Rachmaninov Plays Rachmaninov

( 2 )
BN.com price
(Save 7%)$11.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $3.46   
  • New (6) from $6.97   
  • Used (3) from $0.00   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/30/1990
  • Label: Decca
  • UPC: 028942596429
  • Catalog Number: 425964
  • Sales rank: 24,082


Disc 1
  1. 1 Morceaux de fantaisie (5), for piano, Op. 3 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (18:37)
  2. 2 Morceaux de salon, for piano, Op. 10: Barcarolle in G minor, OP.10 NO.3 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (3:51)
  3. 3 Morceaux de salon, for piano, Op. 10: Humoresque in G mjor, OP.10 NO.5 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (3:47)
  4. 4 Prelude for piano No.6 in G minor, Op. 23/5 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (4:03)
  5. 5 Etudes-Tableaux, for piano, Op. 39: Etude-tableau in B minor, OP.39 NO.4 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (3:35)
  6. 6 Etudes-Tableaux, for piano, Op. 39: Etude-tabeau in A minor, OP.39 NO.6 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (2:31)
  7. 7 Lilacs, song for voice & piano, Op. 21/5 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (2:23)
  8. 8 Polka W.R., for piano in A flat major, TN ii/18 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (3:56)
  9. 9 Transcription of Mussorgsky's "Hopak" from opera "Sorochintsy Fair" for piano (also for piano & vioin), TN iii/8 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (2:00)
  10. 10 Transcription of Schubert's "Wohin?" from "Die Schöne Müllerin" for piano, TN iii/10 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (2:09)
  11. 11 Transcription of Rimsky-Korsakov's "Flight of the Bumblebee" from "The Tale of the Tsar Saltan" for piano, TN iii/9 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (1:13)
  12. 12 Transcription of Smith's "The Star-Spangled Banner" for piano, TN iii/11 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (1:23)
  13. 13 Transcription of Kreisler's "Liebesleid" for piano, TN iii/5 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (3:48)
  14. 14 Transcription of Kreisler's "Liebesfreud" for piano, TNiii/5 - Sergey Rachmaninov & Sergey Rachmaninov (5:50)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Sergey Rachmaninov Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Who does it better than the man himself?

    This is a great find for fans of classical music and newcomers to the field alike! Rachmaninov is here played in a definitive set of tracks by the man himself. He captures the same nuances, subtle details that have made his work so prominent for so long. The sound is comparable to no other. Rachmaninov really takes the listener on a different part of the same journey with each piece. This particular recording replicates (and enhances) his first compositions on the Estonian pianos he made famous. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews