human nature. If the first two books depict two young men with depth and reality, this third applauds the growth and courage of Princess (or Queen, depending on who's talking) Quintana--who is not immediately likable but becomes more admirable as the narrative progresses. Omniscient narration alternates three major stories: of Froi, who searches for Quintana in Charyn, of the residents of Lumatere, and of Quintana, who is in hiding to protect the life of her child. Peppering the tale are details of Quintana's thoughts and longings, which broaden understanding of her personality. A multitude of plot twists and surprises bring together events that seemed complete in the first two books and emphasize the importance of Quintana's story. Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative. (Fantasy. 14 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780763663605
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Publication date:
04/23/2013
Series:
Lumatere Chronicles Series
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
110,992
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

What People are saying about this

Marchetta, known for her mastery of character, shows herself here to have conquered the intricacies of plot, worldbuilding and theme...Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative.
—Kirkus Reviews

Meet the Author

Melina Marchetta is the acclaimed and award-winning author of Jellicoe Road, which won the Michael L. Printz Award; Saving Francesca and its companion novel, The Piper’s Son; Looking for Alibrandi; and the first two volumes in the Lumatere chronicles, Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles. She lives in Australia.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >